We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bonnie Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Utica, New york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed there August 17-19th, the last weekend of Pirates Weekend. This IS NOT the Bonnie Castle that Don Cole owned, that's for sure!!!! We had an Obviously a non-updated room. The balcony was so dirty and loaded with cobwebs, a Filthy table on it, dirty mirrors, the jaquzzi's faucets kept falling off and the shower had to bugs in the drain. And it was 02:30 and i Still had dirty towels!!! We checked out after the bugs at 06:00 in the morning. Never got a chance to explain they just took money off the bill. Why wouldn't you want to speak Directly to that individual? Poor customer service and DEFINATELY NOT RESORT MATERIAL!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CakesRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We surely are sympathetic with your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. Yes, you are right we are not the Hotel that Don Cole owned. We are under new ownership and proud of it. We are pleased to say that since the new owners took over, we have replaced all Beds, Linens, TV`s, P-tacs, Desk Chairs and Balcony Chairs. Most rooms have been stripped and painted and some carpets have been replaced. The outdoor pool has been completely re-done and the indoor pool has gone through some major improvements. The old Rum Runner Bar was completely stripped and re-done, a brand new Mahogony bar was placed in along with new stools and tables. Although we have done alot, we know we have alot more to do, but we will get there! We hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    284
    244
    100
    64
See reviews for
282
465
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bonnnie Castle the week of Aug. 21-23. I really didn't want to stay here when I walked downstairs to go to the bathroom(the paint on stairs was all chipped) and 3 saunas were out of order. We had no choice, everything else in the area was booked. The first room they gave us was horrible. The bathroom was small and dark. We upgraded to a delux which was somewhat better. Still for the cost we got 2 full beds. Can it get more romantic for a needed vacation?THE CURTAINS WERE RIPPED IN THE ROOM AND THE VANITY WAS ALL CHIPPED AND BROKEN. We also had to deal with fruit flies.
P.S. To combat the odor in the halls they sprayed the halls with room freshner. It's like not taking a shower and putting perfume on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our Resort. I am disappointed that your stay wasnt the best that it should have been. We are in the renovating stages, many rooms have been re-vamped already with new bathrooms and carpeting. All rooms have new Linens, Beds, TV`s, Desk Chairs, Balcony Chairs and many rooms have been stripped and painted. The new owners took over a year ago and have accomplished soo much already behind the scenes, and now we move forward everyday. We hope that you can look past some of the old problems while we concentrate on moving forward. Please try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

Norwich, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Bonnie Castle for many years. My wife and I went up to A Bay for a quick 2 night getaway. I think that they are doing and OUTSTANDING job at renovating this resort. Our room was in really great shape, very comfortable and quiet. Yes, the balconies are small, the exterior looks a bit dated, but this is an old resort undergoing extensive renovations. We knew this going in, and we couldn't have had a better time. The front desk staff was great, the grounds clean, the outside pool was beautiful. We ate dinner both nights in The Point, and had a great experience both times. The food, even though limited, was great. The service was OUTSTANDING, and the prices very reasonable. People have to understand that this is an older property among older properties, if you know what I mean. If you're visiting A-Bay, that's par for the course. I would highly recommend Bonnie Castle, and can't wait till the next opportunity to visit. Please, keep up the good work and progress.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Andy,
Thank You for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, we are thrilled that you can see our potential as a older property. We are striving towards many renovations and have accomplished many already. Thank you for reccomending us and we look foward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose this hotel primarily because it is within walking distance to the town and they had vacancy. Now we know why...our room was clean, but it seemed as if we stepped out of a time machine and entered into the early 80's. Our sheets and beds were clean and new. They are slowly renovating, but the furniture and bathroom needs to be updated. We had a box tv (a zennith) in our bathroom. We thought it was funny and tried to use it, but the buttons were pushed in and it did'nt work. Upon request, we had an amazing view of Boldt Castle with a balcony. Not all the rooms have a view. The layout is awkward, and when you arrive it feels like you are entering an old boat yard with a rundown motel in the back. Most of the rooms face the parking lot or boat yard. I was speaking to another guest near where our room was located and it turned out they were upgraded because the bathroom in the room above them caved into theirs... Overall, I did have a nice time due to my loving partner and staff. I think they are the only resort (more like motel) with an indoor and outdoor pool (indoor jacuzzi available). The views from the dinning areas are beautiful, but once again I was let down by the decor and smell of mold in the mannor house. The new owners took over the resort only about 2 years ago. It is a large property with much needed improvement. The rennovations are in progress. All the staff including servers in the mannor house, housekeeping, and front desk were friendly and helpful. I don't know if I would return. The price was reasonable only because we had triple A discount. It was midweek and without the card it would have been to expensive for the quality. We booked last minute and we were lucky we found a room during Pirates Week. The town was busy and most of the hotels/motels were booked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLPrieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for trying our Hotel, we are a work in progress. The new owners actually took over a year ago and although much has been done we do know that much is still in need to be done. This property is a very big Beautiful property that has so much character and potential. We are and will continue to make improvements every day. Your feedback is important to us and we do appreciate your comments. Please we hope that you again will visit us to see what we are striving for.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Having spent over 25 years in the hotel industry, I can honestly say this place is a dump. It was smelly, dirty and hasn't been renovated in an age. The bathroom tile is literally from the 60's at best and the Formica counter was a real treat. The overall condition of the resort is poor and the prices are expensive given supply and demand this time of year. While we enjoyed the boat museum, the castles and all the locale had to offer, I would not recommend staying at Bonnie Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Habnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip to Bonnie Castle. I am disappointed to hear of your discontent with your room. From the sounds of the room you describe it definatley was not a renovated room. We are in the progress of moving forward in cleaning the facility up. This is such a beautiful property that fell through the cracks with the previous owner. We are aware of many challenges that are ahead of us, but we are confident that we will accomplish all of them. We already have accomplished much in such little time, i am only sorry you didnt get to see these. Please feel free to contact me so that I may rectify your dissatisfaction.''
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The outside of this hotel is really beat up. It looked like an old motel. We booked a room for $160 a night at this place calling itself a resort. Not so much. A couple of rooms below ours had boarded up windows, the parking lot was all broken up and not maintained. The room itself was nice, but not noteworthy, and certainly not resort material. Upon checking in, we found they did not have our reservation. We booked online, and according to the staff the 'fax didn't come through'. They found our online reservation but had not reserved a room. Nonetheless, they found a room that was the same as what we had booked. The staff did comment with a chuckle, though, that she was glad they weren't busy (customer traffic-wise), I was too, because I didn't want to start my vacation by yelling. The pool area was beautiful, but we noticed that the tile surrounding the pool was EXTREMELY slippery. Not only did both of our daughters slip twice and fall, but several other children did during our stay. And none of them were running. Also, you had to go outside to access the pool from our room. Same with the restaurants and front desk. Nothing was connected. A little inconvenient, since our decision to go to the indoor pool was based on the fact that it was pouring outside. Our mirror closet doors were off the track and kept falling open, the jacuzzi hardware kept falling off. There were 2 nice chairs on our balcony, but there was no clearance to walk in front of them to even sit down. I didn't let my daughters out on the balcony because the railing was very unstable, and there was a quarter inch wide crack where the railing was anchored to the floor. We didn't dine in the restaurant as it was very upscale and not suited to families. They did have another restaurant that was more like a grill/bar but we passed on that so I'm not sure how it is. The grounds are nice to walk, but when you first pull in, it looks a little trashy due to the marina like area, docking, and boat repair. I thought I had made the wrong turn. It wasn't a horrible experience, but it wasn't worth what we paid either. I expected much more for the money. The phrase 'you get what you pay for' did not come in to play here... I wish it had.

Room Tip: Choose one of their 'Deluxe' rooms. They are right next to the indoor pool and open up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mianellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. We are under new Ownership as of a year ago, and although we have accomplished much in the past year for renovations we are aware that there is still much to do. This is a huge property that to say the least fell into some much needed renovations. Both Pools, indoor and outdoor have had extensive work done on them, all beds, TV`s, linens, balcony chairs and P-tacs are brand new. Most Bathrooms and Bedrooms have been stripped and freshly painted along with some rooms have already been re-carpeted. We are and still we be renovating on a daily basis, we are aware of the needed repairs and are working diligently on them. Again Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had booked a 5 night stay at Bonnie Castle but because of my ill health had to go home early, we always go to A. Bay for our summer holidays, this is our fourth time staying here and will not be our last they did a great job on the renos, from the pool to the rooms even the main restaurant they opened up, they cleared around the windows for a greater view of the St. Lawrence River and Boldt Castle, we were there when the place was just packed with a wedding, the service was excellent at reception as there was a line up when we first checked in, we had room 309 which was almost over the main lobby and we didn't hear a thing, the room was kept spotless, they will give us a credit for the nights we didn't stay but paid for, another good thing is they take Canadian money at par throughout the resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip to Bonnie Castle, we hope that you are feeling better and can again return to enjoy the beauty of the Thousand Islands. It is nice to know that you noticed the changes that we are making, we still have more to do but we are a work in progress and we will get there. Again, Thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
551 reviews
10.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Property: Bonnie Castle Resort
Address: 31 Holland St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1098
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands. A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina. Whether you're looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what's new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bonnie Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing