We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & quiet”
Review of Rock Ledge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rock Ledge Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during August of 2012. This is an older motel that is kept in excellent repair and is immaculate. The furnishings are very comfortable. Rooms are light & airy. Entire facility is non-smoking. New windows & screens enable you to enjoy the fresh air. Heat/AC is thermostatically controlled in each room. Lawn chairs & a small table on the front porch for each room enable you to sit outside & visit with your neighbors if you so desire. A Weber grill & picnic table on the lawn are available for all to share. Jim & Cindy are very friendly & helpful. This is the next thing to being at home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one night and found this motel more than acceptable. While not fancy, it is clean and well-kept. The bed was comfortable, air conditioner worked great, great water temp and pressure, TV great. They even see to the small details such as shampoo, soap and a hair dryer. And, yes, a small fridge and microwave. Best of all was the warm and friendly welcome by Jim and Cindy...lovely people. They care about their place, their business, and you!

The Slauenwhite's, Long Island, NY

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Like other reviewers have said, this is definetly a clean motel. It was nothing fancy, but seemed well cared for by the owners. It was also quiet and we enjoyed relaxing one evening on the porch.
My husband and I considered it a bright spot in the Alexandria Bay area and were very glad we had our reservations!
The only thing we didn't appreciate was the trouble we had regulating the water temp for our showers. We were told it was caused by the other guests using water at the same time. I finally resorted to having a bath to avoid getting blasted with cold water.
The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location of this motel is very convenient. It is 5 minutes drive to Wellesley Island in the Thousand Island area of New York and close to Clayton where there are good dining.restaurants.

The rooms are clean and well maintained by the owners Cindy and Jim Durand.
The rooms also have a small frig and microwave and everythings works in the room.
In short a nice place to stay.
Kris M

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed two nights while enjoying the river area, and everything everyone else said rings true. Super nice people, immaculate room, centrally located to all the local attractions and towns, and yet very quiet - set back in off the road, with a meadow behind the rooms. Great to have the mini-fridge and microwave too. All this for a very affordable rate - we will be making a point to stay at this motel any time we are going to be in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved the Rock Ledge Motel! Immaculate rooms, comfortable beds, a pull-out hide a bed couch and surprised and happy to see a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker! The owners, Jim and Cindy were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, close to Alexandria Bay, Wellesley State park, Clayton and various attractions! I highly recommend the Rock Ledge Motel and will definitely tell my friends and family. My husband and I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 18 bigger, great if you need to use a pack-n-play for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our group of friends had 4 rooms for 6 nights. We all had a wonderful experience at Rock Ledge Motel. It's very close to Alex bay and Clayton is close the other way. It's location All of us said that if we ever got back to The 1000 Islands again we would stay with Jim and Cindy at Rock Ledge. Cindy and the girls kept our room very clean and we had plenty of towels everyday and Jim was always around doing something. All and all, Rock Ledge was a wonderful, clean and well maintained motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
1.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
997 reviews
9.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Ledge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Ledge Motel

Address: 45302 State Route 12, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $82 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Ledge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Ledge Motel is family owned and operated. It is located one and a half miles from the downtown business district which makes this a great choice for a good night's rest. When staying at the Rock Ledge you can be confident that your room will be clean and tidy at your check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rock Ledge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Ledge Hotel Alexandria Bay
Rock Ledge Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing