We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury hotel and pool”
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we have stayed at this great resort many times but this year it was even better. the ambience and location is marvellous. the staff were as always very helpful and the pool villas excepitional now that most of them have had a renovation. the only draw back was lack of choice of in-house dining. they have a do-it-yourself restaurant nightly, but if you don't like this or Japanese food there is only one other reasonable restaurant then you have to go outside the resort which is good but not always wanted

Room Tip: room with pool and away from centre is beneficial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear A R;

It was our pleasure to welcome you once more and to read that we are getting better with the time. We appreciate you are taking your valuable time in complimenting our staff for their hard and good work and the villas’ condition.

I have taken note of your comment concerning our dining options, and I would like to clarify that apart from Saffron serving contemporary Thai cuisine, Tamarind serving Japanese and Spa cuisine and Watercourt serving daily changing buffets and Seafood grill, we also have Tre, our exclusive French Vietnamese Restaurant, located at the DoublePool Villas area. Other options available are In-Villa Dining and In-Villa BBQ to enjoy the evening in the privacy of your stunning Pool Villa and other destination dining options in stunning romantic locations.

Dear A R; we highly appreciate your repeated patronage at Banyan Tree Phuket and for sharing your valuable feedback with the Trip Advisor readers. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again and again in the near future to experience another memorable stay.

Kindest regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a two night unexpected stay here due to cancelling our planned stay in Banyan Tree Bangkok due to the recent political riots. All I can say is that it leaves the other hotels in the Laguna complex by a country mile. We had a double villa which was sensational, as were the staff & the beautiful breakfast, but if it's in your budget book the double pool villas - they looked totally fantastic! We had booked the dinner in the middle of the lagoon for our second wedding anniversary but ended up cancelling it due to the poor choices available on their vegetarian menu available (especially with a price tag of THB 15,000 it didn't make it worthwhile for us) but the setting is gorgeous. We will now look around for another romantic option for this weekend. We have now transferred to the Angsana which is nextdoor for remainder of our trip and this place doesn't compare : (

Room Tip: 607 was close to the lobby but far from the beach & beach restaurants - but bikes are provided s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Sara B;

First of all, big congratulations for your second wedding anniversary. Thank you for recounting your recent experience at Banyan Tree Phuket, specially for your candid comments on our DoublePool Villas as they are fantastic indeed, and for praising our staff in a nice way.

I was disappointed to learn that you did not get a superb vegetarian menu to meet the price. Typically, our executive chef would tailor a menu for such occasions. It appears as though, it was not bought to the attention of the senior members of the F&B team. This is why our resort is such a preferred destination in Phuket. Well, next time perhaps! It is just a shame that you did not get to enjoy the always unforgettable “Dinner for the Senses” in the middle of the Lagoon.

Sara B; thank you once more for sharing your experience in our Resort, and we hope that the rest of your stay at Angsana has been also exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and to delivering a flawless and relaxing stay.

With kind regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

i would highly recommend this destination as one of the best placed to stay, certainly one of the best my family has stayed at. i have 2 young kids and they had a blast. definitely stay at the deluxe 2 bedroom villa. its safe for young kids and the pool can be easily locked off from the kids and the rooms are immaculate.

over the years there are a lot more families who have been coming and the only thing i would ask the hotel to do is to think about building more facilities for the children (maybe a playground)...they have enough space.

i would highly recommend this hotel to both families as well as couples who are looking for a serene, quiet, relaxing atmosphere but with close proximity to a busier town/village center

Room Tip: if you are a couple, go for the spa pool villa or the double pool villa. if you have young kids, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Adrian E;

It has been, again, a pleasure to have you with us recently. Thank you enormously for sharing your valuable feedback in TripAdvisor and for recommending the various villa options we have available for families and couples. Your suggestion was already being discussed and we are at loggerheads to stylize and adapt a kid’s activity to be done a’ la Banyan Tree. I personally have, over my 10 years with Banyan Tree, had the pleasure of watching so many young kids become young adults. Some of them even wanting to do an internship with us!

Adrian E; there’s nothing that makes us happier than to see a guest delighted by our service. Whether it’s for booking assistance, special occasions, or specific arrangements for families or couples, our aim is to provide the best quality, value and the “Sanctuary for the Senses” experience to everyone.

I hope there is a return visit to Banyan Tree Phuket in the near future. Until then, please stay in touch.

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My family of four had wonderful vacation at the Banyan Tree in Phuket over Christmas. The employees were incredibly attentive and hospitable, learning our names and restocking our amenities before they ran out. Our waitress at breakfast even memorized my family’s orders! The complimentary bikes and golf cart service provided a fun and convenient way to explore the resort’s restaurants, pools, spa, and villas. If I am ever in Phuket again, I will undoubtedly book a room at the Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Chloe S,

We wish to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing with the world your “Amazing Family Vacation” during Christmas at Banyan Tree Phuket.

It is truly gratifying indeed to put a smile on the dial of every associate to read such reviews as it endorses their skills and training. It is great to read that we met your high expectations in every single aspect and that you will, without hesitation, book a villa with us again.

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Phuket family, we look forward to your return sometime soon, but if your traveling plans include our resort towards the end of the year again, please keep in mind to visit our website to check and book our special early birds’ promotions. It would be fantastic to have you back with us, we look forward to enjoying the pleasure of your company,

With my best regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan Tree in Phuket for four nights during our honeymoon, and we loved our experience there. We stayed in a a Small Villa (without a pool) and took full advantage of the beach, pool, spa, and golf course. We loved the daily breakfast and ate at all of the restaurants, and we were blown away by the service. Of the three spas we went to in Thailand, Banyan Tree definitely had the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Miele86,

Thank you for recounting your honeymoon experience with such lovely happiness and share your review in Trip Advisor. It really sounds like you two had a fantastic stay from the first to the last minute, including delicious dining at our restaurants and some well-deserved spa time at our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa. Although you have enjoyed many different aspects that make our resort unique, many of our other guests do find that with each return trip, there is always something new to discovered. I hope you will join us again to celebrate your anniversary this time in a Pool Villa or a Spa Pool Villa.

Miele86, thank you for your stay at Sanctuary for the Senses and congratulations both of you on your new journey.

With my best regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have been 2 times in February' 2014, and Banyan Tree Phuket was a good as it used to be before. It is a paradise. The hotel' s villas and facilities are kept and maintained perfectly, staff members are well trained and friendly. The only negative comment is about the complimentary bicycles: hotel provides the simple and basic model to the guests to use, and, more importantly, all the bicycles are unsafe (breaks do not work properly). I hope that the management will rectify this. I guess that most of the guests would be happy to pay a reasonable fee and get a good quality and safe bicycles.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Mikhail1970,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stays here at Banyan Tree Phuket. It was terrific to read that you felt it as a well-kept and perfectly maintained Paradise, and truly appreciated the constructive feedback regarding the bicycles’ condition. I remember speaking to you about it during breakfast. With the popularity and convenience of the bikes, we have now a dedicated bike mechanic working on a daily basis to maintain the bicycles in the best working and safety conditions, particularly on the breaks rectification. Obviously due to the direct 24/7 exposure to the weather it is an ongoing process. Safety is of utmost importance and we thank you for your feedback.

Milhail1970, thank you once more for having shared your experience with the Trip Advisor readers and for choosing Banyan Tree Phuket two times in a row. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for your future holidays.

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Highly Recommended. High levels of service and a beautiful location around a lagoon, with a short walk to an excellent sandy beach. We upgraded to a pool villa and having our own little pool and cabana was a wonderful option from the mail pool and the beach. We also liked the option of drinking/dining in the beach cafés. Agree with other reviews that a little maintenance needed here and there but that adds to the charm of an established hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Kevin G,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your experience for other travelers.

I am glad to read that you found the Pool Villa a great option to enjoy the privacy peace and tranquility of the Thai “Sala”. Proximity to the beach is surely one of our best liked features but, consistently higher rated than that is our service levels and our associates. We are truly proud of that.

Dear Kevin G, thank you once again for choosing to stay at Banyan Tree Phuket and we are looking forward to pamper you to the Sanctuary for the Senses.

Best regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
952 reviews
10.1 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
7.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
0.5 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#19 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: $317 - $1,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing