We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I don't know why so many people like this place!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La cote de boeuf

La cote de boeuf
Ranked #76 of 93 Restaurants in Djerba Island
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tunisian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't know why so many people like this place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I honestly disagree with all the exellent comments on tripadvisor about this place. I had the beef filet with pepper sauce. The meet was not too bad but the potato gratin was horrible. The prices are pretty high for Djerba. This dish was TND 34. The restaurant itself looks very nice but atmosphere was horrible. A "band" was playing but they seldom hit the right tone. Terrible. The only really good thing at this restaurant is the service.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No thanks!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Service is good, atmosphere was terrible because a two man band with no idea of music was jamming very loud. No idea why this is ranked on #2. Meat too expensive, for half of price it would be OK. But thats it. Maybe fish is better, try it if you like.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was recomended by one of the animation guys we were staying allinclusive at the iberostar mehari went here for my partners birthday with two friends had a good night.Had the fillet steak w as very good. On our second week we decided to go back as we were getting sick of the allinclusive and we were not disappointed would give it a go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikehorner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walperswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We asked the taxi driver to stop at a nice restaurant and he suggested "La cote de boeuf". It is quite expensive but everything was nice. Good space between the tables, very nice service, beef and shrimp of excellent quality, wine good, would like to go again as soon as possible.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Several people recommended La cote de boeuf to us but we were left disappointed by both the cuisine and the service. I ordered la cote de boeuf after being told that it was the speciality of the house but once it appeared after a long delay the meat was very stringy. My friend ordered the lobster and was already disappointed. The mussels were very good and we were told that they were on the house but then they were put on our bill. Overall the service was painstakingly slow and we had to ask for the bill three times.

Our fellow diners appeared to agree, with one becoming extremely irate and exclaiming about both the delay and exclaimed that "the fact that you speak French does not mean you know anything about French cuisine!"

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natimat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La cote de boeuf also viewed

 
Midoun, Djerba Island
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to La cote de boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing