We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating - mini beds will not do!”
Review of Riveredge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riveredge Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs updating - mini beds will not do!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The greatest asset this hotel has to offer is its location. Aside from having a perfect spot right on the water, there is much to be desired about the facility. I have stayed here twice over the last year- once in August of 2012 and just this month (March 2013).
The only rooms offered for my recent stay were for two double beds. I am by no means a tall person, but when I say my feet were hanging off the bed I am not exaggerating! My boyfriend and I spent our weekend away together sleeping in separate beds because we would have to sleep on top if each other to fit. We felt like an 80 year old couple! The rooms were okay aside from the bed situation. The decor is out of date, but that should be a simple fix. I know the hotel said they were renovating, but to what extent? Replacing all of the double beds in the various rooms- probably not something that will happen quickly.
Also- all of the soap, shampoo, and conditioner that is offered is in old pump wall mounts. I worry that it may sit in these containers for years. I would prefer the mini bottle of shampoo and a bar of soap over the mysterious pumps labeled on the wall. Especially if some jerk wanted to be funny and put something in them that's not meant to be there. I may be paranoid, but at least I know my hair won't fall out or become bleached from the mystery "soap."
The Restaurant at the hotel was very good. We ate breakfast there twice and dinner twice and enjoyed our meals. The outdoor pool and deck area are also very nice in the summer.
Overall, the hotel was average and needs a lot of updating. A few changes here could really make this hotel stand out in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Absolutesaint8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review here on Trip Advisor, we apologize that the comfort of the room did not meet your standards. The beds that are in the Standard Double rooms are Full size beds by all standards, we are in the process of updating the rooms and getting rid of the outdated decor along with new Flat Screens, Refrigerators, P-Tacs and docking stations. The Go Green Dispensers that are in the Bathrooms were converted two years ago when we decided to try and be more eco-friendly. To ease your mind, they are equiped with a locking device so that nobody can get access to them accept our personnel. Please feel free to contact me with any other concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    161
    104
    75
    47
See reviews for
136
246
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at The Riveredge Resort for an off-season Saturday night in early March, which price-wise was fantastic! The room was great....it was exceptionally large in square footage, probably about the size of three normal hotel rooms! It reminded me of a two-story room without the second story. lol. There was a lovely huge jacuzzi style tub in the corner of the room.

Unfortunately in early March Alexandria Bay is not very populated, so it was important to make sure that dinner arrangements were taken care of early. We elected to eat in the Riveredge dining room, so that we could have a drink and not worry about transportation or trying to find a restaurant that was open. This worked out well, and we were warned ahead (although somewhat officiously) about a large party that was dining in the banquet area. We stuck to ordering the 'special' on the menu and seemed to get our food fairly quickly. The prime rib meal was very good and reasonably priced.

There was a two-man band in the lounge with dancing, which was an unexpected pleasure, and the round of drinks was priced very reasonably.

In summary, although some of the other reviews I see find some fault with the resort, we found the relaxation in the whirlpool tub, the dining, dancing and the big room all added up to a wonderful weekend away for a very good off-season price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERRI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. We do offer the best views here in the 1000 Islands and fortunatley for us everything is located under one roof making it comfortable in the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

my husband and i try and stay here for a few days every year. the views (if you get the right room) are spectacular and the restaurant (Holland Bistro) is quite good. it is in need of some renovation last time we stayed there. in the summer of 2012, they had a real wasp problem all over the grounds, which was a bit annoying, but over all, this is one of the nicer places to stay in Alex Bay. oh, and you CAN rent a small fridge if you ask and there is one available.

Room Tip: ask for a front room with a balcony, preferably the corner room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I would like to Thank you for your recent review of the Riveredge Resort, i am truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Holland Street Bistro. We pride ourselves on are Location being right on the River and directly across from Boldt Castle which in itself is a magnificant view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here in August of 2012. The location is great - perfect views and great access to all of the boat tours. The Resort its perfectly fine, it just seems a bit outdated. It was clean relaxing, but it seems like the rooms and amenities hadn't been updated for quite some time. The gym in the hotel was especially out of date (although it was nice to have had a gym at all). Overall - the hotel was beautiful and relaxing, but would have enjoyed it more if it was a bit more modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwnyc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the Riveredge Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The building is currently going though some updates. All rooms on the 4th floor have been renovated and we are currently working on the Third floor and Channel Front Rooms. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although the Riveredge Resort is supposed to be one of the best in the 1000 Islands area, I found the room to be average. I did, however, enjoy the view from the room's balcony. The resort has one of the better breakfasts in the area, and the dining room also has a nice view. Either way, the 1000 Islands area is definitely one of my favorite places to visit. I have fond memories as my Mom used to have a place in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Riveredge Resort, we value your business and your comments. The Thousand Islands is by far one of the most Majestic places to visit. Boldt Castle and the River are truly magnificant, we are pleased that are Resort sits directly on the St.Lawrence river overlooking Boldt Castle. We are in the process of updating rooms and to date all of the Fourth Floor and half of the Third floor rooms have been completed. We are currently working on are Channelfront rooms and hope to finish the Third Floor by Spring. Thank you for enjoying the Holland Street Bistro and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riveredge Resort for two days and nights, just after New Years. It's still a grand hotel/resort with four floors of beautiful rooms, each with a balcony and each with a view of the water, marina and Boldt Castle located on an island, across from the resort. Our room was huge and had a jacuzzi tub which was a nice treat on a cold and wintery day. Some reviewers stated that the hotel needed an upgrade but I think that it's style and grace match the decor perfectly. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the room rates were very reasonable, especially since this is their quiet time of year. We ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room overlooking the water and both meals were fabulous and reasonably priced. This resort is only a half hour drive from great shopping in Watertown and a short drive to the Canadian border. My husband and I would definitely recommend a stay at this resort. We will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at the Riveredge Resort. We are blessed to have such a wonderful customers as yourselves. We look forward to your return to the Thousand Islands and the Riveredge Resort, this community has so much to offer and with just a short drive to Watertown one can enjoy shopping at the mall. Thank You again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there on 2012 july. Great location. Everything run as we expected to. We used the room service. They made two mistakes about our order but, they were very kindly and solved all of them. Great food. We stayed at room 332, nothing special about it. I mean, I could noticed that all rooms are the same way. If you don´t like bugs, be careful. The hotel advises you about let the balcony door closed. Do this; or you will be surprised about the quantity and diversity of bugs above your head when you go sleep! Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpenrose, General Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Riveredge Resort, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and chose to write a review about us. We have a beautiful view of Boldt Castle and the Majestic St.Lawrence river, but being on the river does have its bugs. But keep doors closed and you can still enjoy the views and a good nights sleep. We look foward to seeing you again.'
'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
976 reviews
10.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riveredge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riveredge Resort

Property: Riveredge Resort
Address: 17 Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riveredge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Riveredge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riveredge Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing