We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unorganized Ticketing, Great Tour, Beautiful Sights.”

Uncle Sam Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unorganized Ticketing, Great Tour, Beautiful Sights.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really wish you could do half stars. I'd really rank this 3.5.

Buying the tickets: Was a confusing process of nobody knowing when the next boat would be on. Someone told us the next boat was pulling right in (imagine our luck). Except it didn't...and nobody came and told us. Okay so we went back and asked WHEN the real boat we needed would come in, they said oh "4:15 at 4". Okay, well thats odd cause the big sign that tells me the times for boats says 4:30 at pier 5...which was what it ended up being but the fact that we went and had to ask questions a few times and each time got a more confused person and a different wrong answer is kind if ridiculous.

The Tour itself: Pretty interesting, extremely cheesy and who knows how much information people make up on tours like these. It's definitely worth the money to do the two-nations cruise and see all over the bay and a little bit of Canada. There were some awesome birds we spotted along the cruise as well.

Food/Drink: they have a decent drink selection and of course I got a fruity drink with rum but w/out whipped cream. You could really turn this into a booze cruise if you wanted to, the older people in front of us had.

Stops at Boldt castle and you can get off and pay more to tour that, we didn't this time, but it's an option.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    216
    57
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Uncle Sam's Fireworks Dinner Cruise”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Over the 4th some friends, my husband & I went on the Uncle Sam Boat Tours 4th of July Fireworks Dinner Cruise. The food was great - 3 entrees - chicken, London broil & vegetarian lasagna, potatoes, vegetables, free/cheap drinks & dessert. Nice trip up & down the river. GREAT live band - we danced all night (at least when we weren't watching the amazing fireworks or eating yummy food). There was plenty of free parking. The staff were very nice. Handicapped accessible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,149 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
“Second level seating up front”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I took the tour on the second level in the front seats. While most of the passengers in head of us headed up to the very top, we went through the second level to the seating up front. The views were very good from this vantage point. We took the longer tour that goes down the millionaires row of islands, then goes up the channel under the bridge that goes to Canada. The weather was great on the June Friday that we took the tour.

Important note: You don't need a passport to ride the UncleSam Tour boat if you stay on the boat and don't transfer to Canada on Heart Island. The boat does travel into Canadian waterway space, but if you don't get off the boat, you are fine.

Be sure to take the tour of Boldt Castle AND take the $2 extra tour to the Yacht Boathouse. These tours are well worth the cost. If you've toured the castle even a few years ago, there is constant renovation, and the newly finished areas are worth an new visit.

Current renovation activity is being done at the older playhouse castle near the entrance arch to the lagoon (this location is closed to visitors this year).

Back to the boat... my wife and I stayed in our seat the whole time we rode the Uncle Sam tour boat so I don't have any reviews on the snack bar, restrooms, interior spaces, etc... The tour guide does an excellent job describing the passing scenery and he even keeps up to date on the newest construction progress on many of the islands (and the owner's of the newly changed properties).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try to take more than one boat tour”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We so enjoyed being on the river that we took several of their tours. During the first one the guide said they had some seats left for 4th of July fireworks from the water. We had to pay for the cocktail cruise, but the food they served was inviting and varied. And fireworks from the water was a terrific event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mllibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Uncle Sam is the way to go”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took the boat tour to Bolt Castle and Boat House. The boats run every 20 minutes to Heart Island so you don't have to stand in line long. The boats to George Bolts boat house run on the quarter hour from Heart Island. Plenty of seating in the shade so you don't have to stand in the sun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wyles_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Sam Boat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Sam Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing