We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small corner of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The Park Inn Hotel (fomerly Moevenpick Ulysse Palace & Thalasso) on Djerba Tunisia is a lovely hotel set close to one of the best beaches and surrounded by a wonderfully kept garden with huge palm trees and lovely flowers. Although I find the prices bit high for my budget it was worth for me to stay a few days to experience the charm of this place. The prices varies from garden view rooms or sea view rooms to presidential suits. The prices varies from 162 TDN (85 EUR) to 642 TND (338 EUR) including breakfast. The breakfast buffé is not of this world, one can eat so much delicate food in the morning that one doesn't have to eat until the evening. Usually at home I eat a small sandwhich or a yoghurt but with this fabulous breakfast it is hard to resist to taste all the delicious things which are so tastefully displayed in the restaurant. My room was a normal double room which was comfortable and I liked the oriental style also the fantastic view over the mediterranean sea. When I arrived at the hotel I was given a cool fruit drink which I appreciated because of the heat ouside. There is a big pool and a smaller one for the children. (There are a few families with children so there is not much noise) The beach is kept nicely and there are free towels and sun loungers to relax in with huge parasols if you like to not be exposed to too much sun. The hotel has several restaurants and cafés and also a nice boutique with lovely tunisian souvenirs. Several tour companies have displays if you want to take rides on the island, like quad bikes, scooters, buggy or bicycles. Whatever you desire to do it can be found here. Me I took two quad bike rides, two buggy rides and a scooter ride because I enjoyed this so much. It is a fantastic way to have look around this beautiful island of Djerba. I had generally a good impression of this nice hotel and I can recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amberinsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 731 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

If you're looking for lots of adventure, animation, pools with fairground slides, discotheques..... do not choose this hotel, there are plenty better (and way cheaper) places in djerba.
If you're looking for peace, civilisation, tranquility...Parkinn Djerba is The Place To Be and for a reasonable price.

The peacefull tranquil atmosphere. The beatifull decoration: the building and terraces all in white/blue/wood. The common areas no screaming colours either. And comfortable rooms with - most of them- spectacular seaviews. The hotel is totally focussed on the sea. As close to the sea as possible, you'll hear the waves at night in your bed. The buffet-restaurant: fantastic breakfasts and very good diners with a lot of - both local and western- choice of good quality. And 2 a la carte restaurants: 1 with local specialties, one with seafood/grill specialties. The latter ones with European prices.
The service is excellent, from the receptionists to the cleaninglady, from the waiters to the bartenders, and a special mention for the friendly pool/beach guys!

We never explore the island nor do we take Thalasso treatments (although we've heard from other guests the treatmenst are of high quality, european prices) because....we always want the enjoy every single minute in the room, on our balcony, at the pool or on the beach.

We've been at this hotel 10 times and just returned from a week, anxious to check out if our paradise had'not changed too much after changing ownership and management last november. Luckily we found all of our favourite staff was still working here and service was even sharper/improved!

Stronger then ever, we highly recommend this hotel ( we wouldnt call it a resort) for couples who like to get away from it all and enjoy the sea, the quietness and eachother.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The hotel was immaculate and well situated on the beach with large outdoor and indoor pools. Staff was friendly and helpful. Dining room with buffet-style meals was adequate in selection and quality with good service from the staff. Rooms and bedding very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Mehdi Morad, the manager, is a man on a mission. He is rapidly rebuilding the reputation of this once famous hotel (the late President Habib Bourguiba apparently spent many weekends here). His huge enthusiasm and charm mean that he has already gone a long way towards achieving this objective. The hotel is extremely well run, the food is excellent both in the el Malouf (a la carte) and in the buffet style Calypso restaurant where breakfast is also served. The staff are generally attentive and very friendly. Our only small criticism was that we found the male staff far friendlier than their female colleagues (with the exception of the delightful Gharda who is restaurant front of house). The Thalasso side of things was exactly what we needed after the rigours of a Northern French winter. Again we found delightful and very professional staff. This really is an ideal destination for getting away from winter.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berger843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Our arrival at the hotel was not as hoped...we had paid for a room with sea view and airco. Airco did not work, and the sea view was actually, in the direction of the sea but we couldn't see a thing from our balcony. Tired after the long trip, we walked to reception and we found out that the sea view issue would not be resolved, and that the airco -which we paid for and stood clearly defined in our voucher- only worked during certain months...coincidentally the one we were there for. After a 3 day fight with reception, mangement and our tour operator, we got another room with sea view...the airco never worked! From then on, the management and reception staff did their best to make our stay enjoyable. That did not go for the waiters or security. The waiters were OK qua intentions, but NONE of them spoke English and that was really annoying!! But more annoying than that was the security personnel that seemed to be more interested in getting bribe money for their services than carrying out their role of security guards. We walked into the hotel one afternoon after buying some water and fruits from the supermarket, and we got stopped very aggresively buy security demanding that we left our goods at the door....yeah right!! Needless to say, BIG discussion, very unpleasent and intimidating experience. So again complaining to management...

From there on in, the stay went as it was supposed. The rooms were tasteful and clean, the hotel as a whole was very pleasantly decorated, two nice bars...and for this hotel it is VERY important that the bars are nice given that there is NOTHING around. No bars or restaurants (that you would want to visit) within walking distance. The garden and pool area was beautiful and well maintained. The lobby was also nice, BUT I cannot believe that they allow all these tour sales people in the lobby of the hotel!!! You are supposed to be able to relax here...but no....even in the lobby they are chasing you around...very annoying....

The super PLUS of this hotel, and here we have to give credit where credit is due...the (dinner) food was SPECTACULAR!!! I am not a big fan of hotel buffets, but this one was FANTASTIC!!! In one week they only repeated the menu once, and I have to stay, it was a welcome repeat!!
The breakfast was not nearly as good, but it was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan1ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite junior
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank ksyyyyyyygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate Customer Care at Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
3.0 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
1.3 mi away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Yadis Djerba Golf Thalasso & Spa
1.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#6 of 46 in Midoun
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba

Address: | Houmt-Souk, P.O. Box 239, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#24 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#27 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: $51 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1964, the Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso, Djerba was completely renovated in 2010 to meet your expectations for both relaxing holidays or business trips. It is located alongside a beautiful white sandy beach and set amidst gardens and palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Ulysse Resort And Thalasso Djerba
Park Inn By Radisson Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Moevenpick Ulysse Palace Thalasso Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing