We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Alexanderia Bay, NY
2 reviews
“Really nice place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Capt's Inn & Suites Wednesday night and found everything very clean and comfortable. We had no complaints. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We purchased the package and were very happy with the deal we received. Sylvia and Bill

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 719SylviaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
45
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for a night while getting our car fixed. Very comfortable room - nice king size bed, clean and "warm" feeling. No coffeemaker, but restaurant just a few steps out the door. Small fridge, hair dryer, flat screen TV, A/C also in room. Very little road noise. Staff was genuinely courteous and helpful. New owners have gone through extensive remodeling and updating. The place is immeasurably better and much more eye - appealing than it was two years ago. One of very few places that stay open year round. Very handy to everything in Islands region. WE'LL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Add a breakfast in their restaurant to your stay. Great food, quick service and reasonable prices. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goirish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embro , ont , canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

When I got there, no one at the office , just a # to call in case of emergency in you were staying at the hotel, it was late so I called the # , a woman answered , i asked if I could get a room , "she said this # is for emergency's " she sounded very rude and like I was bothering her ,
After a few minutes a nice lady came , " not the one that was on the phone " and helped me get a room ,
so after I got back from work the next day ,, no room service no coffee and no phones in the room ??
So whatever I thought , got up the next day grabbed some coffee from the restaurant next store , went to work , got back that day after work , and OMG still no room service ,
So that's it that's all , next time I'll stay in Watertown NY , better amenities,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGThomson2012, General Manager at Capt.'s Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Our front desk is not open 24 hours a day. If a guest is delayed in arriving, we will make arrangements for an after hours check-in. We have a sign on the door which gives an emergency number for "in-house" guests (already checked in) to use in case of a problem. We are an economy level property and as such have limited services available. Coffee is available at the restaurant located adjacent to us.

The reviewer had come in off the road at 11:30pm with no reservation and decided to call that emergency number. We do not offer this late check-in service with no prior reservation even in prime season. We made an exception and called in a staff person to register him for a room. He paid for two nights and said he might be interested in staying a third. He had housekeeping after the first night but did not come into the office on the second day to make arrangements for a third night.

The day of scheduled departure, he left but kept the key. His leaving without returning the key forced us to put the room out of order until we could switch the lockset for security reasons. The room was scheduled for housekeeping once the lockset switchout was complete. At 6:30pm the staff member who had originally checked him in saw his vehicle parked in front of the room he had rented the prior two nights. She knocked on his door and he confirmed he wanted to stay an additional night. She took his credit card, went back to the office and checked him back into that room. His not contacting the office in regards to the third night stay prevented the room from being serviced by housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were looking for a clean, economical place to stay on a Sunday night, and this fit the bill. We paid $64 including tax for a room w. a king size bed, within walking distance (10 minute walk) of the tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Rebecca_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.8 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
550 reviews
10.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.6 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt.'s Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt.'s Inn & Suites

Property: Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Address: 116 Church St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1714 (Formerly Alex Bay Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capt.'s Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capt.'s Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Bay Hotel Alexandria Bay
Alex Bay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing