We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”
Review of Otter Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otter Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The owners are friendly, the rooms were clean. This is a no frills location, and is a good value. Bring your own hair dryer, shampoo, etal. The location is just off the beaten path and therefore not in the midst of all of the tourist traffic.

We enjoyed the usual sites and spent a few evenings at the Scenic View Park, near the hospital. Beautiful park, with nice view of the Boldt castle and boat house. We got some awesome sunset pictures there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iwantavacationnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 422 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights - nice big room and clean. Price couldn't be beat and the location was just a few minute walk to the main street of Alex Bay. Very quiet location. They do have coffee in the office as well as use of a microwave and our room had a refrigerator. No cooking in rooms but nice place to eat a few minutes away. Office is closed from 10 pm until 8 am so you have to wait until morning if you need anything (our toliet plugged and we had to wait until morning to get a plunger so I could unplug it). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DNS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This is the second year with Otter Creek ,we work for a magazine that covers the River Run and we found the area Otter Creek is located perfect a nice distance to the excitement, but also a great place to walk back to from the excitement The owners are super friendly and run the place as it should be run smoothly..The blus fest in the bay is coming up in Sept and we will be staying there then also.
We have also made sure to reserve it for the 4th River Run next year.Nice rooms fridge large rooms comfortable and affordable.A short stroll to everything you need to see or do in the Bay

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieLakeportNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Have stayed at Otter Creek Inn for several years and have always had a very good experience. The owners have always been courteous and helpful. It is very clean and neat and is located close to downtown. Would and have recommended Otter Creek to many people and they have told us that they liked it and would stay there again.

John & Linda, Arkport, NY

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyArkport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I stayed here over the summer and it was the worst motel experience I had ever had. Rude staff, ugly furniture, and overpriced. I wouldn't even let my dog stay here! This motel is surly a blemish in an otherwise very quaint town.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MadMenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABay_Otter, Owner at Otter Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2008

Our motel, Otter Creek Inn, does not have rude staff or ugly furniture, nor are we over priced (refer to the price list of lodgings at the Alexandria Bay Chamber of Commerce). Otter Creek Inn is the only AAA Approved lodging in the area. We continuously pass all AAA and NYS Department of Health inspections with great reviews. We work very hard to make sure that our guests enjoy their visit to Otter Creek Inn, Alexandria Bay and the Thousand Islands Region. We want guests to return to Alexandria Bay. If this reviewer had brought their complaint to us, we would have done our best to resolve the issue. We understand that we can’t please everyone, but this review is simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed at the Otter Creek mid-july for 4 days. We are a family of four and needed a place offering dockage for our boat we were bringing along.

We found this place clean and quiet, and it's well located right on the water. Owners are running it tightly and were very accomodating. Docks, grounds and the property overall are well maintained. Yes the rooms show their age and have minimal amenities, but it's reasonably priced. And then the 1000 Islands is a place to enjoy the outdoors!

I would certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet & relaxing stay. If you you're bringing a boat along it's one of the best place I've seen, with launch ramp right on site. Hint: inquire about the docking fee and trailer parking space availability upon reservation however.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurIsa_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Decided to take a long weekend in Alexandria bay and stayed at the Otter Creek Inn . Accomidations were excellent, clean and spacious rooms. People couldn't have been any nicer. just a wonderful weekend and we can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank O3P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.6 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
577 reviews
10.3 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.8 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Creek Inn

Address: 2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1800
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $70 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in picturesque Alexandria Bay on Otter Creek with main channel access and close to museums, golf, miniture golf, tennis, hiking, go-carts, Scuba diving and other family entertainment. We are 2 blocks from downtown and within walking distance to restuarants, boat tours, shopping, boat rentals, park with swimming beach, fishing and guides, and night entertainment. We also offer picnic tables, gas grill, lawn chairs, adjacent boat ramp, fishing from our docks and boat dockage by the foot. All rooms are smoke-free with two double beds or one king bed, AC/heat, full shower, cable TV, telephones and refrigerators. Coffee and microwave available in the office. Locally we have the best ameneties for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Otter Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Creek Hotel Alexandria Bay
Otter Creek Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing