We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel - the best of the best!”
Review of Amanpuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanpuri
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was our first time staying at the Amanpuri (we have many friends who have stayed there and recommended it) and it was an amazing stay in every aspect - from the time we were picked up at the airport (whisked away by a car waiting in a private space) to the special welcome from the staff when we arrived to our spectacular villa with a view of the Andaman Sea. The ambiance food, beach, staff and services were incredible and the spa was wonderful. We had mentioned it was our anniversary and the hotel showered our villa with flowers and candles which was so special. The hotel arranged for a private driver around the island for the day which we would highly recommend. They also organized a cave kayak adventure on the east side of the island which was incredible. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a very special experience. We also recommend dinner at the Siam Supper Club which is a short drive from the hotel. The food was excellent, the ambiance relaxing and Swiss manager Sean made it a true welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lobster on the beach, midnight swim, rooms inciting tranquility, silence, subtle style, nothing interferes with you fully appreciating life. A walk on the beach a night will open you up to the stunning wildlife, follor the trails made by crabclaws, upon which the design of the classic Thai silver bracelet is based.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyDiner111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

first stay in an Aman resort. The pavilions are simply amazing and service is over the top, you can have anything you like and need. Just think and ask.

all excellent, nothing lease to say. Aman in the best overall

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a unique hotel. Its location is great and the beach gorgeous.
It is a small paradise. The only bad news is that at some point you need to leave.
Key positives :
-the quality of the villas
-the sense of privacy
-the beach
-quality of the staff
-quality of the food
-the gym is great
Can be improved :
-could have a coffee machine for free use in the room
-also missing an ipod
-the spa is a bit expensive for an average quality. Much better to walk a few hundred meters outside the resort and you will find some good venues.

Overall a great hotel. Sure you pay the price but perfection comes at a price!

Things to

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Yes, there are plenty of "hipper" resorts in Phuket...but none compare to the quiet elegance at Amanpuri, or the level of "anticipatory" service and gentle care from the staff. We were pleasantly surprised by a complimentary double upgrade. The private beach is one of the best in Phuket with a fine restaurant for lunch. On this trip, we also stayed at the Andara Villas (which we loved too)...but the service and charm was unforgettable at Amanpuri. I don't think you'd find better anywhere. Villas are very Thai with a Jim Thomson influence. Nothing sweeter than laying under your private Sala listening to an afternoon rain....and our villa had the BEST toilet ever :) !!! This resort is very clean and well maintained (which is not easy to find in Phuket in the other 5 star hotels). Awesome fitness centre...the best I've ever seen in any luxury resort. We didn't have time for Spa...so I can't comment on it. They had a very elegant evening show with Thai musicians and traditional dance, while we ate dinner under the stars. We mentioned in our reservation that it was a special occasion and when we returned to our villa after dinner, we were overwhelmed with delight to see our room lit with so many candles and decorated with flowers for our evening. We will definately return. For future trips to Phuket, we'll continue to plan to split up our stay by trying a couple of nights in a new hotel to see what's new in architecture and "hipness", but always return to Amanpuri for a few nights. Nothing better. We love it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveler352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Spend a week of unforgettable luxury and superb service.
The food was excellent and the hotel staff excellently trained and always smiling, ready to be of service

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We (husband and 9 month old baby ) had a 4 night mini break on the way back home to Australia from a work trip in Europe. I have wanted to stay at The Amanpuri for nearly 10 years so my expectations were very high and I was not disappointed.
We were given pavilion 103 which had an enviable position with views onto the perfect private beach. (One of the most stunning beaches I've every seen.) The service was impeccable and the hotel itself (although over 20 years old) still stunningly beautiful. I have to say it's the most perfect holiday from every perspective- hotel, beach, location, food, service.
We were pleasantly surprised at how well the hotel was set up for families. Our daughter had specially prepared meals delivered by attentive hotel staff!
The Amanpuri is not cheap but it's worth every penny. We are already planning a longer stay next year.
Someone else said it best.... "Heaven on earth, polished perfection..."

Room Tip: Room 103 and 105 are positioned with fantastic views to the beach and close enough to not have to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelSydney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.8 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 97 in Thalang District
1,962 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
803 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanpuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanpuri

Address: Pansea Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#28 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#32 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#37 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: $844 - $2,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanpuri 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanpuri (place of peace) was built in 1987 and became Aman's flagship property. Reflecting the style and elegance of Thai culture, the resort's graceful pavilions and villa homes are situated in a coconut plantation on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea. Elevated walkways connect pavilions to the resort's private white sand beach and facilities, including the first Aman Spa. With a fleet of luxury cruisers, Amanpuri offers the opportunity to explore the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanpuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanpuri Hotel Thalang
Amanpuri Hotel Phuket
Amanpuri Resort Phuket
Amanpuri Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing