We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...”

Thousand Islands Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most breathtakingly beautiful places on earth, the Thousand Islands Region is an international tourism destination located along the eastern shores of Lake Ontario and the St. Lawrence River. It is home to many quaint villages and sits just along the border between the United States and Canada. This region was named after the 1,793 islands that are nestled within this scenic international waterway. With recent advances in cold hardy grape production, the Thousand Islands is quickly becoming one of New York State’s fastest growing wine regions. The Thousand Islands Winery was the first winery in the region and boasts not only multiple acres of vineyards, but also breathtaking scenery, a fun and unique tasting room atmosphere, and of course award winning wines!
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What the talk of our group. The wine tasting was very inexpensive. They gave our group a private tasting because there were so many of us. What an experience. The wine was very reasonable and the wine was pretty tasty. Depending on what you like of course.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 28Brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    36
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful day trip to alexbay! FREE WINE TASTING”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My sister and I visited for the day the winery was a great addition to our little trip. we felt welcomed as soon as we walked in the young lady told us what they offer and then ask us to take us on a tour. after our tour we had 4 complimentary tastings. All of this for FREE! you cant buy good customer service and the staff is knowledgeable and they make you feel at home. what a delightful little place. great.wines too! very impressed by the whole experiance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nyladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great wine, fun activity!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here to break up our day on the water. Not only was the wine surprisingly good, it was a free tasting for wine and they also have a beer tasting as well! All the servers are very experienced and knowledgable
of their spirits. They also have a beautiful property where you can sit outside or meander around after..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet wine”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The friendly staff helps you try different wines and beers. For free you can try 4 wines and then it's more than reasonable to try a few more. I recommend the Delaware wine if you like something sweet. There's also yummy snacks to try and buy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blumvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you are in the Thousand Island region.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you only drink wines that some critic has rated 90 pts or better, this probably is not the place for you. But if you enjoy checking out the local flavors this is a great stop while you are in the Thousand Island region. I actually visited twice in July, once with a group of 9 and another with a group of 13. Once was on the Friday of the 4th of July and the other was a Sunday. Both times the place was very crowded, but the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Since there was no room at the tasting counter downstairs both times they took our group to the upstairs banquet room. There is no charge for the tasting for up to four samples and a small charge if you want to try more. There is also a short tour that is worth the time, there is also no charge for the tour. I enjoyed their wines as did all the people in the group I went with. Most of us purchased a bottle or 2 after the tasting.

I have visited a couple of other wineries in the area and while they were OK, the TI winery is by far my favorite. The staff is great; their wine is as good as or better than the local competition and a better value.

They also have a beer tasting, which I did not investigate, but it is an alternative if a member of your group is not a wine drinker. The only negative I could see is I think individuals under the legal drinking age will be bored, there is not much to keep them entertained.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thousand Islands Winery also viewed

 

Been to Thousand Islands Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing