We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO STAY & RELAX!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewood Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Meadville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO STAY & RELAX!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Edgewood Resort mid July 2013 and found the hotel just a short distance from the town of Alexandria Bay. Beautiful location and very clean grounds. Views are spectacular! Upon arriving, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were helpful with other information also. The owner, Jan, was very patient and accommodating when I called initially for information. The room we had was on the waterfront in the one level building (I think it was called Bear Lodge) and it was so nicely decorated in a rustic style. Balcony was private and you could see the Boldt Castle at a distance. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. We stayed Tuesday & Wednesday night and it was very quiet. The pool, playground and parking area were very clean and accommodating. There was also a nice deck that you could view the waterfront in case you didn't get a waterfront room. This resort is a 5 minute drive to the Uncle Sam's Boat Tours. We didn't eat at the resort restaurant so I cannot comment on the food, etc. The café at the resort was not open until the weekend. The only other comments would be that there was no coffee maker in the room; you could request one if you want though. They did have an ice maker on the outside of one of the buildings. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and if we ever travel back to that area, I would definitely stay at the resort. The other rooms located in the different buildings looked very nice too. You will not regret staying at the Edgewood Resort!

Room Tip: One story building is quieter as there is no one above you making noise. Waterfront rooms are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindi2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    53
    39
    14
    38
See reviews for
47
84
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We go to the Bay late in the season during the week to avoid the weekend crowd.
Compared to the other big name places in town I would stay here. The young lady at check in gave us two options for rooms. We checked out the cheaper of the two and it fit our bill. A corner room with a view of the bay and the river.
The room was clean and comfortable with a sitting area ,king size bed and great view we never sat in the room.

Room Tip: If you are looking to relax go to the bay late August during the week. Ask for a discout I got one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a very negative experience at another A-Bay hotel, I was very picky when trying to find our next place to stay. Edgewood was wonderful. From the customer service at the time I booked to when we checked out, it was great. The property is sprawling and beautiful. There are 2 restaurants, docks with beautiful views, and a gorgeous lobby . The swimming pool is very large and beautiful as well.

We stayed in the 700's, a unit without a view. I didn't mind not having a view, as you can walk 2-3 minutes and be right at the water anyways! We tried both restaurants - Oscar's for the breakfast buffet and the RiverFront for dinner. We enjoyed both and would recommend you try them.

We were also happy with our room - 2 queen beds, a flat screen tv on the wall, a dresser and there was actually an additional sink outside of the bathroom. Both beds were comfortable and we slept well, which can be hard to do in a hotel!

Two nights we needed additional towels in the late evening (9-10ish) and the staff walked them down to us. There was also someone playing loud music in the parking lot at night and the staff was happy to go down and talk to them for me.

There is really nothing negative at all about this hotel, and I think the people who had negative things to say were being really nit-picky or stayed a long time ago. Yes, the towels were on the thin side, but really? Big deal. This is a great property close by to everything, it is beautiful, and everyone was very nice and easy to deal with. The rooms were clean and offered everything we needed. And that pool was a huge plus.

Bttom line - stay there! We definitely can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of rooms without a view! So close to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dont listen to the negative comments, this resort is beautiful and has gorgeous views! Right across from the castle! VERY clean as well. The property is large and Beds were comfortable!!! AC worked so good too

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihola, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We paid higher than we had been paying on our trip thinking that it was a 'resort' it would be nicer. Not so, although the room had a balcony with a pleasant view and the room was a good size that was about it. The room was outdated, the hair dryer didn't work as well as one of the lights and the ice machine had bugs in it. We ate at seafood Buffett which was to be fair was good value. Overall not worthy of the resort title.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Edgewood was a quick, one-night stay for us. We enjoyed the room we had; it had a lovely view, we were literally on the water, and the sunset was breathtaking from our back balcony. The property is large and has a rich history. Beds were comfortable, AC worked well (it has been SO HOT this week!), and the grounds are kept nicely. Would have liked a small refrigerator, and cost was high considering the area and amenities.

Room Tip: "The Black Bear Lodge" has a beautiful waterfront location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaGEndicott_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were there for a family vacation. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Free internet. The entire location is beautiful, very near to down town, two parks, one park has a huge pool and the other has a beach. You can sit and relax right in front or back of your room. Very nice.

Room Tip: If you have little kids, book the 'Curtis Cottage', you will have more space otherwise go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.8 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
10.0 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Resort

Property: Edgewood Resort
Address: Edgewood Park Road, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Edgewood Hotel Alexandria Bay
Edgewood Resort Alexandria Bay
Edgewood Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing