We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ghriba Synagogue

El Ghriba Synagogue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most ancient Jewish community in Tunisia supposedly dates back to 586 BCE.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Definitely go if you are nearby. We loved the atmosphere and the decor, particularly the tiling. Ladies, don't forget your shawl for head covering.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    181
    97
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Jewish symbol of the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Worth visiting to discover the jewish holiest place in the country..A place where pilgrimage is taking place every year...Visits possible except for Saturdays, (closed starting from Friday around sunset). You have to remove shoes and cover head with headscarf for women and with a hat for men..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunisian_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing place and something for Tunisia to be proud of.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I think it is incredible that the small but strong Jewish community of Djerba survives. This site needs protecting and needs as many visitors as possible to support not just the building but to show soladarity to differant cultures. There is no need to give a big donation you can give as little as one Dinar, but it is good to go and very beutiful to see it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleased we visited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

So pleased we visited. The Synagogue is beautiful - lots of color and decoration. When we were there (a Sunday), some Rabbis were studying and chanting as we walked around.
Drive out is about 20 minutes and you need to spend about 20 minutes in there.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank megwalker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“no explanations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

there is nothing special in this place, but it worths a stop if you are making a tour of the island. unfortunately no written nor oral explanation inside. I got the impression that their main interest is getting money from the tourist

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ItalyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ghriba Synagogue also viewed

Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to El Ghriba Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing