We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonnie Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were meeting up with old friends for the weekend and the weather didn't cooperate. After a near perfect summer in the Thousand Islands, we unfortunately got the rain. We still ended up having a wonderful time spending several hours at the Pointe, the Bonnie Castle's casual bar and restaurant formally known as the Rumrunner. Great service, food and drinks. Every staff member we encountered throughout the resort was friendly and helpful. The Sunday breakfast buffet was delicious and only $10 for all you can eat! The hotel has gone though major renovations and there are still things that need to be done, but what has been renovated has been done top notch. We slept great in the brand new king size bed. I loved the retro feel of this resort and I hope the owners keep some of that in the renovations. This resort has the best views of any Thousand Island hotel with a beautiful view of Bolt Castle from most of the resort. All 10 of our friends that got together that weekend agreed to make it a tradition to go every summer to the Bonnie Castle. I have a feeling we will get a larger group together every year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    285
    247
    100
    65
See reviews for
284
468
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
syracuse, new york
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Forget any reviews written before February 2012 - That is when the new owners have taken over and I have been there 4 times since then and the improvements they have done and are going to do are going to make this the best place to stay in Alexandria Bay.

There is a new outdoor pool, they are going replacing the indoor pool.

The staff is friendly, always smiling and very helpful. The food in the restaurant is very good.

All rooms have new tv's, mattresses, linens, new towels, new air conditioners and heaters.

They clean the outdoor decks and eating areas every morning.

They are bringing back live entertainment.

I can't wait to see what else they plan on doing in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oneburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to see the Scintas at the Bonnie Castle on Labour Day, which by the way was a fantastic show, but I want to talk about the Bonnie Castle. I understand the BC is under new ownership and many improvements are being made which is evident, long way to go though. I think that most of the rooms have been renovated and work is in progress to bring everything up to date. Our package included the meal and the show. The dinning lounge was at full capacity but everything ran smooth and the meal was very good. We had prime rib and I could not get to it all. They did run out of Pinot Grigio which for us wine drinkers was not good. We stayed overnight and the room was priced at $117 after CAA discount which we felt was very reasonable. The balcony furniture is in dire need of replacement. The breakfast buffet was up to par at $10 which included lots of breakfast foods and juices and a bottomless cup of coffee. I am more than willing at this time to give the Bonnie Castle an average review and from what I could see it is work in progress. It will be interesting to see what happens over the next coupe of years and how the renovations continue. For curiosity we will return.

Room Tip: Our group was in rooms 112 to 118 and they were updated. A balcony view of the inland boat slips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skiforfun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I selected Bonnie Castle for our 20 yr. wedding anniversary getaway. The area is beautiful, and the scenery is breathtaking. We basically, paid for "location", and got our money's worth.
The view was exceptional, and everything we wanted.
The hotel is a work in progress, the new owners have spent quite a bit of money to update the hotel, however, it is not quite there yet.
We stayed 3 nights, 4 days in the King - Riverview Jacuzzi room facing Boldt Castle. I viewed the renovations online (facebook), and were told when I called to reserve the room, that the rooms had been updated, (ex. new mattresses, windows, doors etc.) The mattress appeared to be new, there was a flat screen TV in our room, and a very dated small TV in the bathroom, that had quite a bit of the buttons missing. They should just remove that all together... it looks very outdated. Our Jacuzzi tub was missing it's plug. The room also appeard to be clean, however, there was a very large dead bug behind the toilet, that stayed with us the entire time.
For the price we paid for this room, we would have expected the ironing board (economy size) and the iron to be brought to our room when the front desk was called. My husband had to pick both up, since they do not supply these items in the room.
I stayed in the this hotel 20 yrs ago, on a girls weekend for the Pirates weekend, and although the new owners are trying to get things up and running again, the rooms are way overpriced for what you are getting, and I honestly did not see the updates to the rooms. other than what I mentioned above.
Our first 2 nights booked were the "Sweetheart Package". We recevied our chocolate covered strawberries, and bottle of champagne in our room. Very nice.
We had dinner at the Manor House Restaurant the 1st night, the service and food were good. However, the Sweetheart Package, says "dinner for two" but you are limited to $80 for dinner a couple.
The new bar "The Pointe Bar and Grill" closes very early for a vacation spot. After a later dinner (8 pm) on Wednesday, we walked to the bar to find that they were closed. However, on our last afternoon, we visited again, before going into town, and had a bite to eat and a very nice visit with Jennifer, she made the 2nd attempt very pleasurable, and although extremely busy, she took the time to make us feel very welcome. If you visit, make sure you take the time to stop and see Jennifer!
The new pool located on the property, has new concrete and landscaping.
Towels for the pool are also supplied at the front desk, so grab them when you check in!
Unfortuneately, there aren't alot of really nice places to stay in Alexandria Bay, right on the river
so, if you are looking for convienience, within walking distance into town, and a beautiful view of the river and Boldt Castle, your choices are limited.
Alexandria Bay offers quite a few "motels", but not alot of "nice" hotels.
We will visit again, but am hoping that in a few years, this hotel would be up to the standards for the price they are charging for these rooms.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the river, you will pay higher prices for the view. If that isn't importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I don't know where to start, I'll just state FACTS about this place that has no business being open for business YET if ever ... website deceiving, fabricated, sugarcoated. The premise is incredibly run down still, dirty, black mold throughout the bathroom and sink in sitting area, stains on ceilings, rugs, spider webs & eggs all over the very miniscule "balcony" that has a very loose railing. Non working lights in entry to "suite" and I use that term loosely, and balcony. Broken closet, loud a/c, peeling wall border, leaking jacuzzi, shower head with no pressure whatsoever, gap in the steel room door, no dead bolt, very poor tennis court, garbage throughout parking lot, no indoor pool yet it's stated on their website that it would be up and running early July. Not overly friendly and condesending clerks, overpriced menu and not sure our waitress had a pulse. Run down grounds, spider webs in corners of ceilings in the sleeping area, musty smelling hallways, pieces of plasterboard broken off in bathroom cabinet, live wires exposed where balcony light fixture should be. I'm sure I'm forgetting a few things but ... I was so misled by what this place really was that it has made me scrutinize to the fullest everywhere I now entertain the thought of staying at. They may be able to stay afloat in the business if they stick to the marina renters and now with the 4ft. outdoor inground pool maybe that's possible. A 4ft deep end to end inground by the way? why bother ... disgusted at how we were treated when we dare mention the obvious misgivings of this place by the know it all clerk , it's not a resort in any sense of the word ... it's a shame, a lot more money and some tlc before you charge people those ridiculous rates is my best advice to the people putting the cart before the horse with this creepster ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Cally321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

While on a romantic trip to Boldt Castle, we docked our boat across the river at Bonnie Castle Resort. Though they are under new ownership, the place was quite shabby. Our boat slip was rusted everywhere thereby making it impossible to be barefoot and the finger that was for our access was so slim (less than 2 feet) AND we had to jockey around the steel beam to get on the dock! Talk about a tripping hazard and a huge liability should someone get hurt!

Though the marina is making huge changes to the whole property.... this could definitely use some work! The price though was only $2/foot which is a decreased price, probably to fit the quality of the marina, however, I would probably never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slk1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was a suitable hotel to stay at for pirates weekend but there were so many negative things. The front desk staff was not the most helpful, we had to call to get our room cleaned and we never had enough toilet paper, our air conditioner was broken, there was a large dead bug behind our trash can in the bathroom, and almost everything was out dated. It was an over priced room for what we got by far! The beds were comfy though, the room had a nice flat screen, and the bathroom was roomy.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring your AAA card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
559 reviews
10.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.3 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Property: Bonnie Castle Resort
Address: 31 Holland St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1098
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands. A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina. Whether you're looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what's new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bonnie Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing