We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Like Website Implies!!!”
Review of Boardwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Motel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Oswego, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Like Website Implies!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2006

When we arrived they gave us our room key and didn't tell us where the room was....We had to go back in to ask where the room was located, we ended up across the street in a smelly cabin style room, it had 2 bedrooms with no doors, NO PHONES and ac didn't work, the main door to outside had cracks in it. 2 other doors that lead to outside where screwed shut. The Bathroom was GROSS Black Tub. No lamp shades over the lights. The bedding Stunk! It looked dirty. I went back to ask for my money back, They didn't seem surprised! They didn't even ask why, they just gave me my money back. We went to stay at Sir Robert Peel Motor Lodge on Rt 12- What a breath of fresh air compaired to the horrible experience at the Boardwalk. We ended up saving money due to the new hotel being cheaper!!!!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank riebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    46
    17
    10
    31
See reviews for
25
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My girlfriends and I rented the house. Our experience was that the house was clean and pleasant . We were provided with fresh towels and found the house to be quite comfortable.

Suggestions for improvement: new flooring in downstairs bathroom, new air conditioners that work, and working outlets on that wonderful outside deck.

We all agree we would stay here again (providing it was in the house as that was where we had a positive experience).

D Page

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

I stayed one night recently. It was inexpensive and within easy walking distance to the center of town. I had read all the negative reviews so I asked to see the room they were going to give me before deciding. It was clean, new carpeting and flooring in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Basic. Nothing fancy, but that isn't what I was looking for. The owner was friendly and frustrated at all the negative reviews. He says he's been working on the place and planning new furniture next. The towels were kind of flimsy--oh well.....I would stay there again. The pool looked nice but I didn't use it. Too cold when I was there. Looked like nice docking for boats. There were picnic tables and grills all over.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caribbeangail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2005

The place was nothing like the webpage. At check in, we were directed across the street, drove up a pathway into a wooded area where there were cabins. I thought we would be staying in a hotel overlooking the river. We were never told they had this other section. The room was small with outdated, delapitaded furniture...food crumbs between the sheets of the bed, lumpy pillows and a musty smell. We never asked for a cabin. The air conditioning unit was in the wall and sounded like a freight train. For added comfort, there was a big square floor fan that knocked you off your feet even when you set it on the lowest setting...Windows were painted shut and had cobwebs and spiders between the screens. TV reception was lousy, if you could hear it over the fan and air conditioner. The bathroom was tiny with no place in the shower to put a bar of soap, shampoo or a washcloth. You had to keep stepping out and reach everything off the sink.

A group in the other cabin was drinking and shouting all night long. We had 1-2 hours of sleep. When we complained to the owner that we had vary inadequate lodging, he said he just bought the place across the road and would be refinishing it. Oh yes, and the website also advertised a coffee pot and coffee in every room...HA! We were lucky we had water in the bathroom! The toping to this fabulous room was that a skunk relieved himself right outside our window. Since the hotel/cabins were all booked, we only stayed the 1 night. I made sure I took lots of photos so we could have laughs with my co-workers and family members.

Never again!!!

We're going back again this October, 2005....but chose another hotel, so we'll see....

  • Stayed July 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Spent 3 nights here because it seemed we had no choice. Paid for room in advance. Severe structural problems and REALLY old mattresses ! No outlets in bathroom. Shower did not work. Never given enough towels. "Maids" were the owners teenage daughters. Could see the ground beneath the building through cracks in the floor! The entire row of rooms look like they are falling into the bay. Smelled like some kind of insecticide had been sprayed in the room. But apparently not enough, as we all left with "bug" bites all over our ankles and feet. No locks on windows and screens were busted. Just a really old, stinky, run down place that should NOT be in business anymore...let alone charging over $100/night. The only thing working in the room was the air conditioner. And the outdoor pool was fairly new. Swim in the pool, but sleep in your car ! And you'd be better off bathing in the river. I don't see this place lasting another year or two before it caves in. Hopefully there are no occupants inside when it does ! Definitely stay somewhere else...but just to see how a homeless person might live...check out room #5 !

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2005

When requesting a King Jacuzi suite, I thought I would have a nice weekend. Instead, I got a room with a ripped heart shapped tub, spiders, bad smell, and a black shower curtain from the mildew! Advertisment said a wet bar, however, the only thing in the kitchen were dirty dishes!!! Thankfully, there was a left over hamburger in the fridge (GROSS)! I dont think that maids are employed at this hotel, and I strongly advise you to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Goddess5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2004

This so called “resort” is nothing more than a complete dump. The website this so called “resort” has online, is very deceiving. When we arrived, our “room” was nothing more than a stand alone “cabin” partially held up right by concrete cinder blocks. Our view was of the white PVC plumbing pipes (for the toilet and tub) running from under the “room” along the ground in front of our “room”. Blocks of wood held up the sink in the bathroom. There was a wasp’s nest under the “room” with dead wasps inside of the room. There were large gaps between the windows and the walls, as well as where the wall meets the floor. The curtain and curtain rod were ripped off of the wall and laying in a heap on the floor. The bed (including the bedding) as well as the furniture and TV look as if they had been picked up from alongside the road.
We are amazed that the town of Alexandria Bay has not condemned this establishment and/or made the owners completely renovate. This establishment should be thoroughly inspected for code violations as well as by the health department.
We wish we could post photographs, because immediately after checking our “room” we took a few digital photographs of this place, prior to demanding our money back and going elsewhere.
We highly recommend that you think twice before deciding to stay at this so called “resort” or making reservations with this establishment. You would have a more comfortable night sleeping in a dumpster.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
967 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Motel

Property: Boardwalk Motel
Address: 41 Walton St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1404
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing