We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Naiyang Sonwa Resort
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us at another hotel, where there was no longer space. Staff from the beginning turned out to be very helpful - both in organizing trips and commuting to the airport. Extremely nice people, friendly atmosphere, clean rooms and tasty food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewu_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Naiyang Sonwa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I knew I was arriving at Phuket airport at about 8 p.m, so I wanted to find a place as close to the airport as possible (not to have anything to do with the local taxis at nightfall). Nay Yang Sonwa offered reasonable prices in agoda, so I made my choice. So I booked the hotel for January 31 – February 1, 2013.
As for the hotel’s strengths, the hotel seems to be quite new (correct me, please, if I am wrong). Or at least newly renovated. That means that it is spotless in terms of paint, facilities and overall cleanness. No spots or stains anywhere. No smells. Nothing. The management really seems to care for the customers (as I will describe later). The daily room cleaning is very thorough, they do even more than you may ever expect. So it is really clean in every respect.
There is one more advantage. The hotel is located in a very quiet place. All of its rooms face a land plot that may be owned by some other hotel or resort, so there may be something built in front of it in the near future. Right now there are no signs of construction works there (as for me, I haven’t seen signs of any human presence in front of the hotel at all). The view from the rooms may not be too picturesque, but the thing is – it is really quiet. They only thing that might disturb you are the sounds of azan from the nearby mosque (I did not hear the early morning prayer calls – usually this sort of things starts at about 5 a.m. - they seem do it quietly; however, I heard a prayer on the Friday afternoon – anyway, it is not too loud as it may be). So my overall assessment is five stars for the sleeping quality.
The hotel is not in the beach front, so you will have to walk for about 10 minutes to get to the beach. The last passage between two beachfront hotels is quite tough, as there may be motorcycles going along the same narrow road between two fences. Anyway, it is only 2-3 minutes of the way and the cyclists do not seem to be rough or too busy.
The beach is really quiet and laid-back. There are no crowds at all. The whole village seems to be sleepy and relaxed, though it may satisfy all the basic traveler’s needs. There are several travel agencies, a good bunch of cafes and restaurants (including the ones at the surf line), some massage parlours, transfer services, and even tailor services. I saw no discos or any touristic entertainment in the place. So I would conclude that it is the right place to relax. During my stay at the place the sea was calm, the water was fine and rather transparent (as transparent as any sandy sea-bed may be). There is a good sandy beach and a smooth sea bottom in the area.
OK, so now about not so good things that, anyway, turned out to be OK. I had the toilet clogged on the next morning after I arrived. I was IMMEDIATELY offered a new room, and I saw some people attending to the problem some half an hour after I relocated. I also had some troubles with the new room’s safety deposit box (there was something wrong with my password), and again – the manager and staff did all their best to settle the problem. Though I was angry with the whole situation at first, I really think the people working in the hotel made all their best efforts to solve all the emerging problems as quickly as they could.
The breakfast was very basic – nothing to write about. The hotel staff said there was no WiFi in the rooms (though I managed to get a rather good connection once), but it is available in the reception area or even on balconies. Its speed and quality was good.
So all this being said, I extended my stay in the hotel for a couple of days, as I liked the hotel, the service and the place.
P.S. The hotel is near the airport (only a 30 minutes drive). Actually, it is the neighboring bay. The Nay Yang bay is very quiet, but if you walk further, you may see planes landing in the Phuket airport – right above your heads. My strongest recommendation – if you want to get close, wear some eye protection, as turbines may throw sand into your eyes.

So to sum it all up: 5 stars for the attitude. Not less :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olgaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Pool nehmen
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind top und es gibt Familien Zimmer
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Håkan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kittisak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank loufuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.1 mi away
Proud Phuket Hotel
Proud Phuket Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nai Yang
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Chill House at Naiyang
Chill House at Naiyang
#3 of 26 in Nai Yang
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
0.4 mi away
Naiyang Discovery Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Naiyang Beach Hotel
Naiyang Beach Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nai Yang
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naiyang Sonwa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naiyang Sonwa Resort

Address: 76/21 Moo 1, Saku, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range: $24 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Naiyang Sonwa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Naiyang Sonwa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiyang Sonwa Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing