We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must Do”

Uncle Sam Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UTICA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must Do”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

These tours are a must do when you go to the 1000 Islands. The history behind this area is beautiful and ever changing. Dinner cruise is great. Ther fireworks cruise is fantastic on Forth of July.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank annieglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    216
    57
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouverneur, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great history, need to be more clean”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went in the last week of when they tours were available for the season which was in September. The weather was not the best, it was a bit chilly a jacket would be a must if you plan to do it towards the end of the season. The tour it self was very good and very informative, definitely learned a lot about the Alexandria Bay and the history that surrounds it. The cleanliness of the boats was sub-par they need to take care of the boats to a much better degree. Should it matter that it is in the end of the season for tours, no! They should take pride in them year round. That being said please clean out the cob webs and get the big spiders out of the corners of the ceilings in the boat. Refreshments are available on the boat. They are not amazing by any means, just something to tide you over for the tour. Alcohol was available for a nominal fee. We suggest that you make extra time to stop at the Boldt Castle, lots of history and just a beautiful sight to see. Make sure to bring a camera to take lots of pictures. would definitely recommend this to anyone in the Alexandria Bay area. Check their website though because they do not run boat tours in the winter months.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank McAloon_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good way to see the area”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took the 2 1/4 hour cruise which took us quite a ways. We saw most of the mansions and houses on the islands and the narration included a bit of history. The only down side was that the PA system was on the blink for the first 20 minutes and we missed a lot of the talk.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We took the Two Nations cruise, which was about 2 and a half hours long. It was great fun. The boat has two inside decks with seating in the form of tables and chairs. There is a top deck which is outside with benches. The top deck fills really quickly so head right up if you wish to sit there. There is a refreshment bar with pretzels, nachos, hot dogs, beer and wine. I saw a lot of people bring on food. One family even had a stack of pizzas. The tour guide sits on the top level but you can hear him very well on all decks via the sound system. His patter was lighthearted and informative, although very corny. If you sit inside, it seems most of the interesting stuff is on the left side of the ship so you might wish to sit there rather than on the right. The bathrooms were pretty gross and they need to do some general cleaning but it wasn't disgusting. The views of the homes and the islands were gorgeous, and the cruise will drop you off at Boldt Castle, which is a must see. The cost of the castle is extra and you buy your tickets as soon as you get off the boat, so don't dawdle or you will be in a very long line.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A definite must if visiting the 1,000 Islands”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I recently took the 2 1/2 hour Two Nations Tour which departed at 10am (there is also a 12:30 cruise). Our guide was engaging and provided rich details of many facts and history of the area and the St. Lawrence River. I would go so far as to say that if you have never been to the area, this is a "must do" as it really is a beautiful cruise that gets you out zig-zagging between a great number of islands both large and small. The boat, ours was a paddle wheel steam boat just llike you might find on the Mississippi, stops at Heart Island for those wishing to disembark and take a tour of Boldt Castle which is a separate $8 entrance fee. The castle and grounds should take you at least 2 more hours and then the return 5 minute boat ride back to the dock leaves the castle at quarter past and quarter to the hour. Total time to do both the cruise and explore the grounds - plan on 5 hours. We went out of season - Oct. 9 and did not experience any issue with crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelismygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Sam Boat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Sam Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing