We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing BBQ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coleman's Dock of the Bay

Coleman's Dock of the Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
06484
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing BBQ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went with a large group. Ordered the Beef Brisket. 3 quarters of the brisket was fat. No way the cook (not using Chef for a reason here) did not know he was serving pure fat to the customer. Smashed potatoes were lacking...carrots were probably from frozen. I did not send my meal back, because I was with a large group and didn't want to make a scene...others were disappointed with their food as well. On an upnote our waitress was fantastic and very accomodating such a large group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    45
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good water view - Food is fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had lunch and found the water view perfect. The food was OK for a quick lunch. Wait service was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More of a Bar , Less of a Grill. Mediocre food with Bay Views.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Your options for food are extremely limited in Alexandrea Bay, NY. Which surprises me, in such a tourist area where do the people actually eat. Coleman's Dock of the Bay, doesn't have to do much and hasn't done anything to update themselves in over thirty years. The reason they don't have to do anything in quality or presentation is because they are the only spot directly on the Bay, where you can pull your boat up and park to have a few drinks. It's more a hang out get some beers and bar food. They claim to also be a full on Smoke House. But honestly the smoker gives off a smell of Cow Terds. They should stick to perfecting basics and switch to a better smelling wood for cooking. I don't know why you are serving a New England Lobster style Lobster Seafood Roll. How fresh can this be. How fresh can it be wen every lobster piece looks like a machine cut Lego . The salads need some sprucing up. Give me more then a bag of lettuce and 4 pieces of chicken. I've ordered the salad to be healthy not cheated. Fresh food shouldn't take long to make. But when your defrosting and not cooking that's what happens.
If your going to check this place out or any place in this area. Just realize it's going to be basic and a strange combination of weird NY Upstate non-cultural options. Every place serves Nachos ! Mixed in with some Canadian influences. If your Heath conscious your gonna be disappointed. Plus the entire night life closes up at 8pm. River community my arrse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilson ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

found this towards end of trip.wait staff fun and freindly,food was excellent,prices good conieneint docking.will visit again!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing evening dinner in the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On the water over looking the docks when seated on the back deck. We had Barbaque ribs and pulled pork and chicken, all were very good. Only complaint was no porter beers on tap and the coleslaw had to much mayo for me, but my wife liked it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kvdahlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coleman's Dock of the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Coleman's Dock of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing