We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minna Anthony Nature Center”
Review of Wellesley Island

Wellesley Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wellesley Island is home to a state park, a nature center and museum – with trails taking you through marshland, forest and shoreline – and three golf courses.
Antwerp, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Minna Anthony Nature Center”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great time at this beautiful park. There are several trails to chose from. You get a wonderful view of the river on the Eel Bay trail. The only down side of this trail is that the trail does not loop around. In order to get back you have to retrace your steps. The kids really enjoyed the nature center. It was primitive and minimal but they didn't mind. Nice relaxing day. The park was not busy yet which was also a bonus as well. Definitely a nice day trip with the family! We will be going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on Earth!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been every summer since I was born. The Thousand Island area is just incredible. Crystal clear water and literally thousands of islands. The view from the TI Bridge (US or Canadian span) is breath taking!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank VaBeachTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown,NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wellesley Island”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A couple times a year we visit this island for the tranquility. There is the wonderful Minna Anthony Nature Center located next to the state park. It has miles of really great trails to walk through all types of terrain. My favorite is the trail that follows the river where the path crosses over giant granite boulders left by the glaciers. The state park has lovely beach areas & great places to put a kayak or canoe in. They also have campsites & cabins. We've never stayed there because we live so close by but it is very popular. We also love to visit the town of Fineview. We often stop for a quick lunch (there's only 2 places to eat last we were there) then walk to look at the river and the beautiful homes. Very peaceful and relaxing. We have never visited the other parts of the island.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank littlebirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wesley Island State Park”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed her many times in our 5th wheel travel trailer.. The sites are excellent, Lots of room to manouver. Some are well protected from the winds when they appear on the St. Lawrence river.
The Park Attendants are well versed in what is available in the area. We find them polite and willing to help you out if an extra set of hands are needed.
I would suggest a reservation. Especially in the summer months.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sherdaveBrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to camp.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this State Park in the Fox camping area. We had a site with water, sewer and electric which was reasonably priced at $98.00 for 3 nights. This is the fee for New York residents, I believe the cost is a little more for non-residents.
We noted that sites 24, 26, 30 and 40 are probably the best for bigger campers.
Site #20 is on a hill and very uneven so please keep that in mind when reserving.
All sites in this loop have paved driveways but none are level so plan for bringing blocking for leveling.
We took a ride around the other lots to see what else was available. With over 400 sites, there is something for everyone. The sites by the water were very nice but probably would not accomodate larger RV's easily.
Very clean park and great boat launch area.
The park museum was free and entertained my teenagers far better than I thought it would. What I would have thought would take them 10 minutes to see, took them almost an hour to view.
The hiking trails are great and the maps are very easy to follow.
They also offer cross country ski and snow shoe rentals in the winter.
Definitely will visit again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TheCleaningLady1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellesley Island also viewed

 

Been to Wellesley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing