We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benyada Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benyada Lodge
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Thalang District
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect balance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am actually really surprised that this hotel does not feature higher up the lists. We moved here after the first hotel we booked was disappointing, and never regretted it.
Rooms are stylish and spacious, with efficient and quiet aircon. The beds, although slightly harder than you would expect in Europe, were perfectly comfortable despite me being 5 months pregnant. I think to be honest you could always find photos to take of a cracked wall, or damp patch in a moderately priced hotel... but if you are focussed on those things you are missing out on a real treat here.
As other reviews have pointed out the pool is closed, however you are in a fabulous location just 5 min walk from the beach. You only have to look at the big name hotel neighbours to recognise what a great spot it is.
We were attending a wedding in a nearby 5* hotel, and actually found that everyone came to our beachfront every night to eat.
Service was very friendly and efficient, breakfast was basic... but free. Overall we found this to be the perfect balance between style, comfort and budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milliepenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
10
50
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Benyada Lodge was a bit different to other hotels in a slightly quirky way. All staff were very pleasant and the room was cleaned as soon as we went down for breakfast! We stayed for 8 nights so had a long enough time to evaluate the Hotel properly. On the plus side, if you ask for a bucket of ice for the room, some establishments will only give 2 small glasses of ice as they feel you should buy all your drinks from their Bar!! Benyada Lodge did NOT fall into that category and after day 1 when I approached the bar( at the end of a hard days sunbathing ) they rushed to fill up an ice bucket for me. I can't tell you how much that simple act lifted my spirits ( if the pardon the pun )!! On the minus side, however, the breakfast service needs improvement. Even though there were never more that 6 people at breakfast when we were there, it seemed that the waiter in attendance just didn't concentrate on keeping the buffet table replenished.
Various annoyances were: No bread for toast, no butter, no small plates for said toast, not enough fresh fruit put out, no knives, no forks, no teaspoons, no sweetener, failed to keep an eye on the tea and coffee levels. No milk for cereals! If you asked for something it was always brought within a minute but it is a bit frustrating HAVING to ask when they should be looking at the buffet table for themselves. Still it would not put me off staying there again!

Room Tip: Top floor as early morning traffic could wake you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Really friendly and efficient staff - very clean and comfortable rooms for the price.

Housekeeping did a fantastic job every day. The location (3-4 minutes from the beach) make this a great choice for a holiday.

Check-in and check-out was both quick and hassle free - no surprises to the bill.

Breakfast could do with some attention - was not the best choice or quality but the friendly service from the staff saw us coming back pretty much everyday for breakfast.

Value for money was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenDreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my first tie staying here, although I had eaten here and walked past a few times previously. The rooms were spacious enough and i had one that was at the front of the hotel. One of the 2 things i would say are negatives are that i couldnt really have the window open as it looked right down to the taxi hut (who werent the quietest bunch either)

The only other issue was that the pool wasnt open, but youre 50 metres from the beach so its hardly an issue!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matty-b-asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

To be clear this review is for restaurant only. Staying in nearby hotel and decided to try here before checking on trip advisor. Huge error,! Awful bland food, not sure what the satay was but didn't taste anything like I have every experienced before. Almost cancelled our mains after the entree however didn't want to offend the staff. Wish we had as mains were even worse, laab moo had a strange taste, almost like vinegar. Probably one of the worst meals I've had in many years. Can't blame the floor staff, they can only serve wants plated out to them. I'm shuddering as I write this as dinner was a few nights ago so the bad memories are flooding back. Did not highlight this on the night as their English was very limited and I don't speak Thai. Perhaps in hindsight I should have asked to speak to a manager but just wanted to escape as fast as I could. Still tipped the staff as its not their fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlovermale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thalang District hotels

Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night, as we didn' have room in Twin Palms for the first night, and it was One of the worst expereinces that I had in a hotel. The air condicioned machine didn't work correctly, making a terrible noise and not cooling enough. They told us that they could do nothing to repair it and no other room was available for us. The worst thing, apart from the liters of sweat in our bed, was the terrible noise of that device. If we switched it off, we felt like we could not breath, but if we kept it on, we felt like if we were trying to sleep near an ignited train machine in a Saharian Station. Really awful experience. We had a couple of cold showers during that night because the small roof top pool was emptied due to maintenance works. Really awful. I would not give then a second oportunity even if they transformed it into Peninsula hotel at he same price.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tme250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Before Booking the hotel I checked the website, however upon arrival I was dissapointed. The rooms were decent in size however the quality of the room was poor, lighting and especially the bathroom was unsettling!
The hotel website specified a pool which of course was not the case.
Breakfast was Inlcuded however the food was not that great, and every single day either the staff forgot something (like cutlery, my tea etc) or they would bring me the wrong order and I was not able to send it back.
However the plus side - 5 minutes walk to the beach.
All in all
Location - ideal for beach of you are ok with staying at surin all day
Food- not much choice and quite expensive for what they offer
Service - staff were friendly however not really capable..not sure if it's due to lack of English understanding however quite frustrating during the long run
Ammenities- false advertising with the pool which is disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#30 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#15 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wanaburi Hotel
Wanaburi Hotel
#65 of 94 in Thalang District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Chayna
Baan Chayna
#29 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benyada Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benyada Lodge

Property: Benyada Lodge
Address: 106/52 Moo 3, Cherngtalay | Surin Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#52 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Benyada Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Benyada Lodge, a small boutique, situated at Surin Beach, well-known for soft white sand and peace. An easy drive from Phuket Airport following the signs to Surin Beach. From Patong we are an easy and scenic drive along the west coast and only 10-15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Benyada Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benyada Hotel Thalang
Benyada Hotel Surin Beach
Benyada Lodge Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing