We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out for the family!”
Review of Phuket Sail Tours

Phuket Sail Tours
Ranked #2 of 36 Tours in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phuket Sail Tours is a family run business with over 13 years experience in Phuket, Krabi and Khao Lak. We offer a range of high quality tours to Phi Phi and Phang Nga Bay. We keep the number of guests on each tour low, we do not over crowd our boats. Activities include snorkeling, canoeing, caving, swimming, beach picnics, relaxing and more. All year round. We have sought the best places and know how to avoid the crowds. Our tours can only be booked directly with us, we do not work through any agents. We hope to see you aboard!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We did the Phang Nga by speedboat tour and loved it! Early start leaving at 6:45am but it's a fair drive away. We didn't actually leave for the tour till 9am but it was all action from that point on.
Lovely trip with Sunny as our guide and a nice bunch of people on our speed boat. 16 in total. We called into many islands and viewed James Bond island from afar which is definitely enough.
We absolutely loved Panyee Island - the island built on stilts with their own football field. This was our lunch stop too. Please watch the YouTube video on their web page before you go about the local soccer team - just makes it so much better when your there.
After a delicious lunch you have some free time so the girls went to shop in the small markets (cheaper prices than Phuket for us) and the boys went straight to the school and the football field. They asked to borrow a ball from the teacher and within a minute had 15 little boys running out to play a game with them - absolutely the highlight of our tour!
I would recommend the tour. Captain Mark runs the company and seems very knowledgeable but he was on another boat. I don't think it made a difference to our trip as we had a great crew helping us.
By the way - you are fed all the time! And plenty of cold drinks available whenever you feel thirsty.

1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainm, Owner at Phuket Sail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hello Anne, nice to hear from you. It was a pleasure to have your family along. I am glad that kids enjoyed the tour, and the football, so much. Thank you for letting us know, I will pass your comments on to Sunny.

Good advice about the YouTube video, it really is a fascinating story and a great introduction to the village. We send the link in each booking email, I guess more than half our guests watch it.

We have had a lot of good feedback about not going ashore at James Bond Island. Once people see the crowds and the stalls, they are happy to take their photos and move on to the better places we like to show them.

I hope you make it back this way, and maybe we will see you aboard again.

Happy sailing,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,923)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Sail Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,788 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

As most other TA reviewers have commented this outfit is top notch. Its professionally run, but still manages to provide a very friendly atmosphere during the trips, as they keep the tour groups small. We did both the Phi Phi Island Snorkel & Sightseeing Tour - by Speedboat, as well as Explore Phang Nga Bay by Speedboat Tour.

We were possibly unlucky that the sea was rough when we went to Phi Phi. It took an hour to get to the first spot and riding along the rocky waves, with frequent gusts of sea water spray from the ocean was not the most enjoyable experience, especially for my 3 year old. I also found that the snorkeling at Phi Phi & Koh Yoong were nothing to write home about - Just OK, not really spectacular. Thankfully the weather had calmed down on our way back.

Phang Nga Bay trip was much more nicer, as the ride from the Marina is through more sheltered waters through the bay. The activities are much more diverse than swimming / snorkeling as with the other trip. The food served on board as well on the islands, for both trips, was excellent. The crew were very hard working and friendly.

Overall, something I would recommend to would be travelers to Phuket.

Thank Sreevals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainm, Owner at Phuket Sail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hello Sreevals, and thank you for the nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your tours with us.

Sorry that Phi Phi wasn’t all that you hoped for. I am guessing that on the day if the wind was strong our choices for snorkeling spots may have been limited. On the other hand it is good to hear how much you enjoyed the Phang Nga bay trip.

The food on both our trips is certainly a highlight, we really try to provide the best food we can. Thank you for enjoying.

Overall, we are very glad that you had a ‘Wonderful Experience’. We are pleased to hear it.

All the best,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family of four (11 year old daughter and 13 year old son) took the Phang Nga bay tour yesterday. We've been in Thailand since December 20th. First five days in Bangkok and the past four or five days here in Phuket. The highlight of our Bangkok visit was the floating market (among many other amazing sites and experiences) and our highlight here in Phuket was our tour yesterday with Phuket Sail Tours (Mauy Thai Boxing was a close second- great experience). Phuket Sail tours does a great job! We're staying at the Avista Hideaway Resort so we were the first pick-up and the last drop off. A long day! Pick up at 6:30 AM and drop-off at 6:30PM but it was so worth it! Our guide was Sompong and he was very engaging and entertaining. He has a ton of experience with this tour so he was always helping us find the perfect backdrops for our photos! He had some great ideas like how he had the kids jumping off the boat and they appeared to be floating in the air with magnificent scenery in the background. He also took our camera and took a bunch of pictures for us so we could all be in the shot. I have to say though that one of the best parts of the trip is that we had a great group on the tour. Including our family of four from Philadelphia, there was a lovely (and funny) family of six from South Africa, two young American teachers who are currently teaching in Jakarta and a very sweet and well travelled lawyer from Mexico. We all enjoyed each others company and that made the day even more special. The kids loved canoeing through the caves, jumping off the boat and just the feel of the speed boat as we flew from point to point. My son is a soccer fanatic so he loved the island village of Panyee. You've got to check out the youtube video called "TMB Panyee FC short film" about how in the 1980's a group of boys from this tiny rock in the middle of nowhere were inspired to form their own little football club. We had lunch on Panyee and it was delicious. I don't usually expect much out of tour lunches but this was one of the best we've had. Great variety and most importantly the food was excellent. I enjoyed the the curry chicken, cashew chicken and shrimp tempura and appreciated that there were foods my kids would eat... including french fries!! We had read other great reviews about Captain Mark and Phuket Sail tours here on tripadvisor. When we booked the tour we requested that Captain Mark be our guide. Unfortunately he wasn't available because he was already taking another group. Turned out absolutely fine though and we loved Sompong. We also bumped into Captain Mark from time to time as our stopping points overlapped and he went out of his way to engage all of us and to make sure we were seeing everything we wanted to see and enjoying ourselves. Thanks Phuket Sail Tours. Well done!

1  Thank fxmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainm, Owner at Phuket Sail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Ahoy FX, and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I don’t think you have left anything for me to say. The trip, the food, the scenery, the crew.…you have covered it all!

I will tell Sompong how much you enjoyed the tour. He will be pleased to hear it.

It was a pleasure to meet your family. I hope you make it back this way, and maybe we will see you aboard again.

Happy traveling,
Mark and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great time on this tour and Capt Mark has a knack for picking the right times to head in and out of the different bays
He has a laid back Aussie attitude. The boat was not crowded at all unlike nearly all the others out there from what we could see. A great mix of people on our tour. We were the only Aussies and that was great talking with other nationalities and getting their stories of travel also.
Will and have recommended to others!
James & Zoe

Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainm, Owner at Phuket Sail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hello James and Zoe, thank you for the very nice review. It is good to read that you enjoyed the trip to Phi Phi. One of the many pleasures of running tours is the opportunity to meet people from other cultures.

Yes, we keep the number of guests on the boat low. Even though most of our boats are licensed for 23 people or more, we aim to have 18 people, 20 at the most. This leaves more room for comfort on the boat, and allows us to provide a more personal service.

Thank you for recommending our tours to others. We hope to see your friends aboard.

All the best,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is truly an excellent experience for anyone looking to spend a day in Koh Phi Phi. They take you to all the places you'd want to see at times of the day when that area isn't busy. It felt like as soon as certain areas were showing signs of a crowd, we would move on. The staff were great, the lunch was AWESOME, and the sights were stunning.

The one thing I wish I was better prepared for is how insanely turbulent the speedboat ride there is. Perhaps we just had an extra turbulent trip, but the ride is NOT for the faint of heart. I felt dizzy/nauseous for an entire day afterwards.

Thank salker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainm, Owner at Phuket Sail Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hello Salker, and thank you for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your day at Phi Phi so much. It is a beautiful part of the world.

Even though it is now the dry season, and sea conditions are generally a lot better than in the green season, the easterly winds at this time of year can make the ride to Phi Phi a bit bouncy in the morning. Usually by lunch time things have calmed down. Anyway, there are plenty of sheltered places for swimming and snorkeling once we get to Phi Phi.

Sorry you were not feeling the best after the tour. Of course the best cure is to spend a lot more time on a boat, and get used to it. But you probably don’t like that idea.

On the other hand we have motion sickness tablets, so please remind us to offer these around if we forget next time you are here.

And I do hope you are here again.

All the best,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Sail Tours also viewed

Koh Kaew, Phuket Town
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Sail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing