We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back to stay”
Review of Ban Chiang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ban Chiang
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Udon Thani
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't go back to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The room smells, bed incredibly very old and too soft, bathroom is nothing fancy tho quite clean, simple breakfast probably because not too many guests here during my stay. I won't go back there if I have other choices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrychick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On first appearance the hotel is very grand even has its own very large wine shop !

The hotel has a very large lobby, banqueting rooms and a large pool (although did not use), coffee shop (50 baht most drinks) and a large dinning room which is where breakfast is severed. Breakfast is buffet style and has a very good selection of Thai and western dishes and they will cook you an omelette fresh.

But having said all of that this hotel is trying to still live on the grandeur of the past I think, this was obviously a high quality hotel in the past but is not at its best anymore.

The reception staff seemed to have forgotten how to smile in the land of smiles and any question was answered in a short reply no extra information supplied just an answer.

The room was large and had all the usual: room safe, TV, fridge, bottled water, arm chairs plus a kettle and cups for making tea or coffee but no actual tea or coffee to make !

I stayed on two occasions in a 7 days time slot and the first room looked like it had not been cleaned fully with a lot of things on the floor as if it had not been vacuumed and an old food bag in one of the draws. They could have done with some kind of booklet to explain what was available in the hotel and how to use the bedside control console for the lights and TV !

The bathroom in room 901 was looking very tired with black mould, cracked and dirty tiles, toilet, tap and shower fittings dirty and lose, even the towels looked old plus hairs on the floor.

Although the second room bathroom was looking better.

The 8th floor is what they call the excutive floor so go for a room on this floor as I think they look after the rooms better here.

Did not try the restaurant or café and they charge for WiFi.

Location was about the best thing for this hotel with plenty of local food stalls and a night market just a short walk away plus a couple of shopping malls a tuktuk ride away, ask for a town map from reception when you arrive

It’s a nice hotel for 1000 baht a night but the room cleanliness lets it down badly and so for the price it’s an average hotel and if only want a single or couple of nights then its ok for the price but for longer you can find better in Udon Thani.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed there last week only one night, myself and wife 1300 one night, ok not expensive but will never stay again. Stayed there 4 times in last 2 years, but now its so run down, rooms smell bad, air con no good , balcony windows dont open,carpets covered in cigarette burns, and dirty. Wi fi , forget it pay 100 baht but keeps disconing, if you can get a signal.
Breakfast very average, swimming pool big but need a voucher from reception, tiles missing, alot, basically in very bad shape.
There are many new hotels in Udon for the same money, and ten times better ! This hotel is out the way and doomed, sorry but they aint invested anything back in to this hotel for years.

Room Tip: Avoid it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udon Thani hotels

Baden-Baden, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is probably the seediest and most awful hotel I've ever stayed in. I should note that I travel frequently, especially in Asia, so that I can compare. However, Ban Chiang was the worst I've ever been in.
1) They insisted in prepayment in full, although we had several major cards
2) Even the so-called "WiFi internet" must be paid daily in cash
3) Most staff does not even speak basic english
4) Rooms are shabby and worn out. Reasonably clean, but no upkeep for ages
5) Furniture is wobbly, outdated and uncomfortable
6) Pool is across the parking lot, only 3 deckchairs usable. the other dozen is broken. Staff pretends not to understand when asked politely for something (and yes, I DO tip for service, LOL)
7) Breakfast isn't worth getting up for. Dishes not all too clean, selection pretty limited, service non-existent
8) Room phones work only occasionally
9) WiFi internet is hardly usable. Permanently logs out users, is unsecured and doesn't allow VPN use. CRAP.
10) Bathroom can be best described as "yuckie". Repairs with different types of tiles, lots of silicone and plaster, residue of black moldy spots. Pipes leaking. Tub small and shower in tub, unfit to be used for people over 5 ft / 160 cm
11) TV approx from 1980, no HBO or alike available
12) For a daily rate of about 1100 Baht for a deluxe room it's not worth it.
I've stayed in pleasant 2-star accomodations, but this 3-star is really the seediest place I have ever been. The 3-star Napalai Hotel in Udon (which was booked out) is also well-worn, but with acceptable service and working equipment as well as edible food and nice pool.
The Ban Chiang can be recommended only for by-the-hour use, if at all.

Room Tip: Choose Napalai Hotel or President Hotel when in Udon Thani
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel has a good name, easy and free parking at the back next to the swimmingpool
The pool is big but not heated, so in the colder days you will feel the water is cold, but in the most time it is comfortable. some locals and school swimming going on.
The hotel is international and good english speaking, a little outside the city center, so you will have to taxi. rooms are ok, but starting to get dated...The food is in a building next to the hotel, breakfast buffet, standard but ok, and dining outside is just ok, a little choice and most of the time no people... sometimes live music in the lobby, piano...
Tip, outside in the evening there is nothing to do..... or the spa in the basement...
Go at about 18:00 hrs look outside at the big tree, thousands of brids wil swerm around it finding a place to sleep a nice sight...
Greetings A.P.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is a huge hotel in the centre of Udon Thani with airport pickup free if you ask for it. The rooms are good for one night stop over but the enormous restaurant is full of mosquitoes and the food - although the selection is large - is poor. The windows in the rooms are completely sealed and therefore it smells a bit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We always stay at this hotel. It is a few minutes walk from Prajak Park which is a great place for people watching and exercise, especially in the evening. It is also close to Udon Thani's finest restaurant "Good Everything". The hotel itself is a bit faded and in need of updating, but everything works and there are some English cable stations. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are top notch - very comfortable. Breakfast is adequate, if uninspired. The hotel has a Wine Cellar which is amazing, and we get wonderful, well-priced bottles of wine to take to dinner with us each evening. There is local transport (tuk-tuks) right outside the door, and a 7-11 right across the street to stock your minibar. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
1.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 54 in Udon Thani
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Udon Thani
3.2 mi away
Panya Resort Hotel
Panya Resort Hotel
#19 of 54 in Udon Thani
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Napalai Hotel
Napalai Hotel
#42 of 54 in Udon Thani
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Much-che Manta Boutique Hotel
Much-che Manta Boutique Hotel
#12 of 54 in Udon Thani
35 reviews
1.9 mi away
UD Resort
UD Resort
#10 of 54 in Udon Thani
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Chiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Chiang

Property: Ban Chiang
Address: 5 Mookmontri Rd | Amphoe Muang, Udon Thani 41000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Udon Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ban Chiang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ban Chiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Chiang Hotel Udon Thani
Ban Chiang Udon Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing