We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Good Location and Clean.”
Review of The Pannarai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pannarai Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Udon Thani
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Location and Clean.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for just the 1 night en-route back from Vientiane in Laos, and compared to that hotel, this was a nice welcome back to clean, friendly modernity. The hotel is located in the centre of the city/bar-district. It also had a lovely pool, which I was lucky to have to myself for most of the day.

The room was a decent size, with all I wanted including free water and WiFi (but no Iron). Nice large shower (once you have figured out the strange tap/knob arrangement), clean, comfortable bed and no noise.
I found the staff to be very professional and friendly, and a nice bonus was to discover that they have free transfer back to the airport (book the night before though).

If I were staying in Udon-Thani again, I would come straight back to this hotel, and at $57, was good value. So, based on the price and service, I’m giving this top marks (and I don’t do that often).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilloAido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    127
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
34
89
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Considering this is up country, this place is really good value for the money. Are there cheaper places in Udon? Certainly. Here you have a staff at the front desk that seeks to really do a professional job. Rooms are impeccably clean. Breakfast is fine. If expecting Marriot level spreads not there yet but comparing with the Centara this place is at or above that standard. Only complaint is the walls are paper thin. As long as you have good or no neighbors it is fine.

Room Tip: High floor seems to be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchmanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice hotel which is fairly new.
The rooms are good with very comfortable beds.
There is a "bar" area next door but we noticed no noise from there in our room.
The hotel was only let down by the breakfast during our stay. It was terrible and the staff, unlike the rest of the hotel, not that good either. This was the opinion of all our party of seven people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a street with budget accommodations which are five times cheaper, with a very small loss of quality, the Pannarai stands out from the others. Luxury accommodations are typically a better value here than in many western countries in general, but comparing luxury and budget accommodations within Thailand can provide a wide spectrum of prices to choose from. The Pannarai has all the comforts of a four star hotel for around $50/night. Sounds pretty good at first, until you consider that within a 5 minute, you could arrive at a few hotels that offer all the comfort without the glamour for about $10

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

New and well put together. Rooms are good size and the bed is very good. Bathroom is well equipped; make sure you shut the shower door when you turn it on or you'll flood the floor. The staff all seem to be well trained and friendly. Breakfast is good. The pool is a relaxing spot. I found the palce to be quiet, despite being on the side facing the Day Night Beer Bars. Location is central. Overall a top option in Udon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Going on the service and quality of the breakfast I could safely recommend this place to stay and if it weren't that I love the Irish Clock I may stay here. It has a great pool, gym and we were welcome to use there facilities at a small cost. BF was 150 baht, pool and gym 200 baht. The location is not red light district as I read in other comments but it does have bars that go through the night and can be fun and otherwise is a great location to markets, shopping centre, and railway station

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank callatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is very overated, right in the middle of the red light area and the food is terrible, avoid.The rooms are very small and the sound proofing is minimal. If you like the sound of activity in the ajoining room and bar girls at the adjacent table for breakfast this is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Udon Thani
0.7 mi away
Brown House Hotel
Brown House Hotel
#3 of 53 in Udon Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kitlada Hotel
Kitlada Hotel
#6 of 53 in Udon Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Prajaktra Design Hotel
Prajaktra Design Hotel
#5 of 53 in Udon Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.8 mi away
UD Resort
UD Resort
#9 of 53 in Udon Thani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 53 in Udon Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pannarai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pannarai Hotel

Property: The Pannarai Hotel
Address: 19/8 Sampantamit Rd, Udon Thani 41000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Udon Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pannarai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pannarai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing