We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel has spacious villa in spacious land. It is well maintained. The staff is very nice and helpful. Besides the facilities, the hotel also has social activies, such as learn Thai language, yoga, kid recreation, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    306
    121
    49
    32
See reviews for
447
899
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Coming from Bangkok, we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel. We checked-out the sister hotel in Bangkok and went for dinner to Vertigo and just loved it, so we were very excited about our stay in Phuket. I have to say we did have indeed a lovely time. The staff is amazing and the whole greeting when you arrive is more of a ceremony than a check-in. The hotel grounds are beautiful and all the waitresses, bell-men, room maids are friendly and welcoming. Food was great, location is exactly as it is part of the big Laguna Golf & Resort Campus and also the weather was favorable. As mentioned before we did have a great week and especially really enjoyed the afternoons and evenings at the bar and on the beach. But something was just not perfect. It took us a while to figure out what actually bothered us: it was the overall feeling of the place. We came from the Peninsula and I understand that you should not compare a city hotel with a resort but the whole place felt a bit old. You could tell that service is good but also not 'wow' besides being friendly. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom but it all felt a bit worn out. It is certainly a great place and you can have a beautiful time there (and indulge in a fantastic breakfast!) but for the money you pay it is just not the real thing. If you can get a bargain go and enjoy, otherwise I am sure that there are better hotels around in Phuket...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClareBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Luxury but large complex. Fantastic lap pool by the spa and gym. However this was clearly signposted as an adults only quiet zone. The whole ethos and ambience changed overnight when a very large,loud group literally took over the area shouting across the pool, talking very loudly and generally reducing the establishment to a 1 star resort. Nobody wanted to have to listen to their loud conversations. The children were noisy in the pool directly under the sign adults only quiet zone.
There is a lovely restaurant, Tre, but if you were unlucky enough to go at the same time as this group it would have been truly awful

I agree with previous review that the shower temperature was not constant which is unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lizbeth E,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at our resort. We take note of your feedback on how your experience was spoilt by other guests. As a resort we do enjoy a good mix of young and old couples, families with young and older children. Typically, this is not the kind of complaint we receive and most of our guests do respect each other’s privacy without being told. However, as you may understand, it is a contentious subject and one that needs to be handled diplomatically. I am not sure if you bought it to the attention of one of our associates who could have probably had a quite word but, going forward, I have briefed my teams to pay more attention to this and take more initiative particularly in those areas which are ear marked as “Quiet Zones.”

As pertains to the water temperature, our Chief Engineer has been made aware of this and we shall look into it.

Dear Lizbeth E, I sincerely appreciate your feedback. I hope this one incident does not mar your impression of what Banyan Tree Phuket has to offer. As you have said in your review, although these are small annoying issues we need to look out for, I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to return to our resort,


Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As you may read from my other reviews, I always try and be as complete as possible as travelling with young kids is not easy and its the little touches that can make or break a holiday.
We are a young family with 3 kids, aged 3 and under (yes twins in the mix)
We had a deluxe family 2 bedroom villa. #834 Probably the best set up that we have ever had. There is a great master bedroom and the twins shared a bedroom. The helper (HK name for a nanny) and 1 year old baby were in what they describe as the study but it's essentially a small 3rd bedroom. There was a small kitchen. The outside area was made up of a very large swimming pool with Jacuzzi adjoined. there was also a pagoda where one could go and Chill. The Pool got sunshine almost the whole day from 0830 until about 445 (obviously will change depending on the time of year that you visit)
I have to admit that I wasn't expecting too much as previous reviews had suggested that this property is completely overpriced and not worth it. I disagree! It's around 15% more expensive than it should be but not astronomically different.
The grounds of this hotel are huge and spectacular. On arrival we were given bicycles (with baskets, the type like you may find in Holland) with kids seats on the back. What a great touch. we had never taken the twins on the back of the bikes and they loved it. We rode everywhere 1) Great views 2) A little bit of exercise and 3) The kids loved it and found it an adventure every day so overall a winner!
The staff were incredible efficient, polite and full of smiles. Big shout goes out to Jinny in guest services who went out of her way to help us out with everything. One day the electricity was going to be down for 3 hours in the morning on the grid where our villa was located. Unprompted and knowing that we have a 1 year old, she blocked another villa that we could use for the little one should she need to be in an air-conned environment.
Breakfast every day was great and varied slightly. Even found ourselves eating Chili Crab curry and noodles after my poached eggs and rosti. A little indulgent perhaps but this is the holiday buffet mentality.
The French Vietnamese restaurant, Tre is very reasonably priced and delicious. The setting is also lovely, being right on the lake.
The sushi restaurant, Tamarind is delicious, we went there twice. On our There was a mistake with our table being given away and to make up for it the manager brought us 4 glasses of champagne We didn't make it to Saffron as there are many other local restaurants close to the hotel that we wanted to go back to. The snack bar at the Golf bar is so so and could do with improving.
Now for a few negatives. There is only one communal pool by the Spa. It is almost totally shaded and generally not well positioned. Personally, even though we had our own pool in the villa, I also like the choice of a communal pool to break up the monotony.
There is also the distinct lack of a good lunch restaurant.
Finally and a small but important point. most hotels nowadays have an IPOD dock in the room and there was one. although there was an old stereo wired up for all rooms, i was not able to hook up my ipod and play music outside by the pool. A real shame.
Overall this is a great hotel and i would not hesitate to recommend it to others with the same situation family-wise. This having been said, my father was staying in a Double pool villa with his wife. This was perfect for couples and completely different in contrast to mine both in terms of feel and the lay out. So essentially there is something for everyone. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oldskooltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at the wonderful Banyan Tress Resort Phuket. While a little costly, the service and attention to consumer easily made the cost worthwhile. The level of service displayed by the staff at Bayan Tree is second to none! The rooms are amazing and the facilities fantastic. Do yourself a favour and book a trip here, the spa centre is by far the best we have ever experienced, the balinese massage my husband and I received was out of this world. Perhaps my only negative comment would be that the cost of the food is a little too pricey but of very high calibre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Banyan Tree Hotel beautiful environment, service is very warm. Free bike loan service is very good.
very nice.I well go to Banyan Tree Phuket again. thank you .
I believe there will be more Chinese tourists to the banyan tree in the future, hope that 24 hours of Chinese service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent 9 nights in the Spa Pool Villa an I can honestly say it was the best hotel experience I have ever had

What a beautiful place. The staff are amazingly friendly and professional. The food is second to none and the Villas are pure luxury

We ate at Saffron the one night and had an amazing meal

The buffet breakfasts are first class with great variety and top quality

Bravo Banyan Tree :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
8.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 96 in Thalang District
790 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#16 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#18 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing