We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable and Enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Memorable and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Banyan Tree Phuket is great hotel with friendly and attentive staff who went out their way to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We particularly enjoyed using the complimentary bicycles to get around the expansive complex with its wonderful winding paths and tropical gardens. The spa treatment was exceptional. The Deluxe Villa was well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and apart from the resort and our associates, the bicycles stood out for you. I do look forward to having you back with us perhaps in a larger Pool villa for your next set of memories. Thanks for posting.

Sincerely,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    300
    113
    49
    32
See reviews for
434
878
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Spa Sanctuary and could write about this hotel all day but to summarise in bullet points:

RESORT POSITIVES
-A complimentary 1 hour massage for two at the Spa is included in the Spa Sanctuary room rate. The spa itself is incredibly relaxing and the treatments are amazing.
-The resort staff are outstanding and can’t do enough for you, every member of staff we met from security to housekeeping to reception all made us feel extremely welcome.
-Complimentary bicycles are included for the duration of your stay
-A buggy service to/from the main reception & Spa is available on demand at all times for when you don’t want to walk or cycle.
-Complimentary afternoon tea & canapés are included daily at the Spa Sanctuary reception
-Complimentary yoga and daily activites are available should you be feeling energetic
-Complimentary shuttle buses are available on demand around the Laguna resort

ROOM POSITIVES (SPA SANCTUARY)
- A daily 20 minute massage is provided in your personal Sala every day at a set time requested by yourself
- Breakfast is served each day in your villa at a time requested by yourself
- You can choose your housekeeping and turn down time to ensure you are not interrupted during the day
- Turn down service is more than just folding the bed sheets back – Expect gifts and aromatherapy treats
- The bedroom is huge with floor to ceiling windows and is surrounded by a pond filled with water lilies
- The shower is for two people and doubles up as a steam room
- There is an outdoor bath, shower, hot tub Jacuzzi, two sun lounger Jacuzzis, a large private pool, a lounging area, a sunbathing area, a sala and dining area.
- The rooms in the villa are large & modern decorated thai style and included every little extra

NEGATIVES
- None! (Apart from we had to go home at the end)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soho_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Soho_Travellers,

We are so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your stay with and could not pick a negative!! Yes, the Sanctuary villas are truly a “Sanctuary for the senses” to immerse yourself in some much needed peace and tranquillity. By the way, you can make your wife’s wish come true and live here as some of our villas are for purchase!! However, if you still wish to stay in UK and just holiday here, I do hope you will be able to visit us soon especially now to avail of Unlimited Spa Package!!

Please take care and see you soon.

Warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The thing with this kind of hotel is that expectations are always high considering how much we have to pay to enjoy a stay in this secluded part of Phuket. And our weekend was no exception.
Our first deluxe villa was amidst lush greenery, and the view from the room to the garden and the lake, gave that feeling of being all alone. But, the furniture somehow looked tired and the jacuzzi water was way too muddy not to be suspicious.
We were then moved to a pool villa: wow !
Nothing much needs to be added: in a spacious and neat room, opening up onto a pool - long enough to allow laps, everything was set up for such a good weekend.

All in all, positive points:
- Peaceful resort, offering multiple complimentary activities
- Very good service, prompt with addressing issues raised

But:
- Food could be much better for the Banyan Tree standards: the in-villa dining was really average, and the Saffron restaurant remained a big disappointment
- Detail a bit irritating: why requesting the confirmation mail upon checking-in ?


What about the atmosphere:
Expect a mix of Japanese families with young children, Russian in their early twenties, and 60+ year old Westerners coming mainly for golf : a bit boring in this old fashion decor (but you won't be bothered much if you stay in your villa); not to mention the whole Laguna estate could appear all fake.


Would I go back:
Will definitely consider for a getaway and when the sole purpose of the trip is relaxation

Room Tip: For the deluxe villa, try to have the ones facing the lake, e.g. 601, 602, 609, 610
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tchai-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tchai-Lin,

You could not have said it better, expectations are very high when you mention Banyan tree Phuket as it should be. We strive hard to ensure that we can meet these expectations. Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback on Tripadvisor. We value the positives as well as welcome the opportunities for improvement. We take note of your compliments regarding our lush grounds and manicured gardens, the lagoon view across your villa, the in-villa setup, multiple hotel activities and our prompt and pro-active service.

I am grateful to my team of dedicated associates who are the driving force behind this. Your feedback has been shared with them.

Apart from the positives, I take note of your feedback on the quality of food at in-villa dining and Saffron. While food tastes in both these outlets are highly rated, given the subjectivity involved, our Director F&B and Executive Chef have been made aware of your feedback.
What pertains to our interior design, our public areas are meant to reflect a contemporary Thai design similar to the villas. We have already addressed the Jacuzzi in the villa and shall do a complete service during the annual “Villa Maintenance Program”.

As part of our standard check-in protocol, a confirmation mail is necessary depending on the mode of the booking to distinguish guests. The confirmation is helpful to not only ensure the right room type but, also to match any preferences from previous stays.

Dear Tchai-Lin, I sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,


Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The best place to spend your honeymoon was on this beautiful pool villa in banyan tree..Quiet and secluded from the city it was really a romantic place..Bit expensive but worth the expenses.The town is a short ride away and a lot of restaurants around the resort..so you can also enjoy the local dish at a local price..

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear jim K,

Congratulations on getting married and celebrating your Honeymoon with us. Thanks for posting such a short and sweet note! I do hope that you will return soon for a short break or a longer one and take advantage of our pool villa promotions available on our website.


Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a much needed break and the resort complex and nearby beach provide a perfect environment for relaxation. The lap pool and complentary yoga and Pilates class are superb. Baby elephant visits are a definite highlight for all. The resort and laguna complex give some peace and quiet but we managed to escape the inflated prices of the hotel restaurant and found better restaurants outside the complex. The spa was disappointing, try the ladies at the beach. Staff are really lovely. we hope we might come back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Hannah M,

Thanks for posting a mostly positive review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary. Food is always a contentious subject and yes you can find cheaper restaurants outside but, safety and hygiene are as paramount as quality and taste. As for the Spa, we would truly appreciate, any specific reasons why you found it disappointing. This is an aspect we score very highly consistently, so I am very keen to know.

Hannah M, weather it is our associates or our beautiful villas that compels you to return, we look forward to having you back. The spa team would love to hear what we could do better and great value Japanese bento lunches at Tamarind are things to look forward to.

Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's pricey, but the villas are absolutely worth it. Service is great, grounds are lush and the beach is just next door. We were upgraded from a pool villa to the next size up, which we very much appreciated. Villas are very private, quiet and everything inside -- from the outdoor bath to the bedroom that opens directly to the swimming pool -- was so nice that we often found ourselves just hanging out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmaduketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ok - I have to admit it: it was almost perfect. While I can fully recommend to visit the Banyan Tree I would expect them to strive a little harder towards being excellent. And this is maybe why I did not rate it perfect in all categories. I would wish that housekeeping is really cleaning prefect - which was not the case. Also the furniture had stains - something that should be removed or cleaned. Inside the room there was also no real reading light to read a book in bed. Of course we asked for one - but there was not plug in range! Nevertheless - the villa was really stunning. But mainly due to its beautiful outdoor pool, garden and view over the lagoon.

Let's start with the nice things: The villas are beautiful - all of them. Top notch are the double pool villas followed by the spa pool villas (what we as a couple booked.) The spa pool villas are for couples only. This is nice but you still here your neighbors every now and then depending on their land of origin. The pool in our villa was great and we had a perfect time.

If you dine in the villa - always order only in the morning. otherwise the pre-arrange your food hours before delivery.
If you dine out, go to Lotus. This is really the best food and service nearby at the lowest prices. We loved it.
If you dine in, the food at Saffron is really awesome! But be prepared that most patrons do not have the culture and manners you would expect for a restaurant of such quality. So if you dress up nicely, don't be disappointed if all the other guests show up in shorts, t-shirt and sandals. Also I hope the management will soon upgrade the interior design - nothing that would win any prices yet!

The beach is beautiful but the hotel's services there are very limited. You get a chair and a towel - that's it. No refreshment or cold towel or a nice person asking every now and then if everything is alright. You are expected to get the drinks yourself on one of the nearby public bars/restaurants.

But while the above now might sound a little negative I still want to say that we had a fantastic time as the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The service was most of the time outstanding and the villas and pool in our own little garden a paradise. That made the stay just great for us - I can recommend! (though not for families with kids - as there is not enough distraction for the young-ones).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear BanyanTree.com traveler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. With such a 360 degree feedback, we value the positives as well as appreciate the improvement opportunities. With regards to room cleanliness and stained furniture, our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of this to share with the team and pay closer attention. Although the over head lamps are adequate for reading in bed, we will purchase some clip-on lights which can be requested to read anywhere.

I take note of your feedback on the need to upgrade the interior design of Saffron. The restaurant is designed to reflect a rustic look with Thai design elements. As regards to the restaurant dress code, we do enforce a resort chic dress code which essentially discourages guests coming in with sport or swim wear. As you can understand dress code is a touchy subject and without being too restrictive, we try to ensure guests enjoy a convivial ambience.

In terms of beach services, there is a limitation compared to the poolside given that beaches in Thailand are public. The beach vendors do not allow us to serve food, beverages or even water as it takes away their revenue. I have shared your feedback with our Recreation Manager to ensure we do provide all the Banyan Tree signature services at the pool side.

I am delighted to hear you were happy with the standards of our villa, landscaping and other services. We have a dedicated team tending to them. Dear BanyanTree.com traveler, thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Phuket as your destination hotel and for this balanced feedback. I hope that readers of this review understand that we strive to give every guest that “perfect” stay. Until your next visit, please stay well,

Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
2.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#15 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing