We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Free upgrade to a pool villa on arrival was the start of a perfect holiday. We were shown to our stunning villa from which you stepped straight out into a pool set in a beautifully landscaped garden. We collected our free bikes in the morning (plenty to choose from) and started to explore. Easy cycling everywhere, to beach, elephant park, canal shopping village, other hotels, restaurants and out of Laguna into the town (you can also call the free shuttlebus if you dont want to cycle or you can hop on the free water taxi). We also took advantage of the free canoes and twice canoed across all 3 lagoons parking our boat at different hotels to look round and use their beaches (never been in a canoe before!)

Hotel - Stunning interior design, huge cathedral wooden ceilings, lilly ponds, open walls and very Thai. Beautifully landscaped gardens everywhere you look and a huge lagoon with fountains.

Beach - Absolutely incredible and very quiet, plenty of sun beds, towel service, restaurants. Miles of sand and soft warm waves. Amazing sunsets. We had lunch at the Family Bar several times - excellent food and service and our last evening meal there (as they close early at 8pm)

Breakfast - First class. Never busy whatever the time, superb presentation, friendly, efficient staff. Everything you could think of to eat for every nationality including 3 different Thai meals with fried rice and 2 Thai soups every day! It really is something to look forward to and what a situation overlooking the lagoon. Apart from breakfast the other morning highlight was Lucky the baby elephant who arrived around 10am, we could easily spend half an hour feeding and playing with him each morning.

Service - Every member of staff made you feel as if they genuinely wanted you to enjoy your holiday and were helpful, smiling and immaculately dressed (beautiful coloured silks, a different colour and style for each department)

Boat Trip - We took the hotels June Bahtra sail boat trip to James Bond Island - fabulous day out, incredible 'Avatar' type scenery, delicous lunch, knowledgeable guide.

We dined at a number of restaurants, all would collect/return you free of charge (Lotus was our favourite)

The Banyan Tree was the best accommodation, breakfast, service, beach, restaurants and facilities we have ever had and we are booking for next year.

Room Tip: Im sure that every villa is excellent as so much thought and good design has gone into everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear ruthvensteadings,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback for fellow travelers! We are already very excited to hear that you are thinking of Banyan Tree Phuket for your next year holidays.

I am glad that we could upgrade you to a pool villa and we were delighted to read that you both had a most enjoyable stay. Your gracious comments about our services overall and the team motivates us to consistently exceed guests expectations. I am proud of our associates and believe they are the finest in Phuket!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Phuket again soon to experience our Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary or a DoublePool Villa by Banyan Tree on your next visit.
Let me also wish you and your dear ones the very best this festive season and a very happy year 2014.

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were upgraded to the Deluxe 2-bedroom pool villa and fell in love with the villa!

Imagine waking up in the morning and walking straight into the pool!

The fittings of the villa were top class and luxurious, and layout well thought with a nice touch of Thai influence. My only complaint is we couldn't get a TV channel to watch EPL matches! LOL! But the entire place more than make up for that.

Service was attentive and discreet, what one would expect at a 5-star luxurious resort.

We used the complimentary bikes to go around the resort and the beach (nothing to shout about), as well as the buggies to ferry us to the lobby. From there one can catch the free shuttle bus to go around the resort (we contributed significantly to the Jim Thompson factory outlet at Canal Village), but found the shuttle ferry on the lake an interesting attraction on its own.

We dined one night at Lotus by the beach and it was fabulous. Make sure you make a reservations with the hotel as they can be busy and they'll pick you up in a car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Timotan,
It truly is delightful to hear that everyone in your family fell in love with the villa. Isn’t it great that you can get up in the morning and walk right up to a private swimming pool? Thank you very much for the feedback on the design of our villa, service delivery and complimentary bikes and Laguna shuttle buses. These positive comments are significant for us to strive harder to ensure your stay is memorable and exceeds far beyond the expectation.

I am sorry you could not get to watch the EPL matches, but I often joke with my guests that Banyan Tree time is to look into the eyes of the near and dear ones and not into a TV! On a more serious note, True vision the main cable provider lost their broadcast rights this season.

For your next visit, as you have mentioned you liked Lotus, Banyan Tree’s Watercourt now serves fresh live seafood, selected by weight, cooked Asian or Western style a’la minute. It has been very popular since we have started this. If you like seafood, you might also like our Sunday Seafood Jazz Brunch.

Dear Timotan, we wish to turn Banyan Tree Phuket into your kids’ playground and of course parents’ perfect getaway haven. On behalf of my team, I would like to wish you a Happy Holidays and a prosperous 2014,

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great Value Hotel, first time in Thai, and doubt it will be the last, would come back here again, great service, good food breakfast and dinner, did not have lunch here. Used the Spa once , and prices seemed a bit high and massage was not the best I gave had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Jim J,

Your kind review about your stay at Banyan Tree Phuket is well appreciated. I am glad that even in high season, you found our resort and villa and our F&B was great value. However, next time please do not miss the opportunity of having lunch with us. If your next visit falls on a Sunday, I would highly suggest you to try our Sunday Brunch at the Watercourt Restaurant, where a wide selection of succulent live seafood is offered and it is featured by a live jazz band with an amazing view of the surrounding lagoon.

Concerning the prices of the Spa Treatments, allow me to share that they are in line with those offered by the best Spas in Thailand. Banyan Tree Spa is one of the most decorated spas and part of the payments is used to support the Spa academy that trains all our spa therapists. It is truly regretful that you did not enjoy your spa treatment as this is one of the resort's services that consistently receives very positive feedback from our guests.

Dear Jim J, thank you once again for sharing your comments in this important forum. It would be fantastic to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Sriram Kailasam,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you are looking for a safe, inclusive, large resort and spa near a nice beach then this is a great place.

I think this is best suited for families or older couples. While it's great for younger couples honeymooning, its definitely expensive and doesn't have a young vibe like the more boutique resorts. While you don't wake up to sounds of the ocean, you are a 2 minute walk within the walls of the resort to a lovely beach.

The pool villa is sexy, but the resort is enormous and not what I would call "intimate" like other beautiful resorts I have stayed at.

The spa was definitely a highlight, we did the Royal Banyan and it was a great way to spend an afternoon out of the sun.

Don't book the "hotel taxi's", ask them to book you a local taxi as it's about 30% of the price the hotel ones will cost you.

Overall it was lovely, and just what you would expect from a resort of this nature. So if you are looking for large and established resorts then you would enjoy this.

Room Tip: If you book with American Express Platinum Fine Resorts and Hotels then book a Deluxe Villa and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear ericalev,

Thank you for your thorough feedback on your recent holidays at Banyan Tree Phuket!

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at our Pool Villa and your experience at the beautiful beach were delightful ones. The team at the spa was very happy when I shared your compliments on your Royal Banyan experience as there is nothing more motivating than to be recognised for providing exceptional service.

With regards to your comments on local taxis vs hotel limousines, I would just like to clarify that the resort only has limousines which are Mercedes E and S class sedans and vans, whereas local taxis come in all brands and sizes. Apart from the security and professionalism of a Banyan Tree trained driver who can speak good English you are also secure, hence the price difference. Once again, thank you for your gracious comments which will be an inspiration for us to continue to serve and delight all our valued guests. Let me also wish you and your family a happy festive season and all the best for the coming new year!

Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've stayed 1 week in December 2013 in this fabulous resort. Our only disappointment was to have to leave it! We were in a Villa with pool.
I read some notices unfavorable, but I really don't understand somes. In this big complex everything is planned to assure peace and tranquillity.
Our slightest requests are very quickly satisfied with a lot of kindness and discretion.
In all the domains the staff is obliging and of a big kindness. Even by looking in the small details I really find nothing to blame.
Restaurants are up to our requirements.
I specially appreciated the spa, really the best I experimented among the numerous spas which I experienced.
We would like to mention and thank quite particularly Ing, Nancy and Darika who were particularly pleasant, knew how to guide us and take care of us, always with the smile, of a big courtesy and an availability.

We surely come back in a few months in this haven of peace.
Philippe et Francoise

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Philippe D,

It is wonderful to hear from you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your holidays at Banyan Tree Phuket. Let me reassure you that while you may be disappointed or sad that the stay at Banyan Tree is over, you should feel happy that you have discovered what many of our guests have done for the past 20 years. Plus, we are not going anywhere and operate 365 days!! On a serious note, reading through your review, we are humbled by your kind words. I believe that good vacations and memories with special ones are made great by the hundreds of special moments and little details that accumulate throughout the stay. That is what you experienced firsthand with Ing, Nancy and Darika. We are very fortunate to have them and hundreds of others who work alongside me – 50% of whom have been with us for over 12 years.

I hope you will return soon to add more special memories with your near and dear ones. Until then, if there is anything we can do, please feel free to get in touch at your convenience.

Warmest Regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by the staff and provided with a welcome drink and flowers. We had booked a pool villa, but as it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to a two bedroom pool villa. There was also a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in the villa, which was a lovely touch.

The villa was amazing, while we didn't need the second bedroom having the additional space of the larger villa was fantastic. The pool was large with a jacuzzi attached to it, and the whole villa felt very private.

The hotel areas were quiet as either not many people were staying or people just stayed in their villas. We ate at one of the restaurants on the first night and the food was nice but there wasn't really any atmosphere as there were only a few other people dining. We also didn't go to the bar as it was empty after dinner. The whole point of staying here for us was the villas so it wasn't too much of an issue, but having a happy hour or something like that might be good and bring a few more people to the bar area. The main pool was large and very quiet, we only used this a couple of times.

The free bike hire is a good idea and a great way for getting around the resort. The beach is nice and has some other bars and restaurants along it which we ate out several times and were good. (Would recommend Tony's and lotus) We also did a trip to the Similan islands arranged in the hotel lobby where we swam with turtles that was very good but don't expect an empty beach! They were great at getting ahead of the larger crowds though.

So overall, the service from the staff and the Villa is why I would give this hotel a 5 star rating but if you are looking for a more lively resort feel then this might not be for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goochie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Goochie7

I want to thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Phuket for your honeymoon and for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us.

I appreciate the gesture, as we always strive to make our guest’s stay memorable, and all feedback is deeply treasured. I am pleased to read that you were delighted with our spacious Two Bedroom villa – it is particularly popular with our family market as it affords privacy, space and luxury with a large private pool.

On the other hand, I have noted your comments regarding the lack of atmosphere at some of our restaurants at times. We do have a mixture of offerings ranging from our daily seafood buffet and other themed evenings at the Watercourt, to “Contemporary Thai” a’la carte at Saffron or “Authentic Japanese” a’la carte at Tamarind. You are right, we are not packed and the high ceilings and large spaces may not give that bustling restaurant feel. I can however assure you of some great cuisine and service at the restaurants of Banyan Tree Phuket.

Once again, thank you for such a first-class review and all of us at Banyan Tree Phuket are hoping to having the chance of welcoming you both back in the near future. Until then, all the best wishes for the year 2014!

Kind regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

First time we have stayed in the Banyan Tree or even Phuket for that matter. What a wonderful place, I would highly recommend anyone to stay. The pool villa's are amazing, so quiet with everything you could possible want. All staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help. Plenty of placers to dine and the food is exceptional. The beach is right on your doorstep and there are numerous bars and restaurants stretched along the beach. A leg massage is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear petapp,

Thank you for spending your first time holiday in Phuket at the Banyan Tree!

I am very pleased to read that your overall experience at our Pool Villa, the restaurant outlets, the beach and the staff in general was exceptional. It is always motivating to be recognised for providing excellent service and knowing that we have done our part in making your stay special. Your recommendations will go a long way and are greatly appreciated.

For a truly special time with your significant other, I would highly recommend you our Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary for your next trip! It is the most peaceful and tranquil batch of villas. I would be happy to personally handle your next booking.

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
0.5 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#8 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,060 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#19 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: $354 - $1,738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing