We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Five Star Holiday”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Iberostar Mehari Djerba, My wife and I have had a fantastic holiday.
The Iberostar Mehari is officially a three star hotel so we didn't expect too much we booked the holiday only 8 weeks before and got a great deal (Thanks to Wendy and the team at Coop Travel Shrewsbury!!) we arrived late and got checked in very quickly and were pleasantly surprised they had put on some food on for us only a basic salad but it was a nice touch and we were able to keep the Pringles we brought with us for later!
Our room was a ground floor room and was large enough for us and well located the cleaner kept it nice and clean and there was some nice towel arrangements left on our bed, we did note on previous reviews the bath was on the high side so care was needed to get out and beware of the shower it can bite!!!! it was rather powerful and you needed to hold on to aviod spraying the bathroom I forgot twice!
The food was Excellent typical All Inclusive with plenty of choice sometimes to much, it was also great to see the Chef's really proud of their work, we did visit the A La Carte Tunisian Restaurant and found the food there also of a high standard the only downside was the menu wasn't very clear in English the food was very good and the service again was excellent.
A lot has been said in reviews about the lack of English spoken by the staff and although the level of English sometimes wasn't good this did not mean the service was poor indeed the service at all times was absolutely excellent from Tarek at the Pool bar to Habib our waiter to the double act of B jemaa (we nicknamed him Benson! he was a star) and Anwour at the main bar always smiling and greeting us it was a pleasure to be served by them.
The Animation team has to be one of the best we have come across they worked extremely hard and put on some great shows, during the day they put on lots of events and did not hassle you if you just wanted to lay back and sun bathe, Special Mention must go to Coco, Alex, Willy,
and another I can't remember his name......................................................................................
of course I can JAMBO! he really is the star of the show he may be small but he really puts on a big act Thank you Jambo and team you really made our stay one to remember.
We varied our time between the Beach and the Pool the beach was very nice alway easy to get sun beds,
We did try the Quad Bikes arranged by the people based at the hotel and they were great fun my wife sat on the back of me and all I could hear was her laughing as we bumped around with me trying to do my best to be the Stig!!
There wan't many Brits at the hotel however we did make some great friends with Graham & Lynette from Bolton (Graham and Me put on a top line act with our "Livin on a prayer" Karaoke!) and Mark & Karen from Warrington (Mark you won our vote for Mr Iberostar!) together we all had a great weeks holiday at the Iberostar Mehari Djerba.
This may be officially a 3 star hotel we found it to be 5 Star for the Food, 5 Star for the service, 5 Star for the Entertainment, 5 Star for the Fun,5 Star Value for Money, and overall a 5 Star Holiday it excelled all our expectations we would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchcrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    492
    141
    32
    23
See reviews for
637
454
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Got to the hotel about 05.30 Sunday morning due to flight re-scheduling. Check-in was painless and fairly quick, and from then on everything about the hotel was beyond what we expected.
Food, in my opinion, was absolutely fantastic. I can honestly say it’s the best we have ever had on an All Inclusive holiday. It’s a pity it was spoiled on one occasion by a waiter who would only set tables for his favourites (tippers) and took exception to you getting your own cutlery when he wouldn’t provide it.
Rooms, our particular room suited us really well as there were three of us and my daughter usually ends up with a sofa bed. Not this time. I had emailed the hotel mentioning our party size and we ended up with a family room that had a separate, second bedroom. The room, and for that matter the whole hotel is cleaned to a good standard.
The beach has nice, white, fine sand, and lots of sunbeds and umbrellas.
One thing that Thomas Cook advertises about this hotel is the beach bar. This may open later in the season but wasn’t open when we were there. This did lead to one problem. It means there is only one bar open in the evening for the whole of the hotel, with usually only three bar staff. This can lead to long queues. Some other All Inclusive’s we have visited have had ‘help yourself’ beer and wine. This is available in the restaurant, but not in the bar. Also, other hotels have the pool bars open until late so you can sit outside and chat if you don’t what to watch the entertainment. Maybe something for management to think about.
Another facility that both Thomas Cook and the hotel website mention is the Themed/A La Carte restaurant. We never saw this open, again maybe it only opens later in the season.
Entertainment was the usual, Animation team doing their best. Cabaret night was really enjoyable. Animation team are not pushy at all, maybe this has changed because of previous negative comments, maybe because of personnel change.
Overall everything about the hotel was really enjoyable. Thomas Cook could do with ditching Nouvelair and their inconvenient flight times, then I’m sure Thomas Cook and the hotel would benefit from more bookings.

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you ask for a family room to ensure you get a separate bedroom and not j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

2 adults and one 16 year old
landed at airport got through airport fairly quickly was in the hotel and checking in with in 90 mins of arriving in Djerba.
check-in was very quick about 15 mins
the room was basic but totally functional would advise to take a extension cable.
hairdryer in room but no fridge.
the whole hotel including pool area was very clean.
food out of this world.
beach was nice but lots of sea weed washing up on the beach.
the entertainment team...well what can i say outstanding, lovely people and extreamly hard working, infact all the hotel staff were fantastic!!!!!!!!!!
would definatly visit again!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

THE hotel is kept clean and THE rooms are small but clean. THE beds are hard but after some time you get used to it. THE only problem in THE bathroom may be THE bath...it's not easy to get into when you are older or have problems. THE food is tasteful, but there is not Mutch variation. Breakfast om THE otherhand was Great. THE entertainmentteam did à great job to try to get everybody engaged in THE games.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest satisfaction we thank you for the time and effort that you spent writing a review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel.
We took good note of your comment regarding the bath tub and the bed and are sorry not to have been informed about this during your stay as we would have looked for a solution; on these specific matters, we have bathrooms with shower instead of a bath tub and softer over mattresses to put on the main one for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed, we strongly encourage you to contact our reception for anything you may need to make the most of your holiday with us.
We are very happy to read that our buffets were up to your expectations especially regarding our breakfast offer because the gastronomy is a very important facet of our company; it is enjoyable to read that we have been successful in this area.
Last but not least, we thank you for highlighting our animation team and we are pleased to see that thanks to them you brought back home with you some nice memories of your holidays with IBEROSTAR.
We hope you had a nice journey back home and to may welcome you again in our hotels around the world.
Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place won the Tripadvisor award for service? Really?

Went to Djerba for three nights with a friend. Expected a quiet vacation and got what I wanted, sort of.

The hotel is in the tourist ghetto isolated from the rest of the island. So expect to be surrounded by package tourists from Europe. Guests were for the most part German and French, meaning that English was not spoken much by the staff, though some members of the concierge were good about it. I got around with rudimentary French.

It's a affordably priced hotel with all-inclusive packages, so the quality of everything was only slightly more than tolerable. Food was OK as long as I avoided poorly done Western food, drinks were OK if I stuck to simple cocktails without too many ingredients, service was OK if I did not ask many questions, and the room was...OK. They obviously cut cost wherever they could by making things just slightly above acceptable. Our room had a huge gap between the window and the frame, which the staff had stuffed with wads of tissue. The shower head was so light and flimsy that it turned out of control when I did not hold it with my hand.

The most annoying, however, was the activity coordinators all around the property, stopping me whenever they could and trying to get me to sign up for tours at an additional cost. When I politely refused they became terse and treated me like I was invisible.

Djerba itself is a very pleasant place. If the management put a stop to certain practices and improved training, especially in the dining hall, they might actually attract praises. But then again, given how much I paid to stay there, maybe I am expecting too much. Let me just conclude by saying that you kind of get what you pay for at this place.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for an ocean-side room at an additional cost. The buildings are too low and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review on your recent stay at our Iberostar Mehari Djerba as we are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

Therefore, your comments about the gastronomy, drinks and room defined as OK, is absolutely not up tour our standards of excellence, We took good note of your review and passed it to the responsible employees of the concerning departments in order to revise and improve. Nevertheless we would like to point out that in Iberostar the service orientation and personalized attention towards our clients are of prime importance. We do all the possible to school our personnel so that they surpass guest expectation. We find it very sad to read that on this occasion we could not reach our goal and are doing our utmost to assure that any situation that does not meet excellence is being corrected.

Moreover, we are sorry to hear that you found imperfections in the room regarding the window, and we lament not having been informed about this during your stay. Our reception team would have immediately offered an appropriate solution such as a change of room or a rapid repair from our technical department responsible for the maintenance and care of the installations of the hotel.

Located directly on a large sandy beach, the Iberostar Mehari Djerba hotel complex is the ideal choice to keep fit with the huge variety of leisure and entertainment activities on offer. Furthermore, the town of Midoun is just 6 km from the hotel, where you can discover its traditions, visit the colorful markets and admire its historical sites. We want to thank you for pointing out the beauty of the island of Djerba, we are sure that future hotel guests will find this information useful

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests, we will certainly take your comments into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve the points you mentioned.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent Price/quality !

Escaping the freezing Belgian temperatures, we booked a last minute all in trip to this beach hotel in Djerba.The hotel may not look fancy or modern but offers everything you expect for relaxing holidays. The sea view room we booked was spacious, with a nice beach/sea view, large cupboards and flat screen TV. All meals where served as buffet but whereas the salad bar section remained the same, there was at every meal sufficient variety to find something tasty be it freshly backed pancakes, different sorts of eggs, fruits and beignets in the morning or sardines, soups, turkey, or calamari in the evening, not to forget the large offer of desserts. The swimming pool was large (but not heated) but there was also an indoor swimming pool and the sandy beach could be reached by a 200 meter cobblestone foot path.Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful also without receiving a tip. Local wines and spirits were of good quality but stay away from the "cocktails" which were prepared beforehand in plastic bottles of which some were look a likes of liquid soap dispensers….We regretted however not to be able to eat outside even if the temperature was around 25 C°; the main dining room terrace was closed, because of the "out of season" period, likewise the pool bar only served some soft drinks and at the beach there were only umbrellas and sun beds, nothing to eat or drink…According to a hotel notice, the beach also seemed to be invaded permanently by black algae which were not toxic but made a dive into the sea somewhat less attractive. From 10 AM until 22 PM there was lively but somewhat pushy animation but evening shows were enjoyable. We can really recommend this hotel for a short sunny break!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room it's worth the (little) extra money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucDBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the Iberostar Mahari and as before we found the hotel and staff excellent. There was always a good selection of food at the all inclusive both in the main restaurant and the bbq area outside by the pool during the day. The pool area was kept clean as was the beach bar which is a short walk from the hotel. Our room was very spacious and had everthing you would expect. Not very many British seemed to use this hotel, but this was not a problem to us as staff were alwasy helpful, this included the evening barman who was happy to talk to you if you spent the time to speak to him. The beach location was good but you need to be aware that apart from the hotel there is little within walking distance, we would recommend this hotel and we plan to return there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
2.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#8 of 46 in Midoun
839 reviews
2.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba

Property: IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba
Address: Route Touristique | BP 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get swept off your feet at the IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba. By the varied cuisine of its restaurants, by its location on the sea front, and by its Tunisian style. Most of all, by the island it rests on: the island of Djerba, otherwise known as the island of the lotus-eaters. It’s a beautiful and mythical island that managed to enchant Odysseus after he escaped the sirens’ song. Once you lay eyes upon it, you too will have trouble leaving. Would you like to discover the secrets of this all-inclusive Tunisian hotel? Like new. That’s how our rooms will make you feel. Whether you come as a family or with your partner, you’ll have views of the sea, the pool, or the gardens. What’s more, we refurbished our rooms in 2016, along with the heated pool, the spa, and the majority of our bars and restaurants. A stone’s throw from paradise. Just in front of the hotel, the island awaits you with white sand, palm trees, and the turquoise waters of Sidi Akkour beach. Don’t miss the sunset from the Beach Bar, or take full advantage of the median temperature of 20ºC by taking a quick dip. Tremendously delicious. Be overcome by the flavours of Arab cuisine, by the aromas of its spices, and by its traditional dishes. Stop by the hotel’s family restaurants and enjoy its all-inclusive plan. Can you think of a better way to enjoy your holiday? Say goodbye to stress. Refreshing your body and your mind is easy on a Tunisian holiday at a hotel with spa. Try a massage or a body treatment, let the water replenish your senses with our moisturising treatment, and relax every one of your pores with a Turkish bath. Experience Tunisian culture. Attend a Tunisian dance show, try shisha, or put yourself in the shoes of Lawrence of Arabia by crossing sand dunes on camelback. In this Djerba hotel, there’s no excuse for not getting swept up by the country’s culture! A constant adventure for the children. The Miniclub is a tailor-made space for them. Here, they can meet new friends, dress up as pirates, play water games, or try their hands at minigolf. And to cool off, they have a pool with a slide shaped like a camel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mehari Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing