We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Alex Bay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Visger House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Visger House
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Alex Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I recently visited Alexandria Bay--and stayed in the Visger House. It stands alone in quality, as Alex Bay is full of tired old motels and motor lodges. This house was recently renovated by Sam and her husband. The rooms are Victorian with a funky twist, comfortable, inviting, with beautiful colors. Being centrally located allows easy accessibilty to the ferries & boat tours, tourist shops and most of the eateries. It is also just around the corner from a river park.

Sam's breakfasts were outstanding. This woman needs to open a restaurant, as her cooking is creative, delicious, and making you wish you could take a doggie bag from the breakfast table!

So if you are looking to visit Alexandria Bay, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PudgexMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in the Ella room for 2 nights and it was very nice. Sam was out when we arrived but left us a note to welcome us. The room was air conditioned and it worked well. There were lights on dimmers and a tv in our room. The bath was very nice and had a jacuzzi tub. We were on the first floor which was nice. Breakfasts were delicious and filling and she was very accomodating to nutritional needs/dislikes. She was helpful with tips on what to see and do. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenlover2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Captain Visger House (B & B) is a wonderful place to stay. Within a block of "downtown" Alexandria Bay and within easy walking distance of the main harbor and boat tours of the 1000 Islands. Very clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts (you probably will not need lunch). Sam was very informative about the area and had excellent suggestions for dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night over 4th July weekend. I intimidated Sam with my tales of roasting my own coffee. She didn't need to worry. Her coffee was great. In fact the breakfast was totally fantastic. Pay her to cook you dinner, if you are lucky she will accept. It will be magnificent. Cookery aside, the captain's room was beautiful. My wife (an interior decorator) was highly complimentary of her color choices. I know nothing about such things, but the bed was very comfortable and the shower worked well.
My only complaint is: no water view.
Nonetheless, you are right next to the water and a 30 second walk will take you there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

We spent the night at the Captain Visger House during a recent stay in Alexandria Bay. The house is beautiful and well-maintained. Sam is a fabulous hostess and wonderful cook. Breakfast is incredible. I hope you are hungry. Located right in Alex Bay within easy walking distance of shops, boat tours, restaurants and entertainment. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mperrin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Captain Visger B&B a few weeks ago and had such a wonderful time there. Sam is a wonderful host and did everything to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable, presenting us with a bottle of wine upon our arrival and making us the most delicious (and filling!) breakfasts we have ever had. The inn was beautifully decorated and the bed we slept in was SO comfortable. We definitely look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicteacher331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Alexander Bay is a great place to vacation and the Captain Visger House is a gem. Sam is a great cook and the rooms were luxurious, and breakfast was delightful. Every detail of our stay was perfect; the decor, and the food! Fantastic breakfasts. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evenings or walking across the street to the park to gaze at the Boldt Castle lit up at night. Sam's peppermint soap was a delightful surprise and a refreshing start to each morning of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
10.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Visger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Visger House

Property: Captain Visger House
Address: 2 Church St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1305
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain Visger House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored Historic B&B in the heart of the 1000 Islands, in Alexandria Bay. 4 beautifully decorated rooms each with private bath and plush queen size beds. Common room for relaxing, porches for people watching - the Captain Visger House is an oasis. Food is the owners' passion! Breakfast is homemade, organic, and in the summer from the garden! Special diets are never a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Captain Visger House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Visger House Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing