We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality, wonderful breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Visger House
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hospitality, wonderful breakfasts”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were in Alexandria Bay for a weekend wedding and we like staying at B and B's.
We immediately felt right at home at Captain Visger with a big friendly "hello",comfortable accommodations, and the next morning with huge (and creative) breakfast.
Sam(antha) , the proprietor, was interesting and fun and genuinely concerned about her guests. She is well traveled, an expert chef and an eclectic music lover. If we return to northern NY we will be back to stay, and in the meantime we look forward to meeting Sam next year in SF.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
106
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is by far the best B&B in Alex Bay! It's a beautifully restored historic home with period furniture, delicious breakfasts (we've stayed here twice) and friendly innkeepers. You can see far up and down the St. Lawrence River from the widow's walk! They will accommodate special needs or diets. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a first floor room if you have trouble with stairs and a large suite for special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We (2 couples) booked two rooms for our stay: the Harmonious and Ella. My husband and I stayed in Harmonious. Yes, the bed squeeked but that did not keep us from sleeping well after all day walking about and boat touring. The mattress was comfortable and the sheets - wow! The house is absolutely beautifully decorated taking the visitor "back in the day." Great care was taken to find out what our food likes and dislikes were; what alergies there might be and would we want coffee or tea ect. and both mornings were greated with enough food to last the day and tasted delicious. Coffee was excellent - and I love my coffee! ONE of my favorite parts of our stay was the care package of chocolate cookies for the road - YUMMM. We felt pampered and well cared for - thank you! I do hope to return some day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuratol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompey, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Located in the heart of Alex Bay which allows you to park your car and walk to the local shops, boat tours and entertainment. You can just sit on the front porch with a glass of wine and relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobrovech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the "Harmonious" bedroom. It was a nicely decorated room, though a bit small. The location is great, 5 minutes from the boat cruises and shops.
The owner was nice and the food was good.

The reason why I gave it 3 stars is because, our bed was very squeaky (every time you shift in the night you end up waking up yourself and your partner) and so we did not get a good night sleep either night. The food was good but not as good as we had in other B&Bs or as much as it was hyped about. Also, the room is too small for its price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crazyplaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvisger, Owner at Captain Visger House, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
As the owner of this small business i pay close attention to reviews about the Captain Visger House. This is not a hobby, this is my livelyhood. I appreciate each and every guest that chooses to stay here and I do value the money they spend doing so. I believe a stay here is a great value. The house is beautiful, the food is excellent (obviously subjective) . My eggs are local and farm raised, as is my bacon and the majority of my ingredients are organic. We roast our own coffee. I do not have set menus. Breakfast is designed around the tastes of my guests. When guests arrive I make a direct request to please communicate any problems/issues they may encounter so that I may have an opportunity to resolve them while they are here.
The house was built in 1856. The furniture in Harmonius is original to the period and to this area. It is an a full size oak bed (and set) that has been retrofitted to accommodate a queen mattress that itself is amazingly comfortable. After reading the review I ran upstairs and jumped on the bed there were squeeks, the greater the activity the more the squeek also the larger a person is I believe the more the bed will squeek. I will try silicone to see if that will solve the problem. We may try a structural brace to help the problem. I will not diminish the level of anquish this guest felt at not being able to sleep. I will also say this is the first guest to mention the problem.
What is so upsetting and frustrating is i was given no opportunity to resolve this issue while they were here. Leave unhappy and complain to the world . Thank you to all who stay and enjoy the house there are many. To this person, thank you for your business. I am sorry you felt it was not worth it. Please do not come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a quick one night trip up to Alex Bay. We were looking for a little get away and I had a hard time finding a decent place to stay in the area until I came across the Captain Visger House. We booked the one night "Autumn Special" which includes a dinner.

The house is gorgeous, the location is great, Sam is a wonderful host and the food is to die for. The room was beautiful and thankfully lacked a TV. My wife and I immediately felt relaxed and settled.

We headed downstairs to talk to Sam about dinner options and let me tell you what a fantastic experience it was. Sam immediately offered us a glass of wine, appetizer and presented us with some fantastic options for dinner. My wife and I have traveled widely and eaten plenty of high dollar meals, this meal ranks right in the top of all our meals.

Oh and did I mention Sam does an excellent job with wine selection and wine availability. I can assure you our glasses weren't empty for long. And to top off the perfect night Sam provided us some delicious chocolate brownies topped with some roasted pears. We brought our glasses of wine and the brownies back to our room. A perfect evening.

Alex Bay off season is pretty dead, so anyone expecting lively nightlife would best look elsewhere. But trust me you wont need or want to leave the house for long.

The value of the Autumn special is amazing. This is a wonderful place with a wonderful host, we are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ithacacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I recently visited Alexandria Bay--and stayed in the Visger House. It stands alone in quality, as Alex Bay is full of tired old motels and motor lodges. This house was recently renovated by Sam and her husband. The rooms are Victorian with a funky twist, comfortable, inviting, with beautiful colors. Being centrally located allows easy accessibilty to the ferries & boat tours, tourist shops and most of the eateries. It is also just around the corner from a river park.

Sam's breakfasts were outstanding. This woman needs to open a restaurant, as her cooking is creative, delicious, and making you wish you could take a doggie bag from the breakfast table!

So if you are looking to visit Alexandria Bay, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PudgexMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
557 reviews
10.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Visger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Visger House

Property: Captain Visger House
Address: 2 Church St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1305
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain Visger House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored Historic B&B in the heart of the 1000 Islands, in Alexandria Bay. 4 beautifully decorated rooms each with private bath and plush queen size beds. Common room for relaxing, porches for people watching - the Captain Visger House is an oasis. Food is the owners' passion! Breakfast is homemade, organic, and in the summer from the garden! Special diets are never a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Captain Visger House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Visger House Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing