We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Rock Ledge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rock Ledge Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were looking for someplace that was not in the village of Alexandria Bay, something not too touristy but conveniently located . After reading the reviews for this and several other locations, we decided to give it a try. We found the owners to be very friendly and hospitable, the room clean and comfortable, and the location great for heading to tour in any direction. The room was nicely furnished and well maintained. (It did not appear at all "dated" as one reviewer mentioned earlier.) We stayed two nights and would have enjoyed staying longer. If we get back to this area again, we will definitely plan to stay at Rock Ledge

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great little motel in a great little town. Price and people were awesome. Lots to see and do in the area. Motel had some age, but was well maintained and very clean. The owners stay during the summer and were super nice. Only way to register is by phone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveFromShelbyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Coming from South Jersey, we met with our Canadian friends in a place that was mutually agreeable for the two couples, spending two nights at Rock Ledge to take in a day of sightseeing in the Thousand Islands... Boat Cruise, Boldt Castle, and the winefest on Heart Island. Although the weather was uncooperative, we stayed warm and comfortable in our room and had a good night's sleep both nights we stayed. Although the WiFi gave me some problems, I wasn't there to work on my computer, so that was of little consequence. It did work sporadically, so nothing was lost.

The room could have been a bit bigger, but it was typical of an older motel. The one chair provided for working at the desk was a bit too large for the available space (chair arms prevented getting any closer to the desk), so my wife had to squeeze a bit to get past me to the bed when I was using the desk. Considering the vintage of the motel, and its primary function, it was more than adequate for our needs. Since my wife and I are both smokers, the chairs and table outside under a roof-overhang were welcoming and sheltering from the inclement weather; we were able to spend a significant time just relaxing and taking in the view from "the front porch" while smoking our cigarettes and socializing with our friends.

The owners, as everyone else says, were very nice and quite accommodating.

I would cetainly consider staying at Rock Ledge again if I were to return to the area.

Room Tip: We selected rooms in the main building instead of one of the cottages -- based on other reviews and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WCLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms had to be the cleanest I have ever seen in a motel that old. You could eat off of the floors the bathroom just glisen.
Grounds well kept and it was very quite. You could not wish for anything more.
JM

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed just one night. Small room but it worked for us. A bit outdated but ok for a sleep over. Extremely nice owners. Clean, convenient location to Alexandria Bay and Clayton. Also very close to Welsley Island (about 6 miles). (This is good info if you get rained out at your campsite and just need to get out of the rain). Located on the main route. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SyracuseDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice owners. Very clean. Dated decor...wall mounted bathroom sink. Mattress softer than we like. Quiet location. They indicated they are working on updating units. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyager2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed only one night. Found this place pretty much what previous reviews by others said. The rooms are small and a bit dated however very clean. They had air conditioning if needed or screened windows. Bathroom very small as well but adequate. The people were very nice and friendly. Though no pool there was a nice yard out front as well as chairs outside each room. The motel set back from the road a bit so fairly quiet. They advertised a short walk for downtown hustle in Alexandria but even though we are used to walking not sure we would agree...it's a real hike if you want to walk downtown. The price here was $85 for 2 full sized beds. Compared to fancy closer places, a good deal if you dont mind driving to eat or do the downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed away from the cottages due to their being smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenandToni207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
1.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
995 reviews
9.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
23.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
1.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Ledge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Ledge Motel

Address: 45302 State Route 12, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $48 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Ledge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Ledge Motel is family owned and operated. It is located one and a half miles from the downtown business district which makes this a great choice for a good night's rest. When staying at the Rock Ledge you can be confident that your room will be clean and tidy at your check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock Ledge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Ledge Hotel Alexandria Bay
Rock Ledge Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing