We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pampering weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Visger House
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were in the 1000 Islands for a wedding, and had a delightful stay at the Captain Visger House. The breakfasts were outstanding. Our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleHWebster_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a really nice stay at the Captain Visger House B&B. We stayed in the Captains Suite, and it was very spacious and beautiful. There is no TV in the room, but I think there is one somewhere else in the house if you needed it. The bathroom was huge, with an old style tub shower, and never ending hot water! Everything is decorated very appropriately for the time period of the house, gorgeous. It just makes you feel very comfortable and at home. The food is absolutely fantastic and I can not say enough about it. The owners are so kind and friendly and will go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and easy. The location is right off the main drag so everything is very easily within walking distance. Unfortunately, there is a hospital right between the house and the water, so you don't get much of a view. We could see a tiny bit of water from our bathroom. All in all this is a great place to stay in Alex Bay and we will definitely be back to try out a different room, as they all have their own personality and charm!

Room Tip: Capt Suite: on Fri/Sat night you can hear music from a nearby dance club. Different room would hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwertygord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our second stay for my husband and I. We chose to stay here again because our first time was super. It was wonderful as usual. The breakfasts were delicious, and our room was wonderful (we stayed in the Ella room).
Sam, the owner gave us ideas of places to go, restaurants, etc, which really helped us have a great trip. There are so many scenic waterfront areas to visit in the area. The food and the hospitality is simply oustanding! Great stay, we will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjd5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were in Alexandria Bay for a weekend wedding and we like staying at B and B's.
We immediately felt right at home at Captain Visger with a big friendly "hello",comfortable accommodations, and the next morning with huge (and creative) breakfast.
Sam(antha) , the proprietor, was interesting and fun and genuinely concerned about her guests. She is well traveled, an expert chef and an eclectic music lover. If we return to northern NY we will be back to stay, and in the meantime we look forward to meeting Sam next year in SF.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is by far the best B&B in Alex Bay! It's a beautifully restored historic home with period furniture, delicious breakfasts (we've stayed here twice) and friendly innkeepers. You can see far up and down the St. Lawrence River from the widow's walk! They will accommodate special needs or diets. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a first floor room if you have trouble with stairs and a large suite for special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We (2 couples) booked two rooms for our stay: the Harmonious and Ella. My husband and I stayed in Harmonious. Yes, the bed squeeked but that did not keep us from sleeping well after all day walking about and boat touring. The mattress was comfortable and the sheets - wow! The house is absolutely beautifully decorated taking the visitor "back in the day." Great care was taken to find out what our food likes and dislikes were; what alergies there might be and would we want coffee or tea ect. and both mornings were greated with enough food to last the day and tasted delicious. Coffee was excellent - and I love my coffee! ONE of my favorite parts of our stay was the care package of chocolate cookies for the road - YUMMM. We felt pampered and well cared for - thank you! I do hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scuratol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Located in the heart of Alex Bay which allows you to park your car and walk to the local shops, boat tours and entertainment. You can just sit on the front porch with a glass of wine and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobrovech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
996 reviews
10.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swan Bay Resort & Marina
Swan Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 3 in Alexandria Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Visger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Visger House

Address: 2 Church St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1305
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $159 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain Visger House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored Historic B&B in the heart of the 1000 Islands, in Alexandria Bay. 4 beautifully decorated rooms each with private bath and plush queen size beds. Common room for relaxing, porches for people watching - the Captain Visger House is an oasis. Food is the owners' passion! Breakfast is homemade, organic, and in the summer from the garden! Special diets are never a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain Visger House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Visger House Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing