We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location for a Thousand Island vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding location for a Thousand Island vacation”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent staff, great location to see the islands from and very spacious, well kept rooms. All with river views. Shopping, eating and boat tours all make this a memorable trip for anyone wanting to enjoy a nice vacation. Early summer is our favorite time to go. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and will continue to do so on future trips to the western New York region.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H20guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    142
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
73
189
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Boldt Castle was directly across from our window and the view was wonderful. Hotel was clean. Beds were ok but had plastic under the pillowcases which was annoying. The wireless didn't work for my computer but my friend was able to hook up. Location was very convenient also.

Room Tip: Second floor on Main Channel have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from a very relaxing couple days in ABay, stayed here for the first time taking advantage of a 2 night package, and would recommend them in a heartbeat! Room was updated, very clean and comfortable as well......but the view was amazing, definitely get a main channel room, you won't regret it. Check in was easy after a brief hiccup on our part, staff friendly, they even post a ship passing schedule in the office! Food at Riley's part of the package was decent too....only complaint, WiFi was very spotty!

Room Tip: Main channel room....worth every cent for the view of the castle, sunsets, and passing ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tolerated13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice romantic weekend getaway to Alexandria Bay. Package included two night stay, two nation boat tour to Boldt Castile and breakfast and dinner a Riley's on the River during our stay.. Wifi kept dropping out, room was old but clean. Had a very nice time. Food and service was very good at Riley's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrr50w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the resort as part of a Martz package, the room was a good size it was clean with a great view of the Harbour off the balcony, nothing to complain about.
It was very quiet at night, nice relaxing stay.
Great access to the boat tours, resturants, and local shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktmrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Took a quick overnight in July. View from the room was nice, although chairs on the porch were dirty. Room was clean but smelled like mildew. Towels were very fluffy but had strong mildew smell. If you're going to have a hotel on the water you cannot have rooms and towels that smell like mildew. Our friends in the next room also had a similar complaint. Too bad - I would have given this place a much better review without that issue.
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen14220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed there for a night in August, taking advantage of the boat tours and this quaint little tourist spot. No complaints: clean, rather large room on the harbour, friendly staff helping us checking in quickly; and they provided a cot as requested in the online booking. Very convenient location to the "strip" of shops and restaurants. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjuliennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt. Thomson's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. Thomson's Resort

Property: Capt. Thomson's Resort
Address: 45 James St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt. Thomson's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Capt. Thomson's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Thomson`s Hotel Alexandria Bay
Captain Thomsons Hotel
Captain Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing