We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in Alexandria Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Alexandria Bay”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Location is the best - right on the Seaway at one end of downtown - right next to Uncle Sams Boat Tours (same owners). Room was fine, spotlessly clean, small fridge, coffee maker, A/C worked fine. Beds were OK. Yes, they have lots of rules, but nothing you should get excited about. Make sure you request a room with main channel view - we did and our small balcony and large window both looked out at Boldt Caste and the Seaway - where we say both ocean and lake freighters go by. Excellent value for price paid. PLUS - Riverfest for the troops at Fort Drum was going on while we were there - and Capt Thomson and mainly the boat tour operation heavily supports this. Kudo's to them for doing so.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a main channel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    148
    53
    17
    10
See reviews for
82
195
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poconos, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Check-in was quick and easy. We got the room we had reserved with a beautiful view of Boldt Castle. They seem to have the room packets with keys, etc. prepared in advance so there is no confusion at check-in. This was nice. The room had two extra pillows, a flat-screen tv, coffee pot and mini fridge. The bedding was comfortable. AC worked wonderfully. The room had a balcony with 2 chairs. There seemed to be alot of bugs (luckily, they didn't bite) due to the river so we didn't use the balcony much. There are only a few minor issues which I could mention. We could have used more toliet paper and tissues at times. The staff seemed friendly when we requested more. Check the inside of your coffee pot...make sure it is clean. The pool wasn't open and this was mid-June. It didn't bother us because we didn't have time to swim but many others seemed very upset about it. If the pool is important to you, I suggest calling the hotel in advance to check on its status. Also, there was construction in the parking lot. Since this hotel is only open about 6 months out of the year, I couldn't understand why the work wasn't done when there were no guests but they implied it was delayed due to a bad winter/bad weather. Location is wonderful...walking distance to all boat tours and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DearJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Took a group of senior citizens there 30 years ago. We raved about it then- everyone was impressed with the cleaniness, style, location and hospitality. 30 Years Later,,,,When I heard that my niece wanted her wedding in Alexandria Bay, I checked out the chosen spot for her wedding and the hotel. Since I have always been the person chosen to check for great deals for our large family trips I checked on Captain Thomson's again AND had a package designed for our desires for four days and three nights, inc, boat tour, the Castle, The meals included Breakfast every morning, Group dinner the first night, dinner at our own chosen time (inc. in package) all at Riley's. I could not turn down such a GREAT DEAL.
The rooms were recently decorated with a refreshing atmosphere, the hospitality was very friendly and accommodating, They even offered a place to hold a memorial service for a brother that passed away a few days before the wedding.
At Riley's we were extremely satisfied at the care they gave in the kitchen for the preparation, taste and eye appeal of each dish that was served. The waitresses and managers were very receptive to our needs.
ALL OF MY FAMILY WERE VERY SATISFIED AND WE WOULD GIVE A 5 STAR RATING.

Room Tip: Check out the different sections & pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfahmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The place was very clean compared to other places the wedding party was staying (would not recommend Pine Hurst- very small and old/various water problems). It is definitely not a "resort", but it was nice for a short stay. Everything was clean and working. There are some newer aspects to the hotel, and other ones that needed update (pool and hot tub were not open, and looked run down). It is right on the water, so be prepared for mosquito's and bugs. The beds are not super comfortable, but they were fair. However, it is very close (within walking distance) of clubs, shops, ice cream, restaurants, and the boat tours/ferry. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanelleE5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

After leaving another local hotel that was a total dump we were happy to find Cap Thomsons! It was clean and well taken care of, right in the heart of Alexandria Bay we didn't even need to move the car the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My sisters and I stayed here for a long weekend in room 23 which had 3 double beds and an efficiency. The view from our room was just beautiful with Boldt Castle and the St. Lawrence seaway . We enjoyed seeing the castle all lit up in the evenings and watched the freighters go by in the morning while we enjoyed our coffee on the deck. Our room had a table with 4 chairs so we were able to play cards in the evening. This property is within walking distance to everything and only 2 stories high, so the stairs were no problem at all. The ladies in the office were wonderful to chat with, and check in and check out was very pleasant. The main street has many different shops to enjoy and the luncheon cruise was great.
Fall colors were beautiful in the 1000 Islands.... look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heffer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were happy to get a room on Columbus Day for one night at Captain Thomson's Resort. The view was really nice even from pool side, and we enjoyed the balcony. It was also great to be able to walk to everything, including Uncle Sam's Boat tours. The rooms are nothing fancy (could use some updating) and the beds were actually very uncomfortable. This was all fine though, we were not there to stay in the room much, just a place to sleep.
We thought that the shops and restaurants closing at or before 8pm was a little ridiculous though, after all this was a busy holiday period and it was a Saturday night. Why close so early? Not very tourist friendly in that way. We found a good place to eat by driving to "Cavallarios", great food and service.
Would def. stay here again, just probably call sooner and book a better room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
976 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.7 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt. Thomson's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. Thomson's Resort

Property: Capt. Thomson's Resort
Address: 45 James St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt. Thomson's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Capt. Thomson's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Thomson`s Hotel Alexandria Bay
Captain Thomsons Hotel
Captain Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Alexandria Bay
Capt Thomsons Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing