We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
watertown
1 review
“I love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

I love this hotel I think it is a very nice place to stay. The staff is nice and the owner is a good person. They where all very helpful. The maids cleaned up very well and our room was a great place to stay. The view was amazing and worth staying to see. I would tell anyone to stay there..

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepytimeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    16
    10
    30
See reviews for
24
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here en route on the spur of the moment. It looks charming: old-school boardwalk right to the dock on the bay, amazing view of Bordt castle and the sunset. Nice outdoor gated pool, too. Alex Bay has a rougher feel to it than its neighbors and we didn't want our family to be in the mix. This is in town but quiet enough considering its location.

We thought the Boardwalk would be older but charming and well-maintained. Were we wrong! Well, our first room was at "the Boardwalk, too," across the street . . . some sort of dark backwoods cottage hunkering in the trees! Needless to say, we didn't feel safe, and marched right back to the office to ask for another room.

We were then given a room on the end. No general care and maintenance has been provided to this place for many years, and the interior is sparse, dated and depressing. The bed was really uncomfortable, one light didn't work, and there was no coffee maker. No phone book either, from which to order food.

However, the TV worked, as did the A/C, and the linens seemed clean enough. Sink was clean too, but there were a couple of hairs in the tub.

Hovering at the very low end of basic, clean and comfortable (we called it scuzzy, reflecting on it) and a horrible value for $120.00! We stayed down the road in a wonderful motel in Clayton for $80.00 and couldn't believe we had been duped into paying this much for what will be a dump in the next couple of years if the owners don't step up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

mkmc1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

By far, staying at the Boardwalk Resort was the worst experience of my life. I traveled with a group of friends for Fourth of July and was opened minded upon arrival. The room was not clean, smelled, and was very out dated but we figured on spending most of our time out of the room. We decided to go into town our first night there. We made sure before we left to hide valuables, close the curtains, and of course lock the door behind us. When we returned later that night we walked in to discover that we had been robbed. Apparently, the thief broke in through a window in the back of the room. There was blood on our carpet from where the thief/thieves entered the room. We let the manager know what had happened and the next day he came and a repaired the window. THAT WAS ALL HE DID FOR US!!!! He did not care that we had been robbed and did not even bother sending in a cleaning crew to take care of the blood. We were not the only cabin broken into that night also. The police were notified and were kind but were not hopeful about finding our belongings. It was a horrible stay. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, On
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our stay was problem free, except the parking lot was too tight. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

My husband and I rode up to Abay with my motorcylcle club there were about 26 of us we all stayed at the Boardwalk and had a great relaxing stay . The location is great the staff is nice and Frank the owner is a great guy.Its a great place to kick back and relax.This is the 2nd annual trip and we plan to do it again next year.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — no remote
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrimack, nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Rustic, but clean...work had recently been done in the bathroom and the shower was hot and had great water pressure. The view was great and everyone I dealt with was very accomodating.
If you want fancy, look elseware. If you want a great location and a good time I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — room furnature needs update
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twburkenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

First 15 minutes there the toilet backed up twice and flooded the bathroom. Please stay somewhere else. I didn't believe the reviews... I DO NOW...Our friends had a different room. They felt the same way. My back hurt from the bed for the entire time I was there.

BELIEVE ME......THE OTHER MOTELS ARE A WHOLE DIFFERENT CLASS.

  • Liked — TV actually worked
  • Disliked — Condition of overall motel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fisherman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Motel

Property: Boardwalk Motel
Address: 41 Walton St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1404
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing