We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Staff...7 Star Prices!!”
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“5 Star Staff...7 Star Prices!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have just come back to the UK after staying at the Banyan Tree for 1 week for our Honeymoon. I had very high expectations of the Banyan Tree after previously working within the travel industry but I have to say I was slightly disappointed when we check in that we haven't been given a room upgrade? The week previous to our stay our friends who had flown out for our wedding in Thailand stayed at the Banyan Tree for 5 nights and had been given a FREE room updgrade automatically? I do understand room upgrades are subject to availability but the hotel wasn't even remotely full.
Upon arriving in our room we did have receive a fruit platter & bottle of fizz to open...Our Villa 617 was a little dated inside but very well equipped. We couldnt use the hot tub in the garden after 5pm due to being eaten alive by mosquitoes.
Breakfast was Amazing!!! I can honestly say they have ticked every box here they have everything you could possible think of & the service was 1st class.
We didn't eat in the restuarant's in the evening as we enjoyed eating out along the beach & surrounding area...Food & drink prices in the hotel are high!! Champagne £22.50 a GLASS.
During the day we spent the morning by the pool...which is looking dated compared to the recently refurbshed nearby hotel The Angsana & afternoon on the beach which is beautiful.
Checking Out - We did have an issue as our flight wasn't until midnight, the hotel offered for us to keep our room on FOC until 4pm but we needed to keep it on until at least 6pm the hotel wanted £200 for these two hours which werent happy to pay so checked out at 3pm and moved to another hotel in the laguna for a fraction of the price & managed to keep until our taxi picked us up at 8pm.
Staff - All the staff we came into contact where extremely helpful, the security guard from the hotel to the beach was brilliant...the hotel has some real gems working for them!
Personally I wouldn't go back to the Banyan Tree its been a hotel I can tick off my to do list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princesspage12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Princesspage12,


Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please allow me to address some of the concerns you have raised. As you yourself have so correctly pointed out, upgrades and late checkouts are subject to the hotel’s arrival and departure status. As regards to your friends getting an upgrade, it could be possible that they booked through one of our preferred partners such as American Express which has such an upgrade privilege, again subject to availability. Without wishing to speculate, I want to mention that there are several other reasons why an upgrade could be afforded such as the villa type they have booked being overbooked or are returning guests etc. Typically, we would not hesitate to allow a late checkout a few hours beyond the 1200 checkout time we have done in your case but, as is standard in any hotel, it is chargeable after 1700 hours.

With regards to your feedback on champagne prices, wish to mention that wines and champagnes attract a surcharge of 400% in Thailand. After your feedback, I asked my Director F&B to do a quick survey to check prices of champagne by the glass with other hotels of our standard. I am glad to report that our prices are in line or lower than some of these hotels. However, I can understand your dismay but, it is a fact of life in Thailand that particularly good or popular wines are expensive due to prohibitive taxes. We do take care to ensure our wine lists contains a mixture of low, medium and expensive bottles.

We take note of your comment regarding updating the condition of the pool and villas. We do have a rigorous villa maintenance program, sort of an annual health checkup for our villas, where it is shut down for total makeover including furniture flooring, lighting, pool, garden and villa refurbishment. As we know the villa number, we shall look into it.

Princesspage12, I appreciate your kind words on our associates. Your compliments reinforce our efforts to create a wonderful experience for our guests. I sincerely thank you for your time and feedback. Although you have mentioned that you do not wish to return to stay with us, I do hope in due course of time, you will give us another chance. Failing this, I wish you safe travels and the very best in 2013,

Warm Regards,
Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    313
    122
    49
    32
See reviews for
457
906
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here in Oct/Nov for 16 nights this time round (our second time). Have to admit the first time is always a better experience as the second time you are looking for the improvements... not there was a lot to improve on.

We had our 4.5 and 1.5 yr old boys with us. The Deluxe 2 bedroom villa is a lot more accomodating than the standard 2bedroom, due to the spare 'study' room. The villa is a very similar set out to the standard 2brm villa, only that the study allows you to convert it to a 3rd room for a sleeping baby cot if needed which is what we did. Every room has aircon. The main bathroom has a massive indoor glass surrounded bathtub, and outdoor showers only (no outdoor bathtub this time). I won't go into what else there is as other members have already commented most likely. All I can say is for families who really want a 3 bedroom villa without the added cost, get the Deluxe 2 Bedroom as the study room has a TV and a very comfy 2 seater couch that someone could crash out on (and it has sliding doors so you can still have full privacy.

You can request your villa to be stocked up with floaty toys and buckets etc.

I was a little disappointed that after a year, the invilla dining menu hadn't changed at all. This was a bit of let down considering we were staying so many nights, and rarely were the kids able to eat outdoors at night (as the humidity and heat was a little taxing on them... and us). No restaurant that has aircon is child friendly. For a little variety I did ask the reception ladies if it were possible to order meals from one of the other restaurants (Che- a french vietnamese restaurant on the premesis) but was given the shake of the head. Very disappointed in that.

If you need to get supplies go to Thalang Tesco... not Cherngtalay- as Thalang is larger, is in a shopping mall and also has a food hall(for which you buy a special card which you add money onto in order to pay for your meals). Its heaps cheaper and the variety and authenticity of Thai quisine is somewhat refreshing. Taxi to get there and back is total 500 baht which is good, cos they'll come pick you up at whatever arranged time you want inclusive.

The beach is great when not swamped with other Banyan tree residents. No free water there tho - so bring some cash as there are many small bars strewn along the beach and a cool little beach clothing store ...

Food wise- we ate a lot at the Golf Club outdoor cafe ... try their Thai Roasted Chicken... to die for.. And the children can make a big a mess as they want on the floor without you feeling guilty.

We may go back again, but maybe not stay as long as we did this time. Hopefully the menu has changed.

Otherwise the service is still great.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe Two Bedroom if you really want 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacOnH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was just a short get-away from the busy life of Bangkok, where I stayed at Banyan Tree as well and which in my opinion is one of the best hotels worldwide because of their amazing staff who recognizes every wish you might have before you even bring it up. However, Banyan Tree Phuket is an unforgettable experience as the villas are just stunning so that there is no need to leave the room - completely relaxing and highly recommended ....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

i came for a short visit to relax on my own. to my delight, i was upgraded upon check in and it set the tone for the rest of my stay. there was one glitch as the power went off twice on my first night. i called the desk and someone came immediately. then it happened 20 minutes later to find another swift response. there were no more issues after that and i came back to the villa the next day to find a little gift for my "troubles".

i took advantage of the pilates/yoga offered and found the teacher to be very high calibre. the quality of food on the property that i had were also great.

i couldnt have been happier!

Room Tip: the property is expansive. they let you have the use of a bike (or will shuttle you around) but dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookingForAnOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a stunning resort ,from the front desk to the gardeners these people just love to please.
We travelled with kuoni from heathrow to abu dahbi ,stayed 4 nts at the atlantis dubai,then abu dahbi straight to phuket ,flight only with etihed airways ,10 nts banyan tree.(wish we done the 14 at banyan)
We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children and stayed in a 2 bed delux pool villa and it was as the pictures stunning (838) .The kids made the study their play room it had a bed setee plus large tv dvd player as did every room in villa .
The grounds are lovely and for what we seen the gardeners always were working and give you the best smiles even at silly o clock in the morning on my walks .
Breakfast is fab and for what i could see caters for every one .The main resterants were a little pricey for us ,so we did a couple nights in room dining ,they deliver your food lay the table then a phone call later its cleared away (a little bit skimping on the chips though ) around £40 ish not inc drinks or special menu .We chose to eat on the beach most nights as it was lovely hearing the waves crash on the beach .watching the sun set etc .def rec tonys on beach great value, stater -main -deserts-coctails for the wife ,ice cream shakes for the kids and large tiger bears for me ,friendly service for around £40-50(and no tummy problems too).
spa is over priced but the 2 massages i had were fab .
golf buggies arrive at a drop of a hat to ferry you around , at all hours .
the guards at the beach salute you and see you to the beach with a tourch at night and call a buggy for you to take you back to the room .
We loved the bikes they provide free of charge ,but they do need better maintainace .
The golf course looks fantastic ,didnt play as i dont play alone but staff did offer to pair me up .lady caddies are compulsary and give you tips .
The beach is great ,sea is warm , and no body pesters you and being a public beach this is good .
You can visit all the other hotels on the resort and get around these on the free shuttle bus with friendly smiles all day long .also a mini mart shop.
Lucky the baby elephant visits everyday ,our kids loved him he gives kisses ,hugs, smiles .
exchange rate on resort is about 46 baht in hotel ,48 ish at the cannal village .
So can coke in resort 150 baht on beach 40 baht.
Could go on and on about this resort if your rich you will love it ,if your stretching your budget you will love it .Go and love it like we did.
WE are going back,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank treborsnibbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Absolutely recommendable!
Maybe you should offer more a la carte- dinners at your main restaurant at evening - not evers guest (as us) will paticipat at your very good buffets, (where most guests eat more than they should).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a sanctuary villa from a pool villa, it always nice to hear you've been upgraded but what an amazing room it was .A large pool, jacuzzi and terrace ,2 outdoor and 2 indoor showers am outdoor bath , 2 bedrooms , 2 bathrooms and a large lounge , what more could you want ? . The service and quality of the restaurants was outstanding and lucky the elephant made us even more welcome with his appearances every morning at breakfast.The spa is amazing as are the sunsets on the beach
Truly a special place

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicko060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
905 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
2.1 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#2 of 96 in Thalang District
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#16 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#18 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing