We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing a great thing!!”

Gibbon Rehabilitation Project
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.37*
and up
4-Waters Eco-Adventure Trip from Phuket Including Lunch
More Info
$54.75*
and up
Half-Day Phuket Countryside Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We're a unique animal welfare and conservation project working to rehabilitate unwanted or confiscated gibbons from the pet trade and tourist industry. Come visitor our centre at Bang Pae waterfall and learn about the fascinating lives of gibbons and how you can help these highly endangered animals! Open 9am - 4.30pm (except Thursday, 9am - 3pm) our centre is free of charge however entrance to the national park area where we are located is 200 Baht per adult. For information about volunteer opportunites visit our website. Please note: GRP is an active conservation project and the majority of our animals are part of an ongoing reintroduction program. A select number of gibbons can be seen from our public viewing area but visitors are not able to feed them or otherwise interact with them.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Doing a great thing!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were very touched by the plight of the gibbons. The project is a great place to learn about the ignorant use of domesticated gibbons to make money. The parents are killed so a baby can be captured and held in captivity to perform myriad inhumane acts. Kudos to the Gibbon Rehabilitation Project for working on restoring the population in Phuket. The national park attached was very beautiful with two waterfalls and a hiking trail. Well worth the trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Atulya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    238
    79
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a worthwhile place to visit!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place is doing such wonderful work. We really enjoyed the visit and learnt a lot. We also "adopted" a gibbon. Do not get your photos taken with animals in the streets.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gibbons are cute”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

small reserve but you can visit the waterfall too. The gibbons are full of character, very interesting to observe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lesson in Wildlife Preservation”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Gibbon Rehabilitation Project in Phuket is a wild life conservationist’s dream. The efforts being put in by the project to preserve the gibbons are praiseworthy and a model to other countries. I wish my country, India learns from here to preserve the dwindling tigers. The project is a wonderful cooperation between many institutions and covers the entire gamut of activities to rope in all the stakeholders responsible for the gibbons. The holistic approach is really paying rich dividends as the people are more aware of their responsibilities. You may wonder how I am saying that the effort has paid dividends. Just listen to the gibbons singing in their cages and swinging in a care free manner and you will know I am right. I have taken a lot of literature from the project and photographs and will try to impress upon our authorities and help them to preserve India’s tigers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank reeves_hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a Zoo but a great cause!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Please note that when planning a trip to the Gibbon Rehabilitation Project, that this is not a Zoo and is not an institution for your amusement!! This is a project to rehabilitate Gibbons that have been taken from their natural environment to be abused as pets and tourist attractions. You will only be able to see a handful of Gibbons in their cages as human contact is minimized for any apes planned to be released back into the forest. It is a wonderful cause and my husband and I were overwhelmed with information from the staff there. It is great to see the time and effort they put into this project. We incorporated the Gibbon Project on a day trip from Mai Khao down to Phuket city and we are so glad we did!! We got there fairly early in the morning and heard them sing their morning songs.
Keep up the good work and we hope you will be able to continue releasing many more families into the wild.

There is a THB 200 entrance fee to the national park and as a few others have already mentioned, the GRP gets no share of this. There are also a few little restaurants there where you can buy cold drinks, fruit and food. Bathroom facilities are available as well, but they are quite basic.

We also took the short stroll to the waterfall which was nice, but would probably be more impressive in the wet season (go figure)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbon Rehabilitation Project also viewed

 

Been to Gibbon Rehabilitation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing