We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel in relaxing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good hotel in relaxing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel - very good 3 star plus hotel. exchange rate 2.40 dinars to 1 GBP.buffet open on arrival late evening - nice touch.excellent varied well cooked food - a bit samey for two weeks like any all inclusive.A la Carte - not sure about the fish night - fish for starters and meals after that? Never tried it stuck to the buffet most evenings.
animation team worked hard.One night each week unfortunately ,Bingo ,in three different languages followed an overly long act with snakes.Not sure about that one.
staff - noticeable priority given to french and german guests but a smile goes along way and a small 1 dinar tip now and again seems to do the trick although Big Guy behind the Bar does seem to have an issue with the Brits .
rooms - no mini fridges in rooms.no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms .rooms cleaned every day . bathrooms clean 3 star standard.cleaners - male and female polite and welcoming. rooms in Three storey high blocks - get the ones with the sea view ask on arrival . Not much sound proofing between the rooms - room 9102 - you naughty persons ! plasma TV , a few channels with english films ones that can be found in any DVD shop.Plenty non english speaking football channels .

Near the Hotel - not much - 5 mins stroll to the beach. very good beach safe beach.camel ride on beach 20 dinar for 15 mins .beach bar serving soft drinks and beer. white sand.Golf course opposite hotel although I heard it was not cheap for a round.

3.6 dinars one way to the nearest town in taxi, midoun. Went to see midoun market - "very nice price my friend asda price - cheap as matalan"- classic .
if you get bored in the evening, local steak house visit was about 75 dinars for 3 with bottle of wine . Not bad .

Some TC Trips - one day to sahara 90 dinars . two day trip 180 dinars( overnight stay in hotel ). extra for drinks. Local Casino night- 60 dinars p.p. Okay meal, welcome drink and a belly dancer thrown in .remember to take your passport to play in Casino. non TC trips to consider - Midoun in small wheel driven train at hotel for market day 6 dinar p.p.Crock visit good - go at feeding time 5pm - amazing what the guy does with the spade once they have had their food.

Flights - novellie air - gatwick - not a shocker but not far from it .poor leg room with some seats unable to stay in upright position. cabin staff not the most welcoming.

Overall

You pay for what you get. good hotel decent staff good relaxing location, not many hassels from locals, not much about but very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on arrival on 1st floor . you dont need to pay any extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    462
    134
    30
    22
See reviews for
561
404
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warminster, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Flew out from Gatwick on the 24th June with my hubby. mother, brother and sister-in-law we flew with Nouvelle air and as previous posts said nice clean plane, small duty free, beer, whisky, coffee or coke to drink. Staff indifferent but as it is only 2 hrs 45 mins no big deal.
On arrival food waiting and a welcome drink. Then after putting bags in room straight down to the beach bar .... if yoy go to the beach bar you need to take a plastic pint pot or some sort of tankard as you get drinks inb small plastic cups. We could not stop laughing and ordered 3 drinks each at a timne - no problem.
Rooms
Asked for 3 rooms together and we has 2 side by side and one 2 dorrs down with great sea view - lovely rooms but the pillows were very hard. Clean rooms and bedding towels changed when put in the bath.
main reception bar
Great service from the bar but we did tip and when my brother went up he poured 2 x beers as they were in half pint glasses, plus new all our drinks. No brandy though. They were always helpful.
Food
You could always get something to eat and it was replenished quickly. Yes it is slanted to German or Italian but as they like good food i found this to be fine. Plenty of choice at brakfast , lunch and dinner. Plenty of wine and the red and rose were great - did not try the white.
Animation
They work very hard and always spoke to us in english and after saying no a couple of times they did not ask again - just stopped by to say hello. Although my husband did do archery one morning.
Pool and beach
Lovely and clean and could always get a bed, Did go into the indoor pool once to sit in the bubbles. It is a bit of a walk to the beach inb the heat but well worth it.

My mother had a fall on holiday and the staff were really lovely and within an hour we had a wheelchair and a move to a ground floor room. Then the next morning she had coffee, orange juice and pastries delivered to the pool side at 11am - nice touch.
leaving
We tookj a taxi to the airport and the german rep had a wheelchair waiting for us and had organised someone to take us in and bookj us on first so we had front row seats as my mother could not walk very far = fantastic sevice

Tips
Hire a safety deposit box, hire a fridge £18 for the week and take a pint pot if you like beer

Would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank molls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel was clean , rooms good size and kept very clean - modern wall mounted Samsung TV only 2 English chanels, no fridge. Main lobby bar only had 1 barman & sometimes it was very busy - hence a longer wait to be served - unless you are a young, attractive, French girl then - then you may jump the queue.
Food was not the most inspiring but there was always something you could eat (chips or spagetti or salad)
Animation team round main pool had 3 very obnoxious members who appeared to have no talent or imagination, who were very rude and disrespectful of English people.
I would go there again and hopefully the talentless trio would have been sacked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perma-tan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

In first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Mehari Djerba and for your friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to apologize for “any “situation under our standards, the head departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We will certainly take into our consideration your suggestions and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing you experiences

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

two weeks of sheer pleasure Food ,drink,just everything in this hotel was fabulous!
Nouvelle air ........Avoid if at all possible.

Room Tip: value for money.we would go back in a heartbeat if we could get a decent flight.We would even go on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margaret3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,

In first place, Thank your motivating words. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your motivating words.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks at this hotel. Well we're to start after reading some indifferent reports about tho hotel as always we went with open minds and I am glad we did it was fantastic I no I am using this word a lot but it was. Reception was very good bit of English problem but I don't speak Arabic or French so we get on with it. Food was as good as I have every had I don't no what people expect but for a 3 star it was fantastic. Animation team very good one or 2 of them are very pushy but after a couple of knows they leave you alone. Michelle is a good man. Bar staff just one problem a fat ignorant man which is not good for the hotel. I agree with Felinefeatures he dosn't like the English he ignores you at the bar and when he sees you coming he goes and works on the other side of the an horrible man. Rooms are spotless and the maids are very helpfull if you need anything. But all in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Playitagainbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We come back yesterday from a two week stay at the Mehari.

The room: We payed to have a balcony, which we got with a fantastic view, we were in the 7000 block on the top floor and had a few of other hotels and the sea, and our hotels garden, we thought it was stupid that we had to pay for a balcony because most rooms have got them or terraces. Overall the room was nice, and the maid had a tendancy of only cleaning the room at 3PM when they have until 4PM to clean the room. If you stay in the hotel the Safe deposit box is a advantage, we just took it out for piece of mind. It's only 2.50 dinar per day, which doesnt work out that much in sterling.

The resturant: The resturant where we had breakfast, lunch and tea. It's really tidy and the staff are really nice, the first week we were really interested with all the food and variety they had, but after a few days, we realised it's just the same food all the time, they tend to cater more for the French, German and Tunisian people. They don't really cater for english people.

The pool: They were well maintained at all times, the indoor pool wasn't that busy with it being indoors, but the outdoor pool was used for pool games and activities like water polo, or aqua fit, really fun games.

Main bar: We'd usually watch the animation team, we'd go down earlier to watch the shows before the main show to get a decent seat, we went to the bar on our second week and asked for 2 drinks each instead of us having to keep getting up during the show, because we sat quite far from the bar, and the bar tender had a right go at me and my partner... We were fuming, we do not pay all that money to go all inclusive to be moaned at by a bartender (he's the fat one, previously mentioned in another review) He's rude and arrogant. Also, on Saturday, we left at 12:40, when you're all inclusive you're allowed one bottle of water per room at night, we sat in the reception area waiting for the bus to pick us up, we watched the bar giving people bottles of water in the afternoon, but when we went up to ask for a bottle of water we got turned away... I think the bar staff are the worst staff at the resort because they're rude and if you speak english they make it a priority to serve everyone else before you... This being my first holiday I was horrified when I waited at the bar for 40 minutes to get served!!!!!

Animation team: The aniimation team made our holiday, a special thanks to Max, Mario, Michelle, Nino, Nomo, Fifi and Romeo, they really try to be friendly with you, they sat with us at lunch and dinner. They try to mix up their shows a little to keep it entertaining.

Overall, we had a fantastic time, with the exception of the horrible bar staff, the only way we would return is with different bar staff... We went to see the crocodiles at the crocodile farm and they are worth a watch, also we went to midoun on a tourist train, and it was brilliant.

They also don't care much for english people, they have more respect for french or german people.

Also, when we booked we got told through the travel agency that we get a visit to the turkish bath spa for free, which we couldn't go to because we had to pay for it.

If you could try fly with a different airline aswell I'd reccomend it, I won't ever fly with Nouvel air again, they were 2 hours late overall, the crew didnt speak english and didnt have any booze or duty free on the plane. I was terrified of flying, and I'm still scared now!
Thanks to all the animation team and resturant staff....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Absolutely everything in this place is well abovw average, the building is beautiful, staff are great (especially abdul who made our week) the food is of high standard and massive variety. The only thing id say that needs polishing up is the evening entertainment, butlins ring any bells??
Overall HIGHLY reccomended and we will be back here again ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wigantrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
2.5 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
2.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#4 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mehari Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mehari Djerba

Property: Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Address: Route Touristique | BP 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mehari Djerba 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba es un lugar para perderse. Por sus restaurantes repletos de platos variados, por su ubicación en primera línea de playa y por su estilo tunecino, pero especialmente por la isla en la que se ubica: la isla de Djerba, o lo que es lo mismo, la isla de los lotófagos. Un lugar mítico y lleno de belleza que logró encantar a Ulises tras escapar del canto de las sirenas y del que tú tampoco querrás volver cuando lo conozcas. ¿Te apetece descubrir el resto de secretos de este hotel en Túnez con Todo Incluido? Como nuevo. Así te levantas en tu habitación. Vengas en familia o en pareja hay un espacio para ti con vistas al mar, a la piscina o a los jardines. Además todas han sido renovadas en 2016, al igual que la piscina climatizada, el spa o la mayoría de los bares y restaurantes. A un paso del paraíso. Justo enfrente de tu hotel esta isla te recibe con arena blanca, palmeras y las aguas turquesas de la playa de Sidi Akkour. No te pierdas sus atardeceres desde el Beach Bar o aprovecha los 20ºC de media de la isla para darte un chapuzón. Tremendamente delicioso. Déjate envolver por el sabor de la cocina árabe, por el aroma de las especias y por sus platos típicos. Pásate por los restaurantes de este hotel para familias y disfrútalo con Todo Incluido. ¿Se te ocurre mejor forma de saborear tus vacaciones? Di adiós al estrés. Conectar cuerpo y mente es mucho más fácil si disfrutas de tus vacaciones en Túnez en un hotel con spa. Prueba los masajes o los tratamientos corporales, haz del agua la cura para tus sentidos con los tratamientos de hidratación y deja que cada poro de tu piel se relaje con un baño turco. Respira cultura tunecina. Asiste a un espectáculo de danzas tunecinas, prueba la shisha o siéntete como Lawrence de Arabia atravesando las dunas a lomos de un camello. En este hotel de Djerba ¡no hay excusas para no impregnarse de la cultura del país! Aventura constante para los niños. Si hay un lugar especialmente a medida para ellos, ese es el Miniclub. Aquí pueden conocer a sus nuevos amigos, disfrazarse de piratas, hacer juegos de agua o jugar al minigolf. Y si quieren refrescarse, ¡también tienen una piscina con tobogán en forma de camello incluido! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Mehari Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mehari Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing