We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place near the Seaway for a great price".”
Review of Otter Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otter Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Great place near the Seaway for a great price".”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Trip Advisor has not failed me yet on this two week tour up through Massachussets, Maine, New York, and Vermont. Everyone's comments and reviews so far seems to have matched my experiences where we stayed. I have learned that you do not need to spend more money thinking you will get a better place. There are some great places by local proprietors and we need to support these folks because they are disappearing unfortunately. This two story outside entrance style Inn is neat, clean, and lots of great reading light plus a table and two chairs with refrigerator and the gentleman at the desk very accommodating and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyloulou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    108
    26
    12
    17
See reviews for
97
191
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Otter Creek Inn beginning on September 8, 2013. We found the place to be very clean and accommodating. The owners were real friendly and Dennis even assisted me with finding restaurants and grocery stores. The place was just what we needed for a rest and vacation. I highly recommend Otter Creek Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 211 which is on the second floor and found it to be quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Every time we spend time in Alex Bay we stay at Otter Creek. It is a great location, close to the action downtown but when you have had enough of that you return to your motel room for relaxation and quiet. Have a cocktail sitting by the water which is beautiful.Dennis and Debbie
are exceptional people , very friendly and professional. We feel very secure while there, they are on top of everything going on.The housekeepng staff are great as well. We highly recommend Otter Creek to our friends.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the lower level and always ask for a room with a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A friend and myself came up in September to do some fishing and stayed at the Otter Creek Inn. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the boat launch was right next door. We could keep our boat right at the Otter Creek Inn and it was a short walk to everything in Alex Bay. We enjoyed our stay and plan to come back soon.
Don C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Otter Creek Inn. My daughter is handicapped which can make travel difficult, The owners Dennis and Debbie were wonderful people. They went out of their way to find a shower chair that my daughter could use. One evening, my daughter and I stood by the docks staring at the water and Debbie loaned us a fishing pole so that my daughter could try fishing for the first time in her life. This will be a memory she will never forget. It would have been great if we caught something but we got a few bites and that was enough. The rooms where super clean and even had a refrigerator. The location is great , only a short walk to all of the attractions in Alexandria Bay. This is a great place to stay you won't be disappointed. The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because the beds where a bit to firm to my liking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allie1382p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a short trip to our favorite location, the 1000 islands at the St. Lawrence River. To enhance the experience, we stayed at our favorite motel, the Otter Creek Inn located in Alexandria Bay, owned and operated by Dennis and Debbie Butterfield.
We have been staying at this location for many years, to the point where Dennis and Debbie have not only been excellent hosts, but are almost like family. They are more than accommodating and go out of their way to make a stay quite pleasant.
Besides being priced very reasonably, the rooms are always extremely clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Debbie has augmented the exterior of the grounds with planting, which is also well-maintained. Colorful Adirondack chairs line the grounds facing the water, as well as picnic type tables with umbrellas to shield the sun, both of which provide a very relaxing venue.
Otter Creek Inn will also appeal to boat owners as they provide docking right at the site, with a municipal ramp adjacent for loading and unloading.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dfphills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our Third visit to Otter Creek Inn and we are never disapointed.The owner Dennis goes above and beyond to make your stay to your liking. The rooms are clean the property and grounds are kept very well. We came by Motorcycle and Dennis himself watched our Bikes and let us store our Jackets and luggage the day of check out so we could enjoy the attractions of Alexandria Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosnow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.6 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
10.3 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.4 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Creek Inn

Property: Otter Creek Inn
Address: 2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1800
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in picturesque Alexandria Bay on Otter Creek with main channel access and close to museums, golf, miniture golf, tennis, hiking, go-carts, Scuba diving and other family entertainment. We are 2 blocks from downtown and within walking distance to restuarants, boat tours, shopping, boat rentals, park with swimming beach, fishing and guides, and night entertainment. We also offer picnic tables, gas grill, lawn chairs, adjacent boat ramp, fishing from our docks and boat dockage by the foot. All rooms are smoke-free with two double beds or one king bed, AC/heat, full shower, cable TV, telephones and refrigerators. Coffee and microwave available in the office. Locally we have the best ameneties for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Otter Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Creek Hotel Alexandria Bay
Otter Creek Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing