We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with the spa pool villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In love with the spa pool villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed at the Spa Pool Villa during Oct. 23 - 28, 2006. It was such a beautiful experience. The Villa is so expertly designed that it blends the exquisite traditional thai structure with convenient modern functionalities while offering A LOT of privacy. Within the villa walls, its truly ' post card' view from every angle. I took about 150 pictures and for sometime my bf did not think I would ever want to leave the villa for the whole 4 days.

Being in Thailand many times, I know the thai hospitality is one of the best in the world, still the service level at Banyan Tree Spa Pool Villas is quiet impressive. The spa pool villas are located in a separate compound with its own reception/guest relations staff, these guys are so efficient that I don't remember any of my wishes not attended to within the next second and all in a very professional manner.

The spa is another highlight of the stay. Yes, it is expensive but not as expensive of some of the other places I have been to, yet, the cost and the place's reputation as Asia's best spa are both true to the wonderfully unique experience the Banyan Tree Spa Phuket delivers.

The only less than perfect comment I can make about the hotel is the food is good but not as great as compared to some other restaurant I've been to in Phuket. Nice breakfast and juice bar, the Thai restaurant saffron’s decoration is not up to the standard of that of the rest of the hotel, the menu could be better too for the price.

I have to say this is the best 'hotel room' I have ever stayed in, and at this price range ( booked at US$870++, spa pool promotion ) it is great value for $$.

  • Liked — Design, Privacy, Comfort
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring mosquito repellent
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Jade_of_china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    304
    118
    49
    32
See reviews for
440
888
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan tree in May 2006 in a pool villa for 12 wonderful nights! We live in Sydney and our family and friends are in the UK so we agreed to meet up in the middle to celebrate our recent wedding. We had a buddhist blessing in the grounds of our pool villa, just as the sun was setting. The ceremony was beautiful and Van the wedding coordinator and his team couldn't do enough for us. Everything was planned to perfection and it was a truely amazing experience, albeit a tad humid!!!.

All our guests stayed at the other hotels on the Laguna resort and they all commented that our villa and resort was out of this world. They especially liked the ride in the golf carts from reception to our villa. It was my husbands birthday during our holiday and they really made him feel special with a birthday cake and a gift.

Breakfast at the hotel was amazing and plenty to choose from and by the end of the week I had gained a few pounds from the delicious pastries. We had a wedding feast in the private dining area and the food was sensational. Most evenings we ate out of the hotel either in the village, on the beach or down in patong as we met up with our friends and family but I can highly recommend the Sanya Yak dinner cruise round the laguna. Here you have your own boat, chef and musician as you sail around the laguna for a few hours, eating a beautifully prepared dinner and watching the sun set behind you.

From the moment we arrived at the Banyan Tree resort to the minute we left, we were treated like royalty and really made to feel special. A very big thank you to all the staff and management for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in October, as we were attending a wedding held there.

The luxury of the Banyan Tree is indescribable. It is part of the Laguna Resort, which is a complex of hotels and apartments built around a large lagoon just behind the beach on the coast of Phuket island. The hotels are linked by a shuttle boat and shuttle bus, and guests at one hotel can charge meals to their room in any restaurant on the complex. The Banyan Tree is the most expensive and exclusive of the hotels.

I don’t watch “Footballers Wives” but someone told me that an episode was filmed here, and I can quite believe it. Accommodation is entirely in over one hundred private villas, all built in the Thai architectural style, with high roofs and lots of teak.

Our villa was one of the most basic, but we had our own private walled garden, with sun loungers, patio table and chairs and our own hot tub. Mind you, with the temperature in the high 30s, I found it more appealing to use the hot tub with the water ‘cold’, enjoying the jets and bubbles while cooling down. Inside the villa the main room had a large bed sunken into a high teak platform. This looked stylish, but getting out of bed in the morning involved climbing up from the floor, not unlike camping, and would have been a challenge for anyone with joint problems!

There was air conditioning (of course), plus TV, hi-fi, minibar, DVD player and wi-fi access to the internet. Through a sliding door were ‘his and hers’ wardrobes and washbasins, loo and shower, and an outdoor sunken marble bath. Free toiletries were provided, together with bathrobes, slippers, beach bags and beach sandals and hundreds of towels.

We visited our friends' villa, which was one of the 'top of the range' spa villas, and it was mindblowing, with its own swimming pool and bedroom which appeared to float in the lily pool.

The grounds are lushly landscaped, and tended by armies of Thai gardeners, and throughout the area small golf electric buggies buzz back and forth transporting guests. If you want to go anywhere, you can summon a buggy by phone from your villa, and be chauffeured to other parts of the complex. When walking through the grounds, all staff on foot and in buggies greet you with friendly smiles and ‘hellos’. The place felt to me like a cross between Center Parcs and The Village from the 1970s cult classic TV series ‘The Prisoner’. If we tried to escape I envisaged the large balloon chasing after us to bring us back.

The wedding was spectacular, and extremely romantic. It was held in the late afternoon on the deck overlooking the lagoon, and the bride and her father arrived in a boat across the lagoon. It was an unforgettable entrance!

Food at the Banyan Tree is excellent, as is the spa service. In fact, it is impossible to fault the place if you are looking for a totally restful, relaxing and luxurious experience.

BUT - don't go there if you are looking for an active holiday. There are no watersports, and few activities (unless you are a golfer). The beach is attractive, but the sea has swarms of invisible, stinging 'sea lice', and the swimming conditions range from rough to downright dodgy. After four days in the Banyan Tree my husband in particular was going 'stir crazy', and dying to get away to somewhere less laid back.

  • Liked — The luxury of the individual villas
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't come here if you want things to do - it is the ultimate relaxation experience
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ambermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed at theBanyan Tree Phuket for 2 weeks in October 2006 for our Honeymoon.

On arrival we were upgraded to a pool villa, it was so nice we did not want to leave it but with so much to see and do and places to eat we had to.

The Hotel is Beautiful. The staff are so friendly and will do anything for you.

The Resturaunts are very Good but make sure you try the other Hotels on the complex. Just get on the free shuttle bus and all you need is your room number. If you want to eat for half the price try the Chabra or Lotus. Just ask at the lobby they will call the Resturaunt who will pick you up and drop you back Free.

The Spa looked very nice but the price of massage treatments was very expensive. we went to a Thai Massage Parlour just outside the complex and it was 10 times cheaper.

There was no evening entertainment to speak of so if you want a lively night get on the shuttle bus to another hotel or get a taxi to Patong.

On day 3 the sky clouded over and stayed Cloudy and rainy for 4 days. A gamble we took going during rainy season. But we did have 10 days of hot sun so this made up for it.

On the last day we were upgraded again to a spa pool villa, this was Heaven!!!! to make the most of it we had an in villa BBQ very nice and romantic.

Overall i cannot fault the hotel we loved it, if like us you are used to 3 & 4 star hotels and want something special this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The pool on the bedroom doorstep
  • Disliked — noisy frogs
  • Tips/Secrets — eat outside of the hotels and buy drinks from mini market to save money
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colinbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2006

My wife, myself and and our 16 month old son have recently returned from a 12 night stay at the Banyan Tree and we can't recommend it highly enough.

The resort normally caters for couples but we were made to feel more then welcome and our son was superbly looked after by all the staff we came into contact with.

We booked through a travel agent and due to the time of year got a free upgrade to a Pool Villa which had a large bedroom with a sofa and seating area, a good sized bathroom with an indoor shower and outside bath and his and her washbasins.

Outside, the Villa has its own garden with a raised sala, sun loungers a table and chairs and a good sized pool, certainly far bigger then a simple plunge pool. There are doors opening from the bedroom directly onto the pool.

The Villa was fantastic but half way through we had an opportunity to upgrade to a deluxe 2 bedroom pool Villa which gave us a large lounge, a kitchenette and a second bedroom as well as an outside bath and 2 outside showers on top of the normal Pool Villa. Outside we had the garden with all the above plus a good sized jacuzzi built into the side of the Pool. The Villa was out of this world and is ideal for a family with one or two kids or 2 couples travelling together.

Both Villas were in excellent condition and well maintained. I have read on the site other guests being unhappy with the state of the Villas. I can only go from what I saw, it may be that the older jacuzzi Villas are a bit worn and if you aren't happy ask to be moved, I am sure they would do all they could to help.

The hotel had a number of restaurants and we ate at all of them except for the Tamarind. They were all uniformly excellent, the Saffron is their Thai restaurant which was upmarket, very nicely decorated with a good selection of dishes. The Watercourt was Italian influenced and also very good. The banyan cafe is by the golf course and is great for drinks, snacks and informal meals.

There were highchairs at all the restaurants plus a children's menu which was excellent value for money. Almost all the food from any of the restaurants could be delivered to your Villa if you wanted and if there was something not on the Villa menu you only had to ask and they would prepare it.

We also both used the spa which was superb, I am not a spa lover and so just went for a simple massage but thought it was by far the best spa I have ever been to. I left it till the end of the holiday to go and now regret leaving it so late and not going more often.

One big benefit of being in the laguna resorts is the free shuttle bus to the other hotels which we used most days and also to Canal Village which had a few shops including a Jim Thompsons. There are signing priviliges at all the other hotels so we didn't have to carry cash with us all the time. it also meant we had a choice of many restaurants and tried quite a number for both lunch and dinner at the other hotels.

Out of all the other hotels we particularly liked the Dusit Laguna and went to their Dusit cafe for lunch a couple of times which was also very good.

The one thing which stood out above the quality of the Villas and the food was the level of service. It was excellent throughout. You were always made to feel welcome and as if nothing was too much trouble. It is a superb quality hotel but not at all stuffy , very relaxing and welcoming.

The main test as to how good a place is, is whether I would go back, and the answer is an absolute YES.

Sorry for the length of this report, I hope it is of some help.

  • Liked — The level of service
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for the best room you can afford, it is well worth it!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank EL4299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights in a jacuzzi villa near the hotel lobby.

The villa was not well maintained.
The paint was peeling.
The air-con was not working properly in that it blew out warm air. The air con compressor was rusting away.
What was impressive about the villa was the outdoor bath tub.

The food was good.

The spa was fantastic and one of the best.

You can also take a free shuttle to visit other hotels and shopping arcade which has a Jim Thomson discount store.

It may have been the premier resort when it started, but I think you can go to newer and nicer resorts now for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

Checking in was a breeze, service is great, staff is friendly. But, villa is a little disappointing. Pretty shocked by the state of the jacuzzi, it was covered with a canvas cover and underneath it is a pool of dirty water. Looked like it wasn't cleaned for ages. Called housekeeping to have it cleaned, took them some time to come over, as the water takes half an hour to be drained out and another half to fill. By the time, it was cleaned, the sun is down and was too dark to take a dip afterall! There is also a sunken outdoor bath in the villa and it was also not cleaned and filled with leaves and branches from trees above. I think they do need a refurbishment based on how much they charge the rooms per night!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Didibonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
10.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#16 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#18 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing