We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”
Review of Channelsyde Motel

Channelsyde Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channelsyde Motel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Glade Spring, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here for only a couple of nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The owners were very gracious and gave helpful information about the area. Beautiful lawn fronting the river where we could sit and watch the ships on the seaway. Room was quite comfortable and well decorated. This is the cleanest place we have ever stayed - and other guests that we talked with agreed with us. WiFi available in the room as well as in the breakfast room. A small motel which gave us a chance to interact with the other guests and enjoy meeting new people. Well worth the price. We will definitely stay here any time we are in the area.

  • Liked — Gracious hosts, cleanlines of room and grounds, close to Alexandria Bay
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elizava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed 4th of July weekend for first time. Great location, right on the St. Lawrence. Clean rooms and grounds. We will be back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minoa, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

It was nice and quiet, no noisy kids. The grounds are really nice. The rooms are a bit small but adaquate and clean. The owner was very friendly. The neighbors were all friendly. It was a very relaxed atmosphere. Would consider coming again. It's so great you have to book well in advance if you want a room. Worth the room price.

  • Liked — The quiet location on the river.
  • Disliked — The steps were a little to tall and the beach was too small.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinoaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Pete and Sue and their son are wonderful hosts. The rooms were spotless and freshly painted. The view from our front "balcony" allowed stunning views of the sun setting over the Channel while boats of various sizes cruised by as well as the occasional freighter headed south on the Seaway. They even had a small boat that they rented for a most reasonable fee which was perfect for us to do some fishing and sightseeing up in Alexander Bay. I recommend this for a family, retired couple, or for a romantic rendezvous! Five star all the way!!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — They were booked and we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mshults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stay at Channelsyde every year and this IS the only place to stay in Alex Bay. The owners are WONDERFUL, and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. Channelsyde is quiet and peaceful- and it is close enough to downtown Alex Bay. You get the best of both worlds!! The rooms are immaculate and well decorated. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Liked — The wonderful location and WONDERFUL owners
  • Disliked — Everything is perfect!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My wife and I just concluded our forth multi-day stay at the Channelsyde, and there will be many more. The rooms are very clean, although small. The lawn going down to the river is immaculate with plenty of lounge chairs to relax in while watching the big boats manuever up and down the St. Lawrence. There's fishing off the docks with enough action to keep you happy. There's a small, sandy beach for the little ones. But, the water is always COLD. The owners are exceptionally nice and always accomodating. You'll also enjoy friendly visits from their cat George and their dog Sam. True, it's not within walking distance of Alexandria Bay, but then again it's separation insures peace and quiet. During our stay, I always pick one entire day just to sit, read, watch, and meditate in this pristine environment.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Rooms on the small size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TomTheWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We've stayed here twice before and loved it. However we went back with our daughters family and it was a nightmare. Because the 3 and 6 yr olds played like children and made noise, stepped on a flower we were told never to come back. Another family with a young girl were yelled at for letting her play with a ball on the lawn. They seem like nice owners but impressions can be deceiving. If you have kids, avoid this place!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Before we found out what the owners were really like...the view of the St Lawrence
  • Disliked — Nit picking over my grandchildren
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank craner2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
2.5 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
929 reviews
8.3 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
2.4 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channelsyde Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channelsyde Motel

Property: Channelsyde Motel
Address: 21061 Point Vivian Rd, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-3194
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Channelsyde Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing