We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Hotel”
Review of Hotel Palm Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palm Azur
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
bristol UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well Run Hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel and am missing it already.
Check in with a refreshing cold drink was efficient and I was fortunate enough to have a room upgrade to a suite room 4101 with pool and sea view due to the hotel hosting a large and very noisy group of Belgians from TV Ooost. More on this later.
Rooms were very clean and had a fridge but no tea/ coffee facilities so some may wish to take their own. The beds were very comfortable. The adjustable shower is over the bath with a fixed glass screen door and support handles to assist entry. The only toiletries were soap and tissues.
The restaurant had two dinner sittings starting at 6.30 pm. Breakfast started at 7.30. The food was varied and the desserts and breakfast pastries in particular deserve a special mention. There were always soups, a different pasta, pizza, meat and fish dishes, plenty of salads, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruits and three different ice creams. The tables were cleared promptly. Drinks were freely available but only very small glasses were provided so this meant several trips to quench a thirst. There is also an Asian and a Tunisian restaurant and the barbecue restaurant near the pool.
The main pool was large and very clean with plenty of sun beds and shades. The main problem here was that they were reserved as early as 4 am by the extremely loud and ill mannered TV Ooost Belgians who then left the beds empty and in some cases didn't use them until the afternoon. There were over 400 Belgians who dominated the hotel in general, bringing their own very loud entertainment and cameras with them. Fortunately they choose a different venue each year so this dreadful group should not affect your holiday!
There is free wifi in the lounge area but if there are several users online it may not always connect immediately. I tried to download a newspaper but gave up after 20 mins.
There is a very good spa and indoor pool area on the lower level and lovely gardens surround the hotel right down to its own beach. I saw no mosquitoes and fewer flies than in England.
The staff here were very friendly and welcoming without exception and are a credit to their manager. I shall certainly be returning to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: High level for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zerafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    237
    139
    64
    38
See reviews for
265
262
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I have just come back from staying in this hotel and we were both impressed, the check in was smooth and easy, staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room looked out to the side of the hotel, we could see the sea in the distance, very clean and beds were made nicely every day, bottles of water in the room. The carpets in the landings were a bit worn so could do with an update ! Food was lovely, plenty to choose from, drinks included cocktails. All staff were very friendly and nothing too much for them, they all worked hard, working from early in the morning to last thing at night, even the managers were clearing the tables ! Area around pool was clean and tidy, nice garden, three size swimming pools. We went on a 'Just Djerba' trip which was well worth it, guide spoke good English and answered all our questions. We will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First went to this hotel in 2012 for a week with my boyfriend. First impressions as soon as we arrived at the airport was excellent....arriving at the hotel also gave a very good first impression, greeted with a smile and non alcoholic cocktail. After sorting out the room allocations we were left to our devices, looking around the wonderful grounds of the hotel. Swimming pools were always sparkling clean. Food was always amazing... giving you the choice for Tunisian cuisine or simple pizza and chips! The entertainment team were always around to keep you entertained during the day doing activities, or just to chat :) and in the evening they are up on stage performing for us, they love it if you join in with them as I found out, getting dragged on stage on a nightly basis... which I loved.We also got invited out to the local nightclub with them. All staff were so friendly and nice. There is also loads to do outside of the hotel, jet skis, quad biking, markets....We encountered absolutely no problems during our stay that we decided to go back for 2 weeks in 2013, and it was equally amazing. Would recommend anyone to go here for a very enjoyable all inclusive holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really nice hotel with a very smooth check-in. The staff was very helpful, friendly and made me and my family feel welcome. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and cleaned every day. The animation and buffet were great. The hotel is also laid next to the beach.
A small minus is that the hotel is situated quite far from the airport, but the trip allows you to see the beautiful scenery.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went away with a friend for a relaxing holiday after a stressful year. On day one the entertainment team arrived at the side of the pool, playing music and trying to get everyone involved. Being typical Brits and thinking we wanted only lazy time chilling by the pool we moaned to each other it wasn't what we'd 'signed up for'! How wrong we were! The hotel was beautiful and exceptionally clean all day, even the pool toilets were immaculate. The room was lovely and perfect for the 2 of us girls with all our stuff! The entertainment staff clearly love their jobs and if you join in you are guaranteed to have a fantastic time and laugh a lot, whilst inadvertently getting a tad fitter too! all day long there are activities by the main pool which you can escape by using the smaller pool or the beach which is part of the resort. in the evening there is also varied entertainment and the last hour is for having a boogie. We stayed all inclusive and the food was good with a big selection and drinks flowing all day. We ventured off of the resort to take in the local markets, be warned you need good haggling skills! Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed a week all inclusive in Riu PAlm Azur at end of Sept. We were a bit anxious because the bad reviews, but I can't really complain!! (Maybe only about the cleaners, they start to work at 7 am, and moving furnitures around, which was a bit annoying) The weather was absolutely fantastic 35C+.

Welcome was nice, everyone is so friendly, all the stuff are smiling, saying hello. Smoking is allowed in the lobby and outside. Wi-fi is available in lobby and front of the bars. When we were there a cat just had her kittens in the corner of the bar!! Which was shocking first, but they got really popular very quickly, and everyone adored them, so the management couldn't really get rid of them! :) The toilets are generally clean, and hand sanitiser is provided - what I appreciated a lot!

The rooms are nice and clean, and yes the painting is might be wonky, but who cares! The A/C wasn't really efficient, but cooled rooms to 25C (ish). So that's ok. No double beds, but you can ask for one big sheet to cover the two huge single? beds pushed together. All rooms have balcony with towel rail and plastic chairs/table, and light. Our room was on top (3rd?) floor at the far end, overlooking the new built resort, plus a bit of the sea. No noise whatsoever! Bottled water left at room every day. Hairdryer is provided, and soap and shower gel - but I would take my own shampoo and shower gel, as the smell of it just wasn't nice.

Chris - the Thomson rep was good, moderately funny, answered any question, and flirted with all mid aged ladies- what they enjoyed a lot.

Food was good - we aren't fussy, and like to try new things. There was everyday pasta/pizza/chips/chicken, and also something new food too. Both the onsite restaurants are good, and worth to book them early, as they are quite small, with only one setting.
Breakfast, lunch (served at pool restaurant too), afternoon pancake and cake, dinner with two settings.

The bars are good, beer and wine, cocktails, soft drinks (very good coca-cola), and Lashar would mix you anything you want, he made me my favourite drink each night, without me having to ask for it ;). Olives and nuts available on request.

The animation team are all young people, all funny and friendly, working hard all day, and even harder at the evenings! Though we tried to avoid them, as we just wanted to be lazy! There are plenty of things through the day to do: water aerobic, step aerobic, beach ball, archery, belly dancing etc. by the big pool, but a bit closer to the beach there is a "quite" pool just to relax, sun lounges were great and easy to find.There is a tennis court, mini golf, pétanque, table tennis, gym, spa saloon, hair dresser, few shops.

The beach is clean, every sunshade has an ashtray/bin, lots of sun lounges and extra mats. Sea shoes are useful in the water, but the left side is sandy for a bit. The sea is very shallow even around the jeti. We did some snorkeling, and seen nice fishes, crab, cuttlefish(?).
Mr. Mustafa can get you good deals on camel/horse riding, he speaks good english - and like 5 other languages, and happy to help with anything. There is jetski, catamaran, quad bikes, doughnut, banana boat etc. available for hire.

The market in Midoun on Thu afternoons and Fri mornings are really a must visit, as you can get real bargains there on pottery and spices and any fake goods you can think of! Cab would take you there for 4 dinars ( under 2 quid)

You have to keep it in mind it is a different country, different culture. Much more relaxed than English people. Just relax and enjoy yourself you are on YOUR holiday!!! :D

Room Tip: Would recommend higher floors for nice view, and closer to the lift/stairs, as it is a big hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Réka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the 11 September 2013 for one week.

After staying in Riu hotels in the past I have always found them to be high quality hotels.

This hotel was definitely not 4* standard and Thomson definitely are miss advertising to customers when they sell this as part of their platinum package.

The hotel is very dated and facilities such as the toilets in the public areas were not maintained they were often dirty, leaking or broken. The hotel rooms were small and they do not have any double beds so not ideal if you are a couple.

The food in the hotel is disgusting and the meat served was very poor quality. The buffet was pretty much the same everyday. I myself do enjoy trying new dishes but even for someone like myself the dishes were appalling. The Chinese restaurant was however nice and made a refreshing change to the buffet. My partner and I were both ill with stomach upsets during our stay and we met other guests who experienced the same whilst staying at the hotel. The alcohol is watered down and the cocktails are pretty much fruit juice.

The hotel is very Anti-English the hotel staff are horrible. The hotel guests were predominantly French, Russian and Polish and English guests were definitely the minority.

The bar staff in particular were the rudest people I have ever met. When asking for a drink they would often screw their faces up at you and start being abusive in French/Arabic and would then slam the glass down on the bar. I found this behaviour very intimidating and disgusting taking in to account this was an all inclusive holiday. I was made to feel bad for asking for a drink which we had already paid for. The only time the staff were nice is when women were on their own and this was very uncomfortable at times. The animation team did try hard but the entertainment as a whole was pretty shocking and at times cringe worthy. The only nice member of staff was Jerry in the animation team he really made an effort with guests and was always polite.

The main pool area was of a decent size but to get a sun lounger you have to be prepared to be up at 7am to get one as guests reserve them with towels. The quiet pool is nice however when we were there families were letting their children 'bomb' into the pool which was clearly an adults only pool. This ruined what should have been a relaxing experience and the pool staff did nothing to stop them.

The private beach is waste of time and what is advertised as clear and crystal waters is nothing but black and murky sea weed water. The beach directly next door to the hotel looks like a refuge dumping ground.

Outside of the hotel there is nothing not one single bar or restaurant only three shops selling tack! So even if you want to escape you cant.

We were so disappointed after saving up and booking what is supposed to be a luxury holiday it was nothing apart from disappointment from start to finish. This is the only holiday we have ever looked forward to coming home from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jojothailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
4.3 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 44 in Midoun
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Djerba Castille
1.6 mi away
Winzrik Resort & Thalasso Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,495 reviews
4.5 mi away
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
#2 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Azur

Property: Hotel Palm Azur
Address: Zone Touristique Djerba | Midoun - Djerba, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur)
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#21 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#23 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palm Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located to the south of the island of Djerba, in the heart of an oasis and surrounded by a spectacular beach. Midoun is 6 km away, the capital of the isle of Houmt Souk 23 km and the airport of Djerba 30 km. Opened in 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palm Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palm Azur Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Melia Hotel Palm Azur
Sol Melia Djerba
Melia Palm Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing