We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Beautiful Views and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Captain Thomson's Resort. The room was clean. Friendly staff. We stayed two nights in June. The view of Boldt Castle from the balcony was awesome. The balcony was also a great place to watch the sunset. The resort is very convenient to Uncle Sam's boat docks, restaurants and shops. We drove the car only once and that was to see a movie at the local drive-in. We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Capt. Thomson's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 392 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed for the initial 2 nights that we had reservations for, we were having such a wonderful time that we extended our stay an extra night. Had a fantastic view from our room amd spent many ours on th balcony watching the ships. Had a direct view of Bolt castle. Hotel is convienent to everything, we parked and walked everywhere. Staff is extremely helpful and courtious. Room was clean, had a refrig and coffee maker. No iron or ironing board or microwave. We are already planning to go back next year. take the 2 hour international boat tour and make sure you get off on Bolt Castle. Worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river, and don't let whats available on the web fool you, call the hotel d...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachliving99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

this will be our fifth year staying at the capt thomson's resort and we love it. We check in, we park the car and thats it we dont have to move the car to do anything. we go for the blues on the bay weekend and have yet to have a bad time.The staff is wonderful from housekeeping to the general manager. The resteraunt Rileys is right across from the hotel and they are also wonderful, good food, good prices and friendly conversation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loisc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wonderful view off the balcony. Enjoyed all the boats from large freighters to small boats traveling. Stayed with a large group (over 30 senior citizens) and the staff were great in accommodating various needs. Rooms are plain and a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning works very well and pool was great to swim in. Housekeeping does a great job. Best location in the area, docks right outside, next to town, but good parking. Definitely the best value for touring Boldt Castle and the 1000 islands. Breakfast arrangement with Riley's across the street was great.

Room Tip: Best views are of the Main Channel and Upper Harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We did a woman's two night getaway. The rooms were clean but very average for the money although we did have a nice view overlooking the castle. I pacifically asked if the pool was heated when I made the reservations, they assured me it was. The pool was cold so we didn't use it. They also did not offer us any package deals, I heard of the package deals when we went to Riley's to eat. When I checked out I asked them why they did not offer them to me, their response was they do not have time to offer them to everyone that we should of seen them on line. Well I don't own a business but if I did I would want them to leave happy, I'm sure I would of taken a percentage off the price of the room or something. they were rude. I would not stay there again when there are so many hotels to pick from.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatever48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Location is the best - right on the Seaway at one end of downtown - right next to Uncle Sams Boat Tours (same owners). Room was fine, spotlessly clean, small fridge, coffee maker, A/C worked fine. Beds were OK. Yes, they have lots of rules, but nothing you should get excited about. Make sure you request a room with main channel view - we did and our small balcony and large window both looked out at Boldt Caste and the Seaway - where we say both ocean and lake freighters go by. Excellent value for price paid. PLUS - Riverfest for the troops at Fort Drum was going on while we were there - and Capt Thomson and mainly the boat tour operation heavily supports this. Kudo's to them for doing so.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a main channel view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Check-in was quick and easy. We got the room we had reserved with a beautiful view of Boldt Castle. They seem to have the room packets with keys, etc. prepared in advance so there is no confusion at check-in. This was nice. The room had two extra pillows, a flat-screen tv, coffee pot and mini fridge. The bedding was comfortable. AC worked wonderfully. The room had a balcony with 2 chairs. There seemed to be alot of bugs (luckily, they didn't bite) due to the river so we didn't use the balcony much. There are only a few minor issues which I could mention. We could have used more toliet paper and tissues at times. The staff seemed friendly when we requested more. Check the inside of your coffee pot...make sure it is clean. The pool wasn't open and this was mid-June. It didn't bother us because we didn't have time to swim but many others seemed very upset about it. If the pool is important to you, I suggest calling the hotel in advance to check on its status. Also, there was construction in the parking lot. Since this hotel is only open about 6 months out of the year, I couldn't understand why the work wasn't done when there were no guests but they implied it was delayed due to a bad winter/bad weather. Location is wonderful...walking distance to all boat tours and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DearJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
985 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#12 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt. Thomson's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. Thomson's Resort

Address: 45 James St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt. Thomson's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Capt. Thomson's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Thomson`s Hotel Alexandria Bay
Captain Thomsons Hotel
Captain Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing