We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Work in Progress”

Boldt Castle and Yacht House
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.64*
and up
Boldt Castle and Thousand Islands Helicopter Tour
More Info
$216.15*
and up
Thousand Island Helicopter Tour Including Boldt and Singer Castles
More Info
$22.00*
and up
St Lawrence River Cruise with Optional Boldt Castle Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 120-room labor of love was built by a wealthy businessman for his wife.
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Work in Progress”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Having visited Boldt Castle during my childhood, it was great to revisit this year! A lot of work has been completed over the past dozen or so years, including the complete refurbishing of many rooms on the first and second floor of the castle. However, some of my favorite spaces were still the circular rooms and the upper balconies overlooking the river, both of which grabbed my imagination all those years ago.

We used Uncle Sam’s shuttle from Alexandria Bay to reach the island since we wanted maximum flexibility to return to the mainland and had already taken a boat tour from Clayton earlier in our trip. A visit to the castle and yacht house could easily fill a few hours.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugwithwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    316
    58
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Heart is where the home is”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Heart Island a labor of love not quite finished in time.
You can bring a picnic lunch to enjoy on Boldt Castle Grounds.
Take the Uncle Sam Boat Tour to the Island from Alexandria Bay. View the beautiful Gardens and outer buildings as well as the castle. Specatacular stain glass skylight by Grand Staircase. Views from every window, underground tunnels, self guiding walking tour, watch the movie of the Boldt Family.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hobbittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend A Saturday”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

It cost $6.50 per adult (normally $7.00, but received AD Military Discount) to ride the ferry to the island and then $9.00 per adult for entrance into both the Yacht House and the actual "castle." I was a great Saturday. Make sure to read the story behind Boldt Castle before going- although there are several placards around the grounds to help explain different aspects of the home. We went with a stroller and we were well accommodated- whether it be help on and off the ferry or the handy elevator within the home. It really is a gorgeous area, so if you are a picture nut- as I am- make sure to have a fully charged battery and empty memory card (or extra rolls of film). I would suggest bringing a light jacket or hoodie, especially for your children, for the ride over to the island. The river winds can be a bit chilly. The grounds have several picnic tables and well tended gardens and grassy areas; seems it would be a wonderful place for a picnic.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank klherring_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and well done”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The boat trip over was crowded with schoolkids. (Reminder to self - don't go north just before school is out during field trip time!) But Boldt Castle was a great treat. Had been there as a child before any restoration had begun. It is beautiful now. Go to the very top to see how the glass dome is constructed and the unfinished rooms - also in the basement. Be sure to see the short video is a room near the restrooms. The grounds are beautiful, too. We sat on benches under the trees and enjoyed the Seaway traffic.

Helpful?
2 Thank BKBK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“abandoned beautiful building”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I read all the reviews of how amazing this house was. Those people must have really good imaginations. The house is big and beautiful and the grounds are wonderful. However, the the only part of the house that is complete is the ground floor and 2 bedrooms. The tons of other rooms were nothing but bare, vandalized walls. What a waste of money!!! And you have to pay for the boat and admission... to see what?

Helpful?
5 Thank starlight1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boldt Castle and Yacht House also viewed

 
Alexandria Bay, NY
 

Been to Boldt Castle and Yacht House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing