We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Points and Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of At Panta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Panta
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Points and Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I don't know what they use as a potpurri but when we opened our room it stunk of it and the kids didn't want to go inside. It was some mixture of Menthol and mothballs and wood gone mouldy. We put it outside and over the day the room became fresher. Once the overpowering musky smell was gone the Rooms were nice and clean and serviced daily. We didn't hear any noise of Traffic as previous reviewers suggested but our rooms were in the middle of the resort. The Big pool was beautiful to swim in and the resort had a lovely feel about it. Our Breakfast was excellent probably the best of our trip. Not buffet, Made to order, fruits, croissants, danishes, cereal, poached eggs, bacon, sausages, the works. Its not in a great location but as another reviewer said, I don't understand people complaining about location its easy to see and know this by looking on any map before you come. They offer a free shuttle service to the beach so I find no problem with resorts in slightly out of the way places with cheaper prices offering a shuttle. One time the manager picked us up in his ute and let the kids sit in the back of it. We loved it, with the wind in our hair, the kids laughed and waved at everyone the whole way home. Its these personal touches that make a stay memorable.
Aside of the smelly room at first we had 3 wonderful days at Panta. There was an electrical problem in our room on the last night which was very annoying but one of those incidences that are out of the blue and not really the resorts fault. But we did feel it wasn't handled with very well. And I agree with others that Internet should be Free when staying at a Resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_cut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed here for one night, were welcomed with friendly smiles. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. It was very quiet during our stay. We ate at the resturant and was very expensive with additional costs. Over all we really liked our stay however it was a long walk to places, they did have shuttles but I think you would need to get a scooter for a long stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow_travla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

At Panta is beatiful, its also great to be away from the "touristy" places. There are temples just around the corner. It is a bit out of the way but, if you turn right on the road and walk 10 minutes you'll get to Thalang's centre which has food shops, motorbike hire and fast internet that is A LOT cheaper than at At Panta. They rip you off there for sure. They actually charged me twice for my room (i've since got a refund) so make sure you check your bank statement after! The beds are very hard (thai style) but you get used to them. Having a farm next door was great too.

I highly recommend hiring a motorbike/scooter. Once you get used to the choas its actually a fun and cheap way of seeing phuket. We went to a pub with a band singing in Thai, nobody spoke english and we don't speak Thai, it was the best night we had we had so much fun hanging with the locals and they made us feel very welcome!

Its a beauiful, "Thai style" hotel, the free breakfast is good. But I do recommend eating, drinking, and using internet elsewhere to save money if you feel the need. But it is Thailand so in the scheme of things it really doesn't cost that much, its just more expensive than Patong hotels, however it is more genuine and peaceful...esp after coming back from an evening out in Patong!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nessa_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at At Panta last month and loved it. I really don't understand how its getting all these negative views. We thought it was stunning, the pool was beautiful (we also had it to ourselves on evening, bliss!) Our room (Poolside Thai Villa) was exquisite. I think the other reviewers may have stayed in the cheaper older rooms, in which case I would greatly recommend to anyone staying at At Panta (or any resort for that matter) pay the little bit extra to upgrade to nicer rooms, we did it at all 3 resorts on this trip and havent regretted it once.

Another common complaint by people was its a bit far out of the way. All I can say to that, is Google Maps isn't that hard to go to. Do a little research on where the resort is before you book like we did, therefore leaving out any room for disappointment. We found it a nice change after staying in the middle of Patong beach. Also, we hired scooters for 250baht per day, so drove ourselves from At Panta to wherever we wanted to go.... The stunning Surin Beach was only a ten min bike ride away at the most.

The staff were very friendly. The only gripe we had, was we were eagerly looking forward to the poolbar cocktails, but waited around in the pool for happy hour and no-one came to serve us.

Other than that, we thought it was a beautiful resort with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

The expression "I wouldn't board my dog there" was designed for At Panta, unless your dog happens to like hearing rats scurrying around the roof at night. When we complained, they merely said sorry.
The service is exceptionally slow. We stayed 3 to a room and we had to ask every day for a third towel when there were 3 beds in the room and we were paying for it!
The selection of food is poor and to make matters worse they rarely had the items we selected. It isn't the highest quality either. It's not inedible but I wouldn't recommend it either.
The location is not great so be aware of that if beach proximity is important to you. They offer a shuttle service to Surin beach but it's a joke. You have to book it in advance although the sign outside says nothing of the sort and when it does arrive (late), they squeeze 6 people into a small saloon.
I should try to end on a high note (for those of you still comtemplating this place), the swimming pool is not so bad!

This place is best avoided.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crunch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thalang District hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.7 mi away
The Golddigger's Resort
The Golddigger's Resort
#13 of 20 in Sakhu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#32 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
9.2 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windee House
Windee House
#63 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaburi Hotel
Wanaburi Hotel
#62 of 95 in Thalang District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dream Phuket Hotel & Spa
Dream Phuket Hotel & Spa
#20 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Panta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Panta

Property: At Panta
Address: 310/51 M.1 Baandon-Cherngtalay Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At Panta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your At Panta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Panta Thalang
At Panta Hotel Thalang
At Panta Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing