We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing& friendly”
Review of Boardwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Motel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxing& friendly”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There were 4 of us in total. My husband, myself and one other couple. Went to Alexandria bay NY just for a relaxing weekend. Weather was great, rooms were clean, a little musty smell but not too bad and the price was great. the beds were very comfortable and rooms were very spacious. Our room had a kitchenette which was very handy. Fridge, microwave, dining table. If you stay here ask for a room over looking the water, or even better ask for room 31 or 30. These rooms over look the docks and have a small deck of there own. You must remember this hotel is one street up from the Main Street, but it is only 2 minute walk, too easy. Our room was $121.00 with tax! Can't beat that. All in all we had a great time, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 30 or 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KdkPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    16
    10
    31
See reviews for
24
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We drove from 4:00 am and arrived at 10:00 am and called just to see if an early check in was possible. It was the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly, and I talked 'shop' with him for a few moments. We were relieved to check in that early and walk our little dogs around with our daughter before we rented a boat
We enjoyed our stay as always, but for the first time (this time) taking our pups
We had an amazing time and appreciate the gentleman letting us in so early. That really made the trip

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

If you need a place to stay for a night or two, it's fine. We stayed in Room 1 and it was sufficient. It's not a nice hotel, it is a relatively clean old, but semi renovated motel probably from 1960's. Totally worth $100 nightly stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 146MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Here is the truth about the place...GROSS IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT! I booked this motel last minute because all of the other places were booked and this place had several vacant room...CLUE #1 I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER! We got the King suite (they call it). I was told there was a kitchette but it turned out to be a microwave, toaster, fridge which is ok but there was a wet bar. I had to sit down on my cooler to wash the dishes. The reception area as well as the room were very old old and dirty and dated. The room's ceiling fan squicked so loud you couldn't use it. The AC unit ran non-stop and old cooled one side of the room. No room service! They asked if we needed anything and just gave us extra towels. We were there 3 nights and they took the garbage once. They even took the extra roll of toilet paper so we had to use kitchen napkins to clean outselves. Our deck was so dirty with cigarette butts, my husband had to clean it himself. The room smelled like cigarettes and dogs since they allow pets. One of the 2 glass doors didn't open. The bed was noisy and too soft so our back hurt. BATHROOM was disgusting!!! The toilet inside hasn't seen a brush in a while. The management was too cheap. We paid $180 a night and they had the nerve to sell us ice for $2.75 which you can find just 2 doors down for $1.50. NEVER AGAIN!!! This motel is worth not even $55 per night. DON'T get ripped off by this piece of crap place. OHHH and the review written by Nolan T must have been written by the owner to try to redeem himself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Freshly updated, clean, and a great view of the castle. Right on the water but close to everything. The motel must have undergone a lot of improvements since some of the other reviewers posted comments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACA220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great view (clear view of Boldt Castle and excursion boats), walking distance to downtown, bbq grills on the dock, great pool, many many upgrades (dock, walk ways, new doors, room I stayed in had been freshly painted with new furniture) from last time I was here...glad I came back! Great price, great service, and a welcoming environment. Worth the stay.

Room Tip: great accommodations for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This "Resort" is a true disappointment. Their website forgets to mention the "overflow" area located across the street from the main "resort", referred to as "The Boardwalk too". When booking this room I was told that I would have a view of the St. Lawrence and Boldt Castle. This could not have been further from the truth because I was in the last room located across the street at "The Boardwalk too". When arriving in the room, the carpet was wet??? who knows why? The toilet plugged both times we used it during our limited stay in this "scum hole". The electric went out when I tried to blow dry my hair at the same time as the A/C being on. There was a bug in my bed when I got in to go to bed for the night. You can see the ground when showering because the drain is not plumbed, instead it drains out on to the ground under the building. This place is a joke!!

DO NOT STAY HERE if you are looking to enjoy your stay in Alex Bay and are expecting comfort, cleanliness, and reliable services. You WONT GET ANY OF IT THERE!!!!

Room Tip: If you do decide to book at this resort, which I strongly recommend that you DO NOT. Make sure to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers_CAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Motel

Property: Boardwalk Motel
Address: 41 Walton St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1404
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing