We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, fantastic holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two weeks on 6th July - 20th July and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. 14 days of non-stop sunshine accompanied by hard working staff and entertainment gave us just what we expected and anticipated from previous reviews of the Iberostar Mehari. You simply can't complain about the value for money. Here is an individual breakdown reviewing each area and aspect of the hotel...

Location - The hotel is located north east of the island; nearest town is Midoun where you can find traditional markets and what you would expect from a typical Tunisian town. The islands capital Houmt Souk is over the other side of the island, where you can get a taxi for as little as 7 DINAR (UK GBP equivalent to just under £3). Make sure when you get in the taxi that the driver has re-set the metre; another little money making trick I noticed the locals use to squeeze the extra pennies. Always barter and negotiate on price wherever you go, especially the markets - some of the locals are extremely good at what they do with sales techniques and initial prices are always sky high as they anticipate that you will negotiate them down. The beach is just a stones throw away where you can use the private sun loungers and go on camel rides and various other activities including Paragliding which was amazing if you’re not afraid of heights.

Rooms – overall quality of the rooms were brilliant; maintained by the cleaning staff daily that were so friendly and always had a smile on their faces and made us feel welcome throughout our stay. We paid a little extra for sea view which is what we got, as well as a view of the sunset in the evening. Bathrooms were excellent and the rooms were immaculately clean all the time. Only minor issue with the rooms was the water from the bathroom taps. Although we’d never drink tap water abroad we still washed our hands and obviously showered. On a few of the days into our stay we noticed the water being slightly off-coloured (brownish) which concerned us a little, however this only occurred on two days, something we did not get round to mentioning to the staff in reception.

Staff – pretty much every single member of staff were friendly, polite, efficient, and extremely hard working. Most staff members were always at hand to help and assist you when needed. We developed a good relationship with one of the bar staff members and one of cleaners, who always try to deliver excellent service and always strike up a conversation despite the clear language barrier.

Catering – the food and drink was buffet style self service. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were served at designated times throughout the day however snacks and refreshments were available from the poolside through the day. Food was never in shortage, variety was excellent, and the quality of the food was good.

Entertainment – saving the best till last. The entertainment team worked long hours and were always putting a smile on everyone’s faces, especially surprising ability to instantly establish a relationship with the infants and children from all different nationalities at the hotel. They never seemed to tire with regular activities for everyone to join in with around the pool every day. Naming individuals would be unfair; as they all worked equally as hard as each other.

In summary, we couldn’t complain with the quality of our stay at the Iberostar Mehari. I’d recommend the hotel to anyone; however it is most suited to families. It may not be as suited for adult couples looking to get away from children etc, as this is a very family focused hotel, however if you’re looking for value for money look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank banditojamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    485
    140
    30
    23
See reviews for
599
443
75
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

been back two weeks still laughing.brilliant holiday.hotel staff from cleaners to manager really friendly and helpfull.MIDO;JAMBO you really made our holiday .animation team one of the best ever,keep this team together michelle they are a credit to you and iberostar.rooms spotless,restaurant clean waiters more than helpfull.pool cleaned every day plenty to do if you want to or just laze on your sunbed (MALONEY WAKE UP) .once again thank you mehari for a fantastic holiday see you next year for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iantarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just back from a week at the Mehari, had a great week, hotel is spacious and kept scrupulosy clean, staff are efficient and will do anything for you, the staffs grasp of english is a little limited as the brits have only been going to Djerba for about 3 years, it makes for some interesting conversations.
Pool, grounds and beach are very well kept and there is no shortage of sunbeds either round the pool or on the beach, no need to get up at silly o'clock to get youre towel down.
The food is the normal all inclusive fare, not fantastic but always something for everyone.
The animation team are fantastic, offering plenty of things to do if you want to and not hassling you if you don't.
The only thing to let the holiday down was flying with Thomas cook, they seemed to have crammed even more seats into their planes, making them ridiculously uncomfortable, also their baggage allowance is only 15kgs, presumably to compensate for the weight of extra passengers. I have just checked the regulations for transporting pets on planes and they state that they should be provided with enough room to stand, sit and lie down in a natural position, perhaps next time i'll book in as a dog.
The only reasons that i would not return to this hotel are there are no fridges in the rooms and you have to pay extra for the safe deposit box located in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you spent to share the experience of your recent holiday at our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We took good note of your comment regarding the absence of a fridge in your room, as our hotel is providing an all-inclusive service, we do not offer the possibility in this particular hotel to have a minibar in the room, however, we suggest that for any future holiday planning with IBEROSTAR you contact our call center where we can offer you a very personalized booking guidance so you can choose the hotel and services in accordance to your needs and wishes.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the efforts of our housekeepers and found that everything was kept scrupulously clean at all times, for our company it is of prime importance to give total confidence in this area, it is satisfying to know that we have been successful and will send our compliments to our housekeeping team that will be delighted to have contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Moreover, it is very enjoyable to hear that you had a good time thanks to our animation team, as we believe that nice leisure activities and evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling.

Last but not least, we want to thank you for your nice words towards our staff, as they work very hard to surpass guest expectations and do their best to offer a welcoming and personalized service to every single client we will definitely pass on your encouraging comment on their work.

We are extremely happy to read that your experience with IBEROSTAR was a great one and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotels worldwide.
Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived at the Mehari late eve sat 15th June for what was the start of a truly amazing holiday ,on check in the hotel had laid on food ,check in quick and easy ,pool was great with things going on most of the day put on by the animation team which I have to say are the best animation team that I have ever seen ,a special thanks has to go to Mido &Jambo who gave us 14 days of laughter many thanks again lads you made our holiday. Room lovely size clean and comfy plenty of storage . food was excellent being able to eat out on the terrace made our holiday , A Truly amazing hotel thank-you Mehari for an amazing holiday you should have 4 stars you all work so hard see you next year .Thanks again to the amazing Jambo & Mido hope to see you next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This our second stay at this hotel,something we never do but for the price we paid how can you say no.The hotel it's self is basic,but the staff are great,helpful and attentive,a little tipping goes a long way !! The food is plentiful with a large choice of hot and cold and the puddings are delicious....try the fresh pizzas.The beach is great ,a little windy at times and the bar area on the beach needs a little TLC,this wasn't open when we went so maybe it's been painted now.The rooms are basic,no fridge,kettle and you have to pay about a tenner for the safety deposit box and you need a third hand to shower without flooding the bathroom ! My only negative for this hotel was no air con in rooms / restaurant because it wasnt warm enough.....If you don't choose this hotel do check out Djerba it's beachs are great and only a few hours away and cheap.

Room Tip: Nearer the pool area you may be able to get wifi,which you do have to pay for,about a tenner for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June '13. Following a stressful few months at home we just wanted a chill out week away in the sun. This is exactly what we got here. From check in to check out everything was very efficient.

The room was great and had everything we needed, it was serviced well by housekeeping staff.

The food was good and always a plentiful selection.

The staff were fantastic - could not do enough for everyone. Plenty activities going on an the animation team were superb - Jambo is a legend.

The beach and pool areas are great - in fact I'd say the beach was as good as most in the Caribbean.

The manager of the hotel is obviously well versed in Customer Service and demands high standards from his team - he also mucks in and helps outs when needed.

All in all a great holiday, plenty sun, and came home feeling relaxed and chilled.

We will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Our Ground Floor room always remained cool - despite the high temperatures outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nige_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in October 2011 and had a really enjoyable time. The staff are very polite and attentive. We found the food a little bland and somewhat more repetitive than other resorts we have stayed, but this is more than compensated by the tranquil setting and excellent landscaping and beach. The Mehari has a really good beach bar where the animation shows take place in good weather.
The bar staff are nice and always aim to please.
The main restaurant has an outside terrace where you can eat every night if you wish. The pool bar/ snack bar was brilliant. Nice bar staff and really nice chef. Special thanks here.
All in all we had a very memorable break at the Mehari and would certainly stay here again.
Recommended for couples as not too much for children to do but we did stay near the end of the season.
We are not surprised to see the Mehari win a Trip Advisor award for service. Well deserved Imhed.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
2.0 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,517 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#9 of 45 in Midoun
824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seabel Rym Beach
Seabel Rym Beach
#5 of 45 in Midoun
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mehari Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mehari Djerba

Property: Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Address: Route Touristique | BP 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mehari Djerba 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get swept off your feet at the IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba. By the varied cuisine of its restaurants, by its location on the sea front, and by its Tunisian style. Most of all, by the island it rests on: the island of Djerba, otherwise known as the island of the lotus-eaters. It’s a beautiful and mythical island that managed to enchant Odysseus after he escaped the sirens’ song. Once you lay eyes upon it, you too will have trouble leaving. Would you like to discover the secrets of this all-inclusive Tunisian hotel? Like new. That’s how our rooms will make you feel. Whether you come as a family or with your partner, you’ll have views of the sea, the pool, or the gardens. What’s more, we refurbished our rooms in 2016, along with the heated pool, the spa, and the majority of our bars and restaurants. A stone’s throw from paradise. Just in front of the hotel, the island awaits you with white sand, palm trees, and the turquoise waters of Sidi Akkour beach. Don’t miss the sunset from the Beach Bar, or take full advantage of the median temperature of 20ºC by taking a quick dip. Tremendously delicious. Be overcome by the flavours of Arab cuisine, by the aromas of its spices, and by its traditional dishes. Stop by the hotel’s family restaurants and enjoy its all-inclusive plan. Can you think of a better way to enjoy your holiday? Say goodbye to stress. Refreshing your body and your mind is easy on a Tunisian holiday at a hotel with spa. Try a massage or a body treatment, let the water replenish your senses with our moisturising treatment, and relax every one of your pores with a Turkish bath. Experience Tunisian culture. Attend a Tunisian dance show, try shisha, or put yourself in the shoes of Lawrence of Arabia by crossing sand dunes on camelback. In this Djerba hotel, there’s no excuse for not getting swept up by the country’s culture! A constant adventure for the children. The Miniclub is a tailor-made space for them. Here, they can meet new friends, dress up as pirates, play water games, or try their hands at minigolf. And to cool off, they have a pool with a slide shaped like a camel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Mehari Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mehari Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing