We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laoliang Island Resort
Saint Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It could have been...”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

What can I say...The island is a beauty, with small beach and gorgeous cliffs(climbing spot),perfectly clear water fine for snorkeling, but the resort itself...First of all, the staff, far too numerous and very loud, not leaving you any chance for privacy, or even for decent sleep.They start to shout 6.30 am, and don't stop till late evening, obviously they can't even imagine somebody wishing to have a day nap, for instance.When our 3 year old daughter was having her after lunch rest, we had to be on duty, not letting these guys(and girls) to come too close to our tent. So we came for isolation and silence, and found a scout camp.Then, the tents: we are used to camping back home, but the mattresses...I'd better slept on bare earth, really.The food(included) is poor, one day at lunch we had soup with boiled eggs, and at dinner boiled eggs stewed with onion-that was funny(I understand that fresh eggs brought from mainland can not stay fresh forever, but soup with boiled eggs-ha-ha-ha).One may think:I'm on the island in the middle of sea, full of all kinds of fish, why not eat a fresh BBQ instead of rice, cooked with frozen chicken?On the other hand(or side:) I must admit that toilets and showers(of course shared) are quiet nice, though the water is cold.
Taking into consideration all above, the price of 3000baht for day for three of us was way too high.
Maybe Laoliang resort had better times, but for us it was really disappointing experience.
P.S.There are scorpions and scolopendras, so be aware, for some reason they tend to crawl into tents and hide in clothes.
P.P.S.The one hour longtail ride from Had Yao costs 2500baht, be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tania_Deroberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have just returned from a week's honeymoon on Laoliang and I'm still smiling ear to ear from the experience. This is a beautiful island which has managed to avoid the mass tourism which has reached many others. The island is tiny and you spend most of your time on a small but stunning stretch of beach. Every which way you look, it's beautiful. The water is crystal clear and you only have to swim a few meters to be surrounded by fish, crabs and birds. There are kayaks and snorkel gear which you can help yourself to and the staff can organise fishing and snorkel trips on request.

We are climbers and loved the routes here. The rock is not polished as it is elsewhere in Thailand and it's really exciting - we heard it described as 3D climbing because of all the interesting features. Plenty of routes ranging from grades 5 to 8 and they even have gear to lend you if you don't want to carry it with you.

The acccommdation and facilities are basic but clean and adequate - spacious tents with electricity (fans, lights); very clean bathrooms (with cold water); and simple but tasty Thai food served twice daily. We also spent many a fun evening at the island's only bar (a shack with an honesty book) chatting with all sorts of interesting people staying on the island, before stumbling back to our tent under a blanket of stars.

Don't come here if you find it hard to part with creature comforts, if you need lots of bars, restaurants or organised activites to keep you amused - there are plenty of other islands in Thailand which will offer you that. But do come here if you get a kick out of being surrounded by stunning natural scenery, enjoy outdoor activites, can keep yourself busy, are happy to go back to basics and keep things simple, and want to find a corner of Thailand that feels at once untouched and comfortable. It's not a conventional honeymoon destination but with such breathtaking surroundings and the relaxed vibe, we really didn't miss room service or hot water.

Thank you to all the staff at Laoliang for making our honeymoon so unforgettable. Can't wait to go back next season.

Vanessa & Ross

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our 3 nights on Laoliang island were a highlight of our trip. When we first arrived it was a little disorienting. The "island" is more like a rock with a beach on it. You can see from one end to the other. At first we weren't sure what we would do for 3 days. Everyone there which included a few climbers were very relaxed and laid back. When we asked the staff what time lunch and dinner were served we were told sometime around noonish and sunset and to just keep checking back. For people who are used to being on a schedule were weren't sure how to handle this. But by the next day the island had worked it's magic on us. We were able to unwind and stop checking our watches for the time. Anyone who climbs will love this place but even for our group of non climbers we enjoyed ourselves snorkeling and kayaking to the even more deserted island only 15 minutes away (which has better snorkeling). 3 days here was perect. They were building the new pavillion near the water when we arrived which is where dinner will be served (less mosquitoes than were we were eating under the trees) And we were able to help ourselves to drinks at the small bar anytime we wanted. You really need to like Thai food since it's served for every meal except breakfast which included peanut butter, eggs and pancakes. The cold showers can be shocking since there's not hot water but it's pretty much pointless to try to stay clean when your camping in a tent near the beach, sand ends up everywhere no matter what you do. Also beware of the sand flies on the beach. They are tiny black winged things that you do not feel biting your but the next day you will have an itchy bump. After an afternoon laying on the sand we realized only to late we each had about 50 bites. I recommend pulling one of the plastic chairs down to the sand to sit on. This is definitley not a luxury trip but it was just what we were in need of, a true getaway....a deserted island. This place will stay with us for a long time and was definitley a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Seems everyone on the island wakes up early so there's no hope of sleeping in but the farther do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This isn't a hotel! It is a private, tiny, national park island off the port of Hat Yao port (Trang) which is the home to a little resort of 20-ish tents. This was the perfect was to escape the touristy crowds of southern Thailand - we LOVED it! The beach was lovely and the sea crystal clear (much better vis than some of the other islands).

Of course, it all depends on what you are expecting. The resort is advertised as luxury camping.... which in my mind (after camping in the UK) is true... The tents are spacious, with 2 rooms, [proper matresses, electricity, a light and a fan. Be sure to pay the tiny bit extra for the sea view tents (literally 5m from the sea).

The toilet and shower blocks have been newly developed - and are inkeeping with the surroundings... ie. stone flags on gravel floor to stand on, and cold showers.. but there are clean, proper flush toilets. Just be sure to take a torch if you need to venture there in the night!

Yes - there are creepy crawlies so don't go there if you can't stand a few ants but to be honest I didn't see any more than I would have camping in the UK.

Initially you might think it is a bit pricey for Thailand. We paid about £40 a night for 2 of us.... but that included access to the snorkelling equipment and kayaks plus 3 set meals a day of tasty local food. There is a cute little beach bar with an honesty book, a little massage platform, and plenty of hammocks for chilling out.

If you want to get a bit more active - we would definitely recommend the snorkelling trip. About a 20min long tail boat away - and saw some amazing fish... even a little black tip shark! You can also see some pretty impressive things just snorkelling off the beach. You can also do rock climbing.

The staff are great... especially Mike - an American guy who lives out there! Very helpful!

All in all, can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmyleeds82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We spent one week on in Lao Liang Island Resort over X-Mas and had wonderful time at this remote and amazingly beautiful island.

In the beginning we were a bit disappointed by the "resort" itself as I expected a bit more than the nice base camp it turned out to be. It has very simple ordinary tents (no safari style tents, I stayed in many tented lodges before in various countries) very close to one another, simple but clean shared bathroom facilities. Basically like being on a rather simple campground with food being prepared for you. But this base camp is in the most gorgeous setting with wonderful beach and views and it was a paradise for our kids who could roam around freely. We really loved the beach, the view of the cliffs with climbers, the open "cave" at the end of the beach which gave us shade in the morning, the snorkling right off the beach and the freedom of a very informal and relaxed place.

We thought that for the price paid a lot was included because all food is provided for including crackers and toast all days as well as unlimited water, milk for the kids, tea & coffee. We got to use the kayaks and had a great time. the snorkling trip was beautiful and we actually found the snorkling both on Lao Liang South and at the other island in the marine park (their standard snorkling trip) truly amazing with wonderful underwater coral worlds.

However there also were quite a couple of things that we disliked and I guess many of them would not have mattered as much had we stayed only 3 days and not an entire week over X-mas.
- there is no pretty furnishings or decorations in the simple tent, nor nice mats/cushions/chairs for lounging in front of your tent. There is not even the most basic "room service" (there is not even a broom to get sand out of the tent and believe me, there is tons; nor are your bins emptied regularly, not even the ones in front of the tents). The entire place is much simpler and plain than the nice pictures on the resort website suggest, It is a ordinary tent with 2 mattresses, a half broken lamp and a fan.

- the eating area was considerably dirty during our time here, in the end I washed all tables myself with water and soap because they were so grim dirty and obviously had not been cleaned with water and soap in weeks. at least. Kitchen is also not for the faint hearted (not even well travelled ones). Bathrooms were clean but there is no soap nor towels provided and in fact I am sure (and saw) that no kitchen staff or other staff ever washes their hands with soap after toilet. Two of our kids picked up a tummy bug there as the only place in otherwise very clean Thailand. We complained about it and it seems the manager wants to look into the matter and maybe it was only a temporary issue.

- the island felt really remote to us, which we had hoped for, but in fact it also was a bit scary with small children, in particular since there really is only the one ferry a day and the resort's boat is really bad. We got absolutely soaked anytime we went out snorkling and I really would not have wanted to go to the mainland in that boat in an emergency. So I think this is a place for rather adventurous parents only. For us it was a great place overall. But borderline remote. Ferry trip to Langkawi was really tedious and exhausting with the kids on the way back. You have to climb various times across various longboats on on sea, change at Lipe and in the end wait for more than an hour for your passport after arrival.

- our special charter boat trips were amazingly zero service. in our case as our guide did not speak a single word of English and did even try to communicate in any other way with us, he just set off to snorkel by himself, nobody ever helped us with getting in and out of the water, no snacks, drinks offered or anything on boat, boat very plain and not at all sheltered and one of the boats even without shade. there are no fins in the resort, but snorkels are good. Clearly the lousiest boat trip service in 1 month Thailand. But by far the most beautiful snorkeling, so overall it was really great. Still hope they would improve service a bit. Trips with Laurence (the nice manager) aboard are certainly much better in service

we booked via andamanadventures.com and Simon was really helpful in preparation and also after the trip. He even updated his website to reflect some of the feedback and included some of the not-only positive aspects of the resort so that visitors have the right expectations and then enjoy this very special place thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank organicfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This isolated island is a great place to relax or climb. It is easy reachabel by Tigerland ferry or private longtail ( 1500 TBT from Libong) The staff is really nice and helpful. You live in quite comfortabel tents. Basic but clean and allright. The beach is a 300 m of sand and behind is the large limestone cliff. The cliff shdes the sun after three o clock and the tide makes swimming a bit limited. We didn´t have any jellyfish or mosquitos Snorkeling is ok but not fantastic. But if you seek a different experience relaxation or if you are a climber it´s great. Went ther with my 17 y old daguther and she got very restless because ther was not much to do. But thats teenagers. Food is ok but not fantastic. Evenings and social life and massage were great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pelleper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Excellent warm and friendly staff from around the world. Fantastic island for kayaking and climbing. Food was not great but OK. Bathrooms excellent, tents a little old and not as nice as they look on the website but comfortable nonetheless. The number of jelly fish made swimming or snorkeling problematic but I don't know if it's always like that or we had bad luck. Overall we were very satisfied with our experience. The atmosphere is particularly good and we had a great time climbing and relaxing. The island itself is a very special place to stay, with its single beach surrounded by cliffs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trang Province hotels
19.2 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
19.1 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
9.8 mi away
Yataa Island Resort
Yataa Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Palian
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
Andalay Beach Resort Koh Libong
17.6 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laoliang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laoliang Island Resort

Property: Laoliang Island Resort
Address: Kho Laoliang, 92120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Trang Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laoliang Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Laoliang is a small island 20 kilometers offshore in the Koh Petra Marine Park, in Trang Province, Thailand. Koh Laoliang is a place of unspoiled natural beauty - no trees were cut down and almost no concrete was used in the resort's construction. Laoliang combines peace and relaxation with adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laoliang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing