We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for for the price in Udon.”
Review of Karin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karin Hotel
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Udon Thani
Reviewed October 31, 2011

There are two prices for rooms. 700 baht (21USD) in the new building will get a large room with ensuite and fridgid aircon. 400 baht (12USD) will get you a smaller room in the main building.
This is a 2/3 star hotel. Don't expect more and, as always, protect your personal gear.
Lobby has WiFi and loads of mosquitoes at all times of the day.
My room was clean and bug free.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US_Army_Vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Living in Issan Thailand, I often stop in Udon Thani before traveling into Laos for Holidays..

I look for hotels that offer basic amenities, clean rooms, quiet, and nice staff -- all at a fair price. As of 2011, when I rent a standard room (with no breakfast), I now pay about 500thb / $15.00 for a room in the older section... slightly more in for a newer room in the back; however, I have never felt the necessity to stay in the more expensive secton.

Clean rooms, older furniture, clean tile floors, with hot water shower, air conditioning, TV with regional cable, and small refrigerator. The location is excellent near bus, train, and Central Plaza Shopping Mall and a night market.

I have stayed in the hotel many times and never encountered any of the issues mentioned by others in their reviews -- as in any hotel, I always obtain and maintain my receipt for room deposit, key, etc...

The language issues can get confusing but if you have a room deposit / receipt for key, etc, I wonder how anyone could have a problem. If I were to have a "room issue", I cannot imagine the management would not respond. My room maids have always responded to any special requests for cleaning.

The Karin, for Thailand, is a pretty well-maintained older hotel, sometimes used for regional conventions. Because of the limited convention business, it is a good idea for weekend reservations to call in advance -- during the week, no problems getting a room. There is hotel security and parkling lot security within a large parking area.

The staff has limited English but always attempt to assist. If one of the infrequent conventions is taking place on a weekend, you may hear some minor noise as people return to their rooms after the evening meetings.. but never an issue for me or "out of hand."

If you need to catch an evening train or bus, a half-day rate is available with 6pm check out but you need to first confirm this as an available option with staff..

Perhaps, 6 stays here in the last two years.. all meeting my more than meeting my expectations for a clean basic hotel at a fair price....

Room Tip: Any time I travel, I avoid rooms in any hotel near the elevator, (hall traffic to elevator and dingi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AsaSurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

this place is to be avoided, dirty. bad service. cockroaches, lousy food, a , noisy, staff unhelpful

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights while visiting a friend marrying a Thai girl.

For the price, it's not bad, the room is quite big and clean, provided you request a room in the NEW building at the back. Also very quiet.

The lobby is infested with mosquitos at night time though, and it's the only place you can get wifi. Annoying and the hotel isn't doing anything about it. You can get out of the hotel and turn right, walk for a while until you reach the GURU coffee shop, which has free internet.

Management is not very accommodating. I had a problem with electricity in my room, and I asked to be moved in order not to wait for them to fix the problem. They flat out refused even though the new building is pretty much empty of customers.

In the end I remembered that this wasn't BKK and this wasn't a 5 star dig, and I gave up and stopped worrying about the inevitable imperfections. For the price and for Udon (which let's face it, is a bit of a god-forsaken place compared to, say, BKK), this place is pretty a-ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank European_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

used to be a regular, as live in the are and would use when not wanting to drive home. decent value, though many more available now. scammed by reception on deposit and change, obvious lies and deception, with reciept changed. fellow workers in on scam, and of course, multiple attempts to talk w/manager failed.....stay clear of this place

Room Tip: ruysuk, top mansion, tkc mansion, jan condotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loki_UAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This place is a dump plain and simple. Checked in and went to room to unpack. Noticed mini refrigerator was not plugged in so I followed cord through a large wardrobe only to be greeted by a nest of cockroaches. Bad, but not the worst thing. Pulled the sheets back on the bed to be greeted by a combination of ants and bedbugs. Sheets had multiple blood markings on both twin beds in my rooms. Went to front desk with roach in tissue to show clerk. Seemed completely unsurprised and handed me a can of Raid. Changed rooms and checked out following day. The money you save by staying in this garbage can is outweighed by the extermination costs incurred upon arriving home. Unless you're a peasant from SE Asia, or a poor farang looking for hookers, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The rooms we stayed in were surprisingly big for such a low cost, and they were furnished with air-conditioners and mini-refridgerators. There were also a very wide selection of television channels available. 2 bottles of water were provided for each room together with 2 glasses, and the bottles will be replaced each room-cleaning session, so you get a constant supply of bottled water.

However there were a lot of mosquitoes in the rooms, so be sure to apply insect repellent and/or wear clothes that leave minimal skin exposed when sleeping. Hot water for bathing will be available only in the morning and evening, while hot water for drinking purposes can be purchased in the restaurant located at the hotel lobby. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant comes at 80 baht and is pretty filling for an average appetite.

The staff there is approachable and honest. We left some money in the room one morning as a tip for the room-cleaning service staff, but the money was still there when we returned in the night. Still, I would recommend that you keep your valuables with you at all times (there are no safeboxes provided in the hotel), just to be safe.

The hotel is located within walking distance from a shopping mall and a huge night market, as well as various small shops and eateries. Overall, this is indeed a value-for-money hotel experience and I would definitely go back to stay the next time I visit Udon Thani.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohhtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
0.8 mi away
Charoen Hotel
Charoen Hotel
#20 of 56 in Udon Thani
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
UD Resort
UD Resort
#10 of 56 in Udon Thani
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Udon Thani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kitlada Hotel
Kitlada Hotel
#6 of 56 in Udon Thani
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Much-che Manta Boutique Hotel
Much-che Manta Boutique Hotel
#13 of 56 in Udon Thani
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 56 in Udon Thani
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karin Hotel

Address: 37 Wattanuwong Rd, Udon Thani, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Udon Thani
Price Range: $17 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Karin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karin Hotel Udon Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing