We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo good”

Thousand Islands Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most breathtakingly beautiful places on earth, the Thousand Islands Region is an international tourism destination located along the eastern shores of Lake Ontario and the St. Lawrence River. It is home to many quaint villages and sits just along the border between the United States and Canada. This region was named after the 1,793 islands that are nestled within this scenic international waterway. With recent advances in cold hardy grape production, the Thousand Islands is quickly becoming one of New York State’s fastest growing wine regions. The Thousand Islands Winery was the first winery in the region and boasts not only multiple acres of vineyards, but also breathtaking scenery, a fun and unique tasting room atmosphere, and of course award winning wines!
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Soooo good”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just to a quick ride from the resort. Why not upstate winery... Stopped for the wine tasting. Very charming place. Staff like family. So polite and nice. Loved the all American story behind it. Nice job I don't care for sweet wine althought most of their wines are sweet to very sweet to my taste. The port is so sweet. BUT... After tasting the driest they produce, I bought an entire case of it and everyone in the office loved it back home. Nuf said. Got some pepper jam and dressing there too. Now don't go drinking up my stash. But you gotta go there or order on line.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Manager at Thousand Islands Winery, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We pride ourselves in excellent customer service so we are exceptionally pleased to hear that your experience with us a great one! We agree, most of our wines are on the sweeter side but we have many wines on the drier side as well. Such as Chardonnay, Merlot, Marquette, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Grigio, Saint Lawrence Red, Gewürztraminer, & Semi-Dry Riesling. We are also happy to hear that your co-workers enjoyed our wines as well and yes, the jams we sell in our tasting room are delicious and make great gifts! Check out our website and see where we self-distribute near you. Thanks again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    35
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love the sweet wine (and now they serve beer)”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our "wine steward" for our tasting was Aaron. He was knowledgeable and our tasting was like attending a wine event. We left with a case. The we got to try their new beers. Though I am not one for specialty and hoppy beers, having the option is nice. My brother-in-law loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Manager at Thousand Islands Winery, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you guys enjoyed your time with us! We recently added our craft beer-tasting room in May of 2013 and we are happy to say that our customers are really enjoying it. It’s wonderful to hear that your brother-in-law loved it as well! We always enjoy accommodating our customers. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent wines and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stopped here as we were visiting thousand islands. The staff was very friendly and helpful on what to choose, giving us a free tasting and explaining things to us. We were invited to stop in the following day as they were having an Oktoberfest party, and it was a wonderful fun time. I would highly recommend stopping here as their knowledge is extensive and the help is great. We will be going here again if we are out that way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Manager at Thousand Islands Winery, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Wonderful! Customer service is our number one priority! We look forward to seeing you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A large variety of tastings available. We did six tastings for one dollar. You had a choice of dry, semi-dry, sweet and semi-sweet in both reds and whites. The staff was very knowledgeable and a free tour was included if you chose to do so. They have a nice assortment of wine related gifts and also offer beer tastings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Manager at Thousand Islands Winery, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our tasting options! We want to make sure that we have something that everyone can enjoy and it’s always wonderful to hear that we are succeeding in our mission. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, we are always here listening! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What the talk of our group. The wine tasting was very inexpensive. They gave our group a private tasting because there were so many of us. What an experience. The wine was very reasonable and the wine was pretty tasty. Depending on what you like of course.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 28Brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thousand Islands Winery also viewed

 

Been to Thousand Islands Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing