We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to complain about this place”
Review of The Pannarai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pannarai Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Udon Thani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Considering this is up country, this place is really good value for the money. Are there cheaper places in Udon? Certainly. Here you have a staff at the front desk that seeks to really do a professional job. Rooms are impeccably clean. Breakfast is fine. If expecting Marriot level spreads not there yet but comparing with the Centara this place is at or above that standard. Only complaint is the walls are paper thin. As long as you have good or no neighbors it is fine.

Room Tip: High floor seems to be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchmanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice hotel which is fairly new.
The rooms are good with very comfortable beds.
There is a "bar" area next door but we noticed no noise from there in our room.
The hotel was only let down by the breakfast during our stay. It was terrible and the staff, unlike the rest of the hotel, not that good either. This was the opinion of all our party of seven people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a street with budget accommodations which are five times cheaper, with a very small loss of quality, the Pannarai stands out from the others. Luxury accommodations are typically a better value here than in many western countries in general, but comparing luxury and budget accommodations within Thailand can provide a wide spectrum of prices to choose from. The Pannarai has all the comforts of a four star hotel for around $50/night. Sounds pretty good at first, until you consider that within a 5 minute, you could arrive at a few hotels that offer all the comfort without the glamour for about $10

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

New and well put together. Rooms are good size and the bed is very good. Bathroom is well equipped; make sure you shut the shower door when you turn it on or you'll flood the floor. The staff all seem to be well trained and friendly. Breakfast is good. The pool is a relaxing spot. I found the palce to be quiet, despite being on the side facing the Day Night Beer Bars. Location is central. Overall a top option in Udon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Going on the service and quality of the breakfast I could safely recommend this place to stay and if it weren't that I love the Irish Clock I may stay here. It has a great pool, gym and we were welcome to use there facilities at a small cost. BF was 150 baht, pool and gym 200 baht. The location is not red light district as I read in other comments but it does have bars that go through the night and can be fun and otherwise is a great location to markets, shopping centre, and railway station

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank callatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is very overated, right in the middle of the red light area and the food is terrible, avoid.The rooms are very small and the sound proofing is minimal. If you like the sound of activity in the ajoining room and bar girls at the adjacent table for breakfast this is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was back in the Pannarai after almost a year for celebrating the Songkran festival in Udonthani. About the hotel:
Pro: Location. Next to the Central Plaza mall. There is a small shortcut via the beergarden that even did get you come over dry to the mall and back during the festival
Pro: Staff. I found the staff fairly professional and cooperative, taken into account that Udonthani shall be compared to a city like Bremen in Germany, or Arkansas in the US. So do not expect IHG or even NH standards.
Pro: Nice and clean swimming pool, though the number of chairs is limited
Pro/con: Room. I was in standard room. Really spacious enough with a comfortable kingbed. I was however at the side of the beergarden and the noise from there may be disturbing to guests that need to sleep early. I was not really disturbed by it since I either was too tired to hear it, or I was joining some party in the city. It remains a pity that there is no warm water at the sink (but there is in the shower)
Con: I do not blame the staff that I dealt with for it, but they couldn't find back my reservation through Agoda. Somewhere it got lost although I booked some weeks in advance. Apparently this was also the reason why I had no pick up from the airport ( my extra costs now with a shared minivan were only 80 Baht though) and that they could not give me a room at the other side of the hotel, with less noise from the beerbar. But again, I didn't bother the noise as much as I feared.

All in all another good experience in the Pannarai!

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a beergarden situated next to the hotel which produces a lot of noise at time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spionnetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Udon Thani
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 56 in Udon Thani
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Prajaktra Design Hotel
Prajaktra Design Hotel
#6 of 56 in Udon Thani
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brown House Hotel
Brown House Hotel
#3 of 56 in Udon Thani
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kitlada Hotel
Kitlada Hotel
#7 of 56 in Udon Thani
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
UD Resort
UD Resort
#12 of 56 in Udon Thani
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pannarai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pannarai Hotel

Address: 19/8 Sampantamit Rd, Udon Thani 41000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Udon Thani
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pannarai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pannarai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing